Voivod
Angel Rat


3.5
great

Review

by Voivod STAFF
October 1st, 2011 | 23 replies


Release Date: 1991 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Voivod unlock the dead end of their perfected self.

Nothingface turned out to be Voivod’s biggest hit. In terms of commercial success, it was their major label that managed to push the envelope to a greater audience. After all, the late 80’s were a period, in which the musical endeavors of a respectable number of metal bands genre-wise and/or band-wise, eventually led to the foundation of a small, but steadily increasing fan base, which searched for the quirky and the obscure. On the other hand, the band’s artistic progress was nearly geometric. Album after album, the external influences were being swiftly eradicated and by the time Nothingface saw the face of the earth, Voivod were engaged to undisputed perfection. However, as Truman Capote could cynically (and regretfully...) tell us, undisputed perfection can lead to a creative dead end. Of course Voivod and Capote cannot be directly compared even if all analogies are being accounted for, but albums like Nothingface can turn into an unsurpassed curse, in terms of artistic creativity. With the release of their 6th album, Angel Rat, Voivod manage to unlock the dead end of their perfected self.

In its own right, the new album feels – and in event, is – markedly different from its predecessor. The sole liaison linking the two previous Voivod albums resumed in the band’s superb musical skills used to craft them, aside from their trademark musical patents. With Angel Rat, Voivod show enough audacity to shatter this liaison, attempting to make progress out of simplicity and using a relatively small portion of the band’s distinct quirkiness. The overall structure of the songs could be briefly filed under the “linear”/”progressive” rock tag, but this is clearly half of the truth. The band’s intimate character is enriched with elements from the blues and/or from melancholic/atmospheric/”Goth” rock. The previously mentioned attributes, succeed in partially bending the aforementioned linearity and in characterizing half (at least) of the songs in the album with a great replay value, while the rest are enjoyable as well. The sound production treads on previously made trails (what is Nothingface?), yet the positive effect here is not of the same magnitude. In here, every instrument is audible in the final mix and the overall sound quality favors the atmospheric portion of the music, however, the guitars could be a lot more heavy, in order to further emphasize the record’s straightforward nature.

In concluding, with Angel Rat, Voivod take a curious and pretty much unexplainable turn in their career. Their departure from the great endeavors of the past could be probably linked to that of a critically esteemed scientist who has been trailing the high ends of his scientific conduct for years and suddenly decides to go back to the very foundations of the science in which he/she previously excelled. Whatever the actual case may be, Angel Rat is an elegant (but not perfected) tranquillizer for the beautiful headaches the three previous Voivod records have created, and as such, its end merit is adequately credible.



Stand out tracks
Panorama
Clouds In My House
The Prow
Angel Rat
Nuage Fractal



Recent reviews by this author
Essence Beyond CarnivalismElectric Citizen Sateen
Vicious Rumors Live You to Death 2 - American PunishmentMayhem Esoteric Warfare
The Graviators MotherloadMekong Delta In a Mirror Darkly
user ratings (120)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2011


6099 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Panorama:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=97YpLGF1fXY

Clouds In My House:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JsDRAH820Gw

The Prow:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljYmflR2Zlk&feature=related

Twin Dummy:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0q_3Akx54KU&feature=related

Angel Rat:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZfK08A71ZVI&feature=related

Golem:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K3Sgmm-z5xc

The Outcast:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2x09rqBI_mI&feature=related

Nuage Fractal:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7i_UfQ1c4Fg&NR=1

Freedoom:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yhuMogw3HWs&feature=related

None Of The Above:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=33ZZXfehUns&feature=related





Constructive criticism is more than welcome.

Digging: The Sabbathian - Ritual Rites

KILL
October 1st 2011


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gota hear this

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

TheNotrap
October 1st 2011


8070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

A turning point in their career.
A love it or hate it...I always find it very cool.

The first half of the album is better IMO.
POS

Digging: Cannibal Corpse - A Skeletal Domain

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2011


6099 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

All songs are at least good, while those i mentioned in the review stand out with respect to the rest.

The main flaw of Angel Rat is that it follows Nothingface.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2011


7277 Comments


Great review Voivod. Quality research and solid delivery as always. Pos.

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

TheNotrap
October 1st 2011


8070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yes Nothingface is probably my fav too.

But it's not easy to get into Angel Rat...Too soft for metal heads and probably to heavy and "strange" for the standard listener.


Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2011


6099 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's not easy to get into Angel Rat





I humbly beg to differ on that. I believe that the three previous Voivod albums were/are a lot more difficult to get into.

Especially Nothingface has a weird capability of constantly escaping the utmost attention a listener has to give.

Wonderful headaches, as i write in the review :-D.

Gigglesdemon
October 1st 2011


187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I feel you were a tad harsh on Angel Rat (but I may be biased cuz it was my first Voivod album), but still a very good review! I would probably give it a 4 or so.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2011


6099 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I feel you were a tad harsh on Angel Rat




Probably, but i was just describing, rating-wise and review-wise, the transition from Nothingface to Angel Rat, which is not so smooth.

Plus, a 3.5 is still a high rating.

My personal rating for Angel Rat will most probably be bumped into a 4/5, just dunno when I'm going to do that.

teamster
October 2nd 2011


60 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The production on this record is impeccable because it was produced by Terry Brown (of Rush and Fates Warning fame)


Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 2nd 2011


6099 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ teamster

In my ears, the sound of Angel Rat is similar to that of Nothingface.

That's not so positive, as I write in the review.

For Nothingface that sound was ideal, because of its extreme progressive nature, however, Angel Rat is much more straightforward and it could use a heavier production.

I would suggest that you listen (if you haven't already, that is) to Voivod's recently issued live album Warriors of Ice and check how songs like "The Prow", for example, would sound with heavier guitars.

scissorlocked
October 2nd 2011


3510 Comments


as always, great review man

haven't listened this for 4 years!

seems that I must re-listen their whole discography sometime

CrimsonFloyd
November 15th 2011


451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I used to hate this album, because I looked at in the light of metal, but once I looked at it as Prog rock, It is amazing ass shit.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2011


6099 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In its own right, it is excellent.


As I wrote earlier, its main flaw lies in that it succeeded Nothingface.

CrimsonFloyd
November 15th 2011


451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It is very reminiscent of Hawkwind minus the flute, sax, and it's much darker.

MichaelSnoxall
March 29th 2013


12163 Comments


Great album, but just really it feels too accessible...if that makes sense. Compared to their other albums, this is a lot tamer, simpler and easier to comprehend right away. Not that that's a bad thing, just the linear structure of this compared to their earlier albums is something the listener needs to adjust to before appreciating it for its capable songwriting and delicious riffs and solos.

Parallels
September 1st 2013


6641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is grooviest Voivod

RunOfTheMill
December 1st 2013


1460 Comments


The first half is some good stuff. It's a really easy listen, pretty catchy for the most part, but it gets tiring... The second half is a bit of a drag. Also quite a noticeable shift in style, most of the dissonant riffs are gone

KILL
March 19th 2014


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

grown on me so hard, am i the only dude who gets an r.e.m. vibe?

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
March 19th 2014


6099 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can also sense some post-punk/shoegaze vibes too (Nuage Fractal, for example).

This album can take you places, and may it needs to be revisited and expanded by the current incarnation of the band.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy