All Shall Perish
This Is Where It Ends


3.5
great

Review

by BroManCaptainGuySirDylan USER (19 Reviews)
September 27th, 2011 | 141 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: ‘This Is Where It Ends’ succeeds in being a heavy and enjoyable album overall, especially from the viewpoint of an avid All Shall Perish fan, but there’s nothing to really keep you coming back for more.

All Shall Perish are one of the more appreciated deathcore bands around, with 2006’s ‘The Price Of Existence’ being a notable example of how to get it right within the genre. However, they’ve had many ups and downs within their career, with their most recent ‘Awaken The Dreamers’ gaining quite a mixed response from both fans and critics alike. ‘This Is Where It Ends’ is the band’s fourth full-length release, and while they don’t deviate from their personal formula too much, they make it a worthy album to sit alongside their discography.

For the most part, this is classic All Shall Perish bringing the demanding breakdowns and frantic riffs and solo’s; ‘Spineless’ being a good example of the latter. Hermida’s vocals have also improved, his screams and yells becoming more dominant and assertive which works quite favourably in parallel with the music. Unfortunately, both Adam Pierce as well as Mike Tiner seem to have been lost in the crowd, as their contributions on drums and bass respectively, tend to mesh with the rest of the instruments. They’re audible, but you may have to go out of your way a bit to make them so.

It’s safe to say that this is mostly a guitar man’s album, so it’s nice to see it’s used effectively where it counts. There’s also some nice guitar pieces that show signs of maturity, the main riff of ‘The Past Will Haunt Us Both’ as well as the outro to ‘Procession Of Ashes’ both come to mind, but it’s mostly the same stuff you’ve heard before, musically. ‘This Is Where It Ends’ succeeds in being a heavy and enjoyable album overall, especially from the viewpoint of an avid All Shall Perish fan, but there’s nothing to really keep you coming back for more.

Ultimately, the band plays it safe on this one, which is both a blessing and a curse. ‘This Is Where It Ends’ is All Shall Perish at their fullest. They can’t get any heavier or darker, and it’s primarily just them playing their own role. Likely the origin of the conflicting reactions, ‘Awaken The Dreamers’ was in all probability their most experimental release by comparison, so if they can combine the sound of the two, they will definitely have a winner on their hands. All Shall Perish definitely have capable musicianship and creative potential, so let’s just anticipate an even stronger future release and hope ‘This Is Where It Ends’ isn’t meant to be taken literally.



Recent reviews by this author
MGMT MGMTCode Orange Love Is Love // Return To Dust
The Amity Affliction Chasing GhostsThe Faceless Autotheism
Will Haven Voir DirePsycroptic The Inherited Repression
user ratings (420)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Alexandre Hamel (4)
Awaken The Dreamers may have deceived some of All Shall Perish fans, but This is Where It End proves...

Darion Paone (4)
A creative and original piece from one of deathcore's most technically proficient and well-establish...


Comments:Add a Comment 
InFiction
September 27th 2011


3713 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Had to edit the summary slightly so it would fit. I'm surprised this hasn't been reviewed yet. Constructive criticism would be appreciated.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2011


22047 Comments


at last a review for this

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

zaruyache
September 27th 2011


7417 Comments


There was a review for it, but it got taken down because the thing hadn't been released/streamed yet.
And then apparently everyone forgot about it.

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

AfterTheBreakdown
September 27th 2011


7172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I still like TPOE more. But this is still really good.

accompliceofmydeath
September 27th 2011


4302 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This was way too long for me, but I'll give it another listen or two. Decent for a deathcore album though.

Digging: Snapcase - Progression Through Unlearning

bloozclooz
September 27th 2011


1770 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that one part in "spineless" make me cum buckets

someguest
September 27th 2011


21390 Comments


hopefully this is where it ends

Digging: Pet Shop Boys - Please

Eulogize
September 27th 2011


2969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Holy fuck someone finally reviewed this.

Eulogize
September 27th 2011


2969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And nice review, pos'd.

someguest
September 27th 2011


21390 Comments


bronice broview

Spec
September 27th 2011


27298 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So much meh.

bloc
September 27th 2011


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The Past Will Haunt Us Both is great

sspedding
September 27th 2011


4794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

there's a few grammar errors.

All Shall Perish are one of the more appreciated deathcore bands around, with 2006’s ‘The Price Of Existence’ being a
notable example of “what not to do” in the genre. (makes no sense)

‘This Is Where It Ends’ is the band’s fourth full-length release, and while they don’t diverge (deviate would sound
better)

his screams and yells becoming more dominate (dominant)

‘Spineless’ being a good example of the latter of which (lose the 'of which')

This Is Where It Ends’ succeeds in being a heavy and enjoyable album overall, especially from the viewpoint of an avid
All Shall Perish fan, but there’s nothing to really keep you coming back for more...unless you’re an avid All Shall Perish
fan (insanely long sentence, doesnt need the bit after...)

Good review overall, just have a look into these for me bru.


Durrzo
September 27th 2011


1137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Good review. I listened to nothing but this album for two weeks once it came out, but I haven't touched it since, it's great and all but the replay value just isn't there, they need to do something new on the next album.

sspedding
September 27th 2011


4794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Kind of agree I only really replay Procession Of Ashes on a regular basis now.

botb
September 27th 2011


9778 Comments


"with 2006’s ‘The Price Of Existence’ being a notable example of “what not to do” in the genre."

uhhhhhhhhhhhh what?

AfterTheBreakdown
September 27th 2011


7172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol

InFiction
September 27th 2011


3713 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Bahaha, I only just realised that doesn't make sense. Cheers for the guide sspedding, I'll edit it all now.

SmokingTheClouds
September 27th 2011


639 Comments


"with 2006’s ‘The Price Of Existence’ being a notable example of “what not to do” in the genre."

uhhhhhhhhhhhh what? [2]

InFiction
September 27th 2011


3713 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Okay, everything's edited now. Thanks again, sspedding.
I still can't believe I didn't notice that. I really need to stop writing reviews late at night when I'm tired.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy