Dream Theater
Images and Words


2.0
poor

Review

by Kit Brown USER (73 Reviews)
December 13th, 2005 | 67 replies | 10,217 views


Release Date: 1992 | Tracklist

Review Summary: CONTROVERSY ALERT1

22 of 38 thought this review was well written

"...By having a large, interactive user base instead of a few select reviewers, and by including user comments and album ratings, a variety of opinions can present a fair view of an album or a band."
--The sputnikmusic FAQ

Dream Theater - Images and Words

Dream Theater certainly has turned heads in the music scene over the past ten to fifteen years. They're probably the leading band in progressive metal. Their musical talent is known by musicians around the world. If anyone I've ever talked to mentions Dream Theater usually something along the lines of "their guitarist is awesome!" or "their drummer is great!". It goes on. The band does get a lot of praise for being virtuosos, but their songwriting skills just don't match up. This album is the one that fans regard to be their best, but I only found it to be a "good" album. It's got some very catchy parts, but then there are some other tracks that I just can't listen to and just change to the next song.

Dream Theater was at this time:
James LaBrie - Vocals
John Petrucci - Guitar
Kevin Moore - Keyboards
John Myung - Bass
Mike Portnoy - Drums

What was good about the album:
-- These guys aren't called virtuosos for no reason. For just sheer musical skill there are only a few bands that can compete with Dream Theater.

-- Mike Portnoy's drumming is incredible in this album. He covers many different styles of drumming and does a fantastic job on all of them. He provides the band with lots of great fills and some very fast double bass patterns too. Drummers should regard Portnoy as one of the best drummers that metal has to offer.

-- Petrucci's guitar playing is just as impressive, if not more, than the drumming. There are plenty of difficult and technical riffs that Petrucci displays, and his solos are just unadulteraded shredding. Guitarists who love shredding will like John Petrucci.

-- John Myung, when you can actually hear him, does some very cool bass parts. The best part for him on this album would have to be the bass solo on "Metropolis Part One" Myung is also very talented at his instrument.

What was bad about the album:
-- James LaBrie. His voice doesn't belong in a metal band. While he is a very good singer, he just doesn't make the band sound nearly as good as they could. His lyrics are also fairly cheesy in some parts and I can't take him seriously.

-- There is a fine balance between being good at your instrument and being able to put effort into songwriting. These guys do not know how to balance these two factors out. They spend way too much time trying to impress the listener with technical riffing, key changes, time signature changes, and you name it. While this is amazing that the band can actually do that, it makes the song difficult to listen to and often annoying at times.

-- John Myung is often overshadowed by Petrucci and Portnoy. He deserves a little bit more time in the spotlight than he actually gets.

-- Combining the elements of metal, hard rock, and jazz just doesn't work on this album. It's weird hearing a saxophone solo in a progressive metal album. I want to listen to progressive metal, not a Kenny G album.

Highlights:
Take The Time
Metropolis Part One

You might listen to this album if you're in the mood to hear some great musicianship displayed, but if you want to have an easy and enjoyable album, stay away. It's difficult to listen to all the way through and it becomes tedious and even boring in some parts. Drummers, bassists, and guitarists should give this a listen. But if you are just a casual listener I would provide caution before buying this.

Final Rating: 2/5

My opnion is just as valid as yours, people. Let's not turn this into a flamefest.



Recent reviews by this author
Periphery PeripheryThe Red Chord Fed Through the Teeth Machine
Iwrestledabearonce It's All HappeningConverge Caring and Killing
Born of Osiris The New ReignThe Faceless Planetary Duality
user ratings (2324)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ace_of_Bass2112
December 13th 2005



257 Comments


[quote=review] There is a fine balance between being good at your instrument and being able to put effort into songwriting. These guys do not know how to balance these two factors out. They spend way too much time trying to impress the listener with technical riffing, key changes, time signature changes, and you name it. While this is amazing that the band can actually do that, it makes the song difficult to listen to and often annoying at times.[/quote]

this was one of the only parts i didnt agree with. I personally think that they compose great songs and balance out song/technicallity just fine.

[quote=review]John Myung is often overshadowed by Petrucci and Portnoy. He deserves a little bit more time in the spotlight than he actually gets.[/quote]

i will give you that though. Myung is much to good of a bassist to take the back seat in ANY band


Shattered_Future
December 13th 2005



1540 Comments


You put rating as 3, yet it appears as 2 up top. :confused:

Finally, someone who agrees with me...I really dislike this album. It doesn't have anything listenable about it, and Pull Me Under (which many consider to be their best) I can't stand.

Metropolis Pt. 1 is quite good, but this album is way too...PSYCHEDELIC, almost, for my tastes. Now, there is good psychedelic and there is bad. This album falls into the latter category.

Thor
December 13th 2005



10183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fixed. I'm glad to see that you feel the same way that I do about the album. The songs that I listed as highlights I really enjoy, but the rest of the album I just find to be really dull.

Shadows
Moderator
December 13th 2005



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Another great review. I can't say I like Dream Theater much at all. Some stuff from Train of Thought and other odd tracks sounded good, but I have never found one single album that I really liked.

Myung seems like a really cool guy, but Petrucci and Portnoy piss me off. They come off (to me) as two of the most pompous musicians of our time.

Thor
December 13th 2005



10183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's good to see that this didn't turn out with me getting flamed by loads of DT fanboys. I actually really enjoy Train of Thought, but I just didn't like this album.

Killtacular
December 13th 2005



1314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So, the Thor loves the wanking Theater, but when they try to write a concise song, there'll be none of that.

Thor
December 13th 2005



10183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not exactly. The Thor respects Dream Theater's high level of musical talent, but I just don't think that they are able to write captivating songs.

goblue1098
December 13th 2005



61 Comments


i didn't think it was as bad as you said it was. some definite highlights were metroplis and pull me under, how could you not mention that - it one of my favorite DT songs. great review, especially for an overall

Captain_HumpYourFace
December 13th 2005



119 Comments


I actually agree with you. I just didn't have the balls to say it earlier on here. I love DTs musicianship but I can never get into them lyrically or vocally. It's just not my thing and it never will be. I also agree that they sometimes just wave their technical skill in everyone's face instead of just doing what's right for the songs.

I think that's the punk fan in me talking though so take it for what it's worth. One thing that I'll never say is that they don't impress me. Everytime I hear a DT album I'm blown away by the skill level of everyone in the band. They deserve all the respect they get on that front.

I have a suggestion to everyone who feels that the bass player gets mixed to low on this or any other album. Get your hands on a freakin' sub already and stop complaining. Nothing personal at all Thor it was a wicked review it's just a pet peave of mine when people say they can't hear the bass properly but never buy the hardware to help their experience out.



Priestmetal
December 13th 2005



542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I havn't heard the whole album but based on what I've heard I think I would give it a similar rating. DT does have some great songs though and I wouldnt say they are incompetent song writers who merely impress with technicallity and musicianship.

Concubine
December 13th 2005



333 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I never really like their vocals, it's just doesn't fit the music..imo
The instrumental is superb though...
And i also don't like "Another Day" from this album...

Thor
December 13th 2005



10183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Now that 7 out of 7 people think my review was well written, don't you think that it should be the default review for this album?

ocelot-05
December 13th 2005



807 Comments


I'm glad that there are people willing to admit that Dream Theater makes some pretty unlistenable music. What they don't understand is that listening to music usually comes from emotion, and not ridiculous technical wankiness. Here's a cheers to Portnoy and Myung, though.

Ace review, Thor. I respect you very much.This Message Edited On 12.13.05

Apathy
December 13th 2005



645 Comments


So...........angry.

sj_2150
December 14th 2005



251 Comments


youve gotta be crazy to give this album a 2. and for the record, james didnt write any of the lyrics on this album, the rest of the band did.

wikuk
December 14th 2005



1110 Comments


who voted against the review!!!!!!!
I'm gonna kick that one's a$$.

Very good review, maybe the best none t-b-t review i've ever read

NuMetalMania
December 14th 2005



325 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thor :'progressive metal'

Thor
December 14th 2005



10183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Whoever negged my review: why was my review bad? or did you just not like the fact that I don't think DT is all that great?

Shadows
Moderator
December 14th 2005



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

[QUOTE=Thor]Now that 7 out of 7 people think my review was well written, don't you think that it should be the default review for this album?[/QUOTE]
No.

These guys can play but their writing isn't worth shit.

Thor
December 14th 2005



10183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, your last sentence was basically what my review was trying to tell everyone.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy