Rwake
Rest


4.5
superb

Review

by DDconjoined USER (4 Reviews)
September 28th, 2011 | 108 replies | 10,941 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It’s The Heartache of Losing Everything You Know

Albums that can convey emotions so raw and helpless are few and far between, sure you get your Sludge and Doom albums that are bleak and ugly (Given to the Rising comes to mind) but when an album like Rest comes along that can leave you flat out floored you want to do nothing more than get everyone else to listen to what you have just witnessed. It has been 4 long years since the critically acclaimed release of Voices of Omens (an album that can be mentioned alongside the genre’s classic albums) and in that time this 4-piece have really honed their craft with a busy touring schedule.

Which brings us to Rest (their second on Relapse Records), I get the feeling listening to this that I have fallen into a swamp of quicksand and when I look up screaming for assistance it is an apocalyptic burning red sky that I see and vocalist C.T screaming and chanting his poetic vocals at me. It’s at that point I give up and let him tell me that I’m ***ed. A word he uses to great effect on the disturbing ending to An Invisible Thread.

To create a wall of twisting ugly churning desperation one minute and then back it up with a monumentally epic, almost acoustic 7 minute intro on the 16 minute monster The Culling and for it to sound completely natural is the sign of a very good band. This is an emotional rollercoaster. I can’t recall an album whereby feelings of utter helplessness wash over me to such effect “If you think you know, then you're ***ing full of ***” is shouted on the aforementioned An Invisible Thread. So the highlight is the vocal delivery and the lyrical content for mine, but that is not at all discounting the impact the rest of the band has here, some of the guitar parts on the 11 minute “it was beautiful, but now its sour” is just amazing, at times bordering on a Jazz/Blues fusion. The Bass is certainly audible, but does not dominate proceedings and the drumming is fantastically well placed. There are some creepy spoken word samples on 2 tracks that further add to the atmosphere on rest. The production job by Sanford Parker (Minsk) is spot on, each instrument compliments each other and if you think 53 minutes of epic sludge/Doom would be a chore, then you probably don’t have the attention span for this anyway.

Quite simply Rest is anything but respite. It requires your attention, it must be listened to as a whole, it requires multiple listens and if you let it; it will do anything but convey a positive outlook on the planet. Contender for sure.


user ratings (69)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
DDconjoined
September 28th 2011


326 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

a difficult album to review and put into words what is going on. anyway try it out, its out now

ZombicidalMan
September 28th 2011


1792 Comments


Better check this out.

DDconjoined
September 28th 2011


326 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I have a tendency to do that Chambered, I had to hold back from giving it a 5. seriously impressive album though

Josh D.
September 28th 2011


13968 Comments


What's this bands is like

Joshgasm
September 28th 2011


86 Comments


I wish someone I can trust would review this.

DDconjoined
September 28th 2011


326 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm more trustworthy than you buddy! Iv'e been around here since you were in nappies... what kind of a comment is that?

Joshgasm
September 28th 2011


86 Comments


someone relevant please review this

DDconjoined
September 29th 2011


326 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Theres a little thing called Google that'll link you to half a dozen reviews. Knock yourself out.

DDconjoined
September 29th 2011


326 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Actually man, don't check this album out. avoid it at all costs. We don't want you hearing it.

dammets
September 29th 2011


2035 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Can't wait to get this. Voices of Omens is a 5.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
September 29th 2011


8814 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

fucking love this album, my third 4.5 this year. really like the review, too! :]

must say though the ugly lens flare effect on the cover is awful

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
September 29th 2011


8814 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

hi riff!! :]

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
September 29th 2011


8814 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

i'd be more tempted to buy it if it wasn't for the cheap photoshop lens flare effect

part of my college course had a lot of photoshop work and me and my friend had a game called 'see a lens flare, take a shot' :]

DDconjoined
September 29th 2011


326 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah I agree. Tempted to get a review up on that. Albums are Bomb!!

bodiesinflight57
September 29th 2011


869 Comments


This is already out?!

Damn, hadn't noticed. So many good records out this week.

Photon
September 29th 2011


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah this is great

Wizard
September 29th 2011


19383 Comments


Damn good review.

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

HenchmanOfSanta
September 29th 2011


1865 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Work on your run-on sentences, man.

So the highlight is the vocal delivery and the lyrical content for mine, but that is not at all discounting the impact the rest of the band has here, some of the guitar parts on the 11 minute “it was beautiful, but now its sour” is just amazing, at times bordering on a Jazz/Blues fusion.

Albums that can convey emotions so raw and helpless are few and far between, sure you get your Sludge and Doom albums that are bleak and ugly (Given to the Rising comes to mind) but when an album like Rest comes along that can leave you flat out floored you want to do nothing more than get everyone else to listen to what you have just witnessed.
Which brings us to Rest (their second on Relapse Records), I get the feeling listening to this that I have fallen into a swamp of quicksand and when I look up screaming for assistance it is an apocalyptic burning red sky that I see and vocalist C.T screaming and chanting his poetic vocals at me.


Inveigh
September 29th 2011


24958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah this rules hard


I feel like The Culling drags for a bit in the middle but other than that I love just about every moment

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

Eulogize
September 29th 2011


2969 Comments


These guys have ads plastered all over Facebook.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy