Cerebral Ballzy
Cerebral Ballzy


4.0
excellent

Review

by BroManCaptainGuySirDylan USER (19 Reviews)
October 2nd, 2011 | 17 replies | 5,199 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If you are a fan of 1980s punk, or even the genre as a whole, ‘Cerebral Ballzy’ is an unmissable album.

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Formed in 2008, Cerebral Ballzy released their EP of ‘You’re Idle’ and have now released their first self-titled full length which acts as a faithful throwback to some of the best punk of the 1980s.

As far as punk albums go, Cerebral Ballzy hasn’t missed a step. Frantic and angry songwriting? Check. A vocalist who sounds both full of bitter emotion and unconcerned at the same time? Check. Simple yet catchy lyrics? Check.
Particularly, the “Office Rocker” / “Off His Rocker” parallel makes for a catchy vocal hook towards the start of the record, while still maintaining a classic punk feel of apathetic fury.

The albums most impressive feat is how it combines the best of the old with the best of the new. The record itself sounds like it was ripped straight out of the mid-eighties, when the emergence of underground punk bands was prominent. Black Flag or even Dead Kennedy fans will find much to enjoy here. The lyrical themes even suit the decade more than adequately. On the flip-side though, while it still comes off as raw and gritty, the whole record feels polished and glossy, giving off the sense of genre advancement and progression.

Contemporaries aside though, the album still has an edge to it which makes it feel like something that’s been unprocessed and overdue in the scene for a long while. Each member contributes equally, with no precedence taken on a singular instrument. Vocalist Honor Titus does take center stage though, as his bleak and direct singing both flows well with the album musically, as well as maintaining a feel of classic punk without sounding homogenous or derivative.

The only real downfall of the record is that it’s short lived, which comes to no surprise of a punk album, being that most will run the approximate of 20 minutes, ‘Cerebral Ballzy’ is no exception. This is forgiven, just due to the amount of fun and replay value the album gives off. Either through the catchiness of ‘Cutting Class’ or how ‘Insufficient Fare’ may trigger a blast of nostalgia for those who appreciated old punk back in the day, Cerebral Ballzy’s debut album is an excellent first step for the band and a great leap for the genre, one that’s screaming; “punk is not dead”.

To put it simply; If you are a fan of 1980s punk, or even the genre as a whole, ‘Cerebral Ballzy’ is an unmissable album.



Recent reviews by this author
MGMT MGMTCode Orange Love Is Love // Return To Dust
The Amity Affliction Chasing GhostsThe Faceless Autotheism
Will Haven Voir DirePsycroptic The Inherited Repression
user ratings (58)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
InFiction
October 2nd 2011



3655 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A relatively unheard of band, but a brilliant album. Any constructive criticism is appreciated.

jefflebowski
October 2nd 2011



8241 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

really good review, average album

Digging: Brian Eno and Karl Hyde - High Life

Acanthus
October 2nd 2011



9541 Comments


Just don't watch their music video's, because then this nice image of an oldschool punk band is shattered.

Nice review, they've got an interesting sound. For me the vocalist kills it, if this was purely instrumental I'd love it.

Digging: Falls of Rauros - The Light That Dwells in Rotten Wood

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
October 2nd 2011



7333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty good review. This band irks me a little.

Relinquished
October 2nd 2011



24988 Comments


vocalist sucks, lyrics suck, the music is nothing special

Spluger
October 2nd 2011



1138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I saw these guys on adult swim, their music is actually pretty awesome.

RyanDonahoe
October 4th 2011



142 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, I saw these guys with OFF! and Trash Talk a little while back and I wasn't feeling it at all. I saw that Adult Swim was promoting them and decided to check this out and my outlook hasn't changed. I don't understand the heavy promotion they receive all of a sudden. I find the music boring, lyrics boring, and the whole thing is gimmicky without actually being funny.

WhiteNoise
December 3rd 2012



3142 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just discovered this band and I really dig this album. It's such a throwback to 80's hardcore which is a bit refreshing after all this modern hardcore which really doesn't do much for me.

Cygnatti
December 4th 2012



21352 Comments


yeah this is cool, I don't see how this is gimmicky, seems pretty straightforward

Digging: Jon Hopkins - Immunity

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2012



15995 Comments


nice band name, or maybe a shit band name, cant decide, memorable tho

Digging: Hominido - Estirpe Litica

WhiteNoise
December 15th 2012



3142 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So yeah finally rated this...The whole record is such a throwback to 80's punk and there's something about it that makews me come back for more.

joshieboy12345
April 18th 2013



5370 Comments


Dunno if band name is offensive or hilarious.

Pentagon
June 29th 2013



1998 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Musically they know what theyre doing, but the lyrics are dumb and the singer sucks

Owantjaaaa
July 16th 2014



3231 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is what you sound like with a nose filled to the brim with snot

Digging: Tom Waits - The Black Rider

itchybutthole
August 2nd 2014



2491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pisses me off their latest album is shit

Digging: Ricardo Villalobos - Vasco

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 2nd 2014



15949 Comments


What are horrible band name

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

WhiteNoise
August 3rd 2014



3142 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

New one sucked? I keep forgetting to check it out



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy