Hundredth
Let Go


3.5
great

Review

by Jacob Kleinberg USER (4 Reviews)
September 27th, 2011 | 48 replies | 17,281 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Let Go is a bronze medal record from a band capable of winning the gold.

8 of 9 thought this review was well written

Let Go is the perfect example of how sometimes, a record that offers nothing groundbreaking, nothing extraordinary, and very little new to the table, can still be a pretty great record.

As a sophomore album, Let Go shows some progression in that Hundredth feel a little more genuine here. There is more urgency in vocalist Chadwick Johnson's bark, more uplifting leads and choruses provided by guitarist/clean vocalist Alex Blackwell, and a more cohesive rhythm section. The improvement in production quality on Let Go as opposed to the band's 2010 debut, "When Will We Surrender", stands out as well.

There is actually not much to dislike about Let Go as a melodic hardcore record. The vocal melodies are catchy (see Remain and Sustain, the singing at the end of Monumental Part I), the breakdowns are always strategically placed (see Carry On), the drums are fast paced and on par (see Humane), the bass is audible throughout and keeps up with the guitars quite nicely.

But Hundredth don't take enough risks on this album, and where they do, they are short lived. The best example of this is the clean break two minutes and six seconds into We Can Take Them All. It is literally three seconds long, but it is a beautiful three seconds and shows that maybe Hundredth are a bit more creative than they lead on to be.

The other obvious example of Hundredth's short lived, yet risky and brilliant pieces on Let Go is the last two minutes or so of Restless. Cody Bonnette of As Cities Burn lends his vocals over a clean chord progression gently being strummed, that slowly builds into the what becomes the best minute of music on the record.

Little flashes of brilliance can also be found in the subtle lead guitar work in the beginning of Carry On and throughout I Hold the Key, the gang vocals at the end of Monumental Part I, the desperate intro to Restless, and the drums in the intro to Live Today. But, these moments are so short lived and subtle that they are all too easy to miss, sometimes becoming most noticeable just as they end, and because these moments are few and far between on Let Go, there is not much here to distinguish Hundredth from their contemporaries in bands like Counterparts or Comeback Kid.

Let Go is a great, yet safe, record from a band that has the ability to do so much more.


user ratings (203)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
jacobxross
September 27th 2011



32 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

How do I edit this? haha second review!

DinoX
September 27th 2011



3582 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Edit: beat me to it.

jacobxross
September 27th 2011



32 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Got it, thanks guys!

EyeForAnEye
September 27th 2011



1692 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The summary is how I feel about this album.
Could do some work on the review though.
But it's your second review so it's okay.

Spec
September 27th 2011



27135 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Honestly, I think you have some serious writing potential! Just gotta have a few beers/hits and focus. I'm sure you'll be able to shit out a long review.

Also, is this better than "We Will Surrender?" I was really underwhelmed by that album.

Digging: Rinoa - An Age Among Them

jacobxross
September 27th 2011



32 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Spec! My La Dispute review was a bit longer.

And, to me, this felt a lot more genuine and emotional than We Will Surrender.

Spec
September 27th 2011



27135 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Okay sounds good.

"there is not much here to distinguish Hundredth from their contemporaries in bands like Counterparts or Comeback Kid."

Sounds like you're giving Hundredth too much credit.

jacobxross
September 27th 2011



32 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Perhaps, the rating could change with time, but I really enjoyed this and thought it was on par with at least most of Counterpart's stuff.

Also, I'm not sure if this is proper "sputnik etiquette" for reviews, but I did throw in a paragraph about the difference between this album and the last, and added some afterthoughts. Thanks so much for the comments!

HugCrewLoveRoll
September 27th 2011



612 Comments


Great for a second review! btw new counterparts will destroy this.

Spec
September 28th 2011



27135 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

andcas likes it. searching for a dl link as we speak..

loveisamixtape
September 28th 2011



5952 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album is really good.

Spec
September 28th 2011



27135 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

CANT FUCKING FIND A REAL ONE

loveisamixtape
September 28th 2011



5952 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nigga you SUCK

i'm just kidding. you want me to link you to the one i have spec?

Scoot
September 28th 2011



17726 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is great, they've really stepped up their game.

tkxxx7
September 28th 2011



6153 Comments


Last album was so boring.

Pharoh
September 28th 2011



3326 Comments


Good christian band.

EyeForAnEye
September 28th 2011



1692 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good but a couple things about the album bug me.
I still don't know how I feel about the Hurt cover.

Spec
September 28th 2011



27135 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Links go against Sputnik law mixtape.

loveisamixtape
October 1st 2011



5952 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i know this, but shoutboxes are convenient

Spec
October 4th 2011



27135 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is much better than "When Will We Surrender."



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy