Youth Lagoon
The Year of Hibernation


4.0
excellent

Review

by Statrick Pickles USER (63 Reviews)
September 26th, 2011 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Something about being bored in Montana, I think...

I've never been to Boise, ID, but a handful of preconceived notions and a perfunctory Google search yielding the headline of "Non-profit donates $10,000 toward Idaho Suicide Prevention Hotline" have led me to believe that perhaps I'm not missing much. To my knowledge, the city of Boise is notorious as a place stuck between an archaic past and a bright future, with recent entrepreneurial generations putting their best foot forward in the attempt to tame the expansive Idaho landscape and to sprout an environmentally conscious city from the depths of Mother Nature's creative prowess. The money-minded city-slickers aren't the only ones leaving their mark on that staggering stretch of America, however. For as the townsfolk of the great Northwest get up and go about their quotidian affairs, something bigger than that, yet subtle as a snowflake descending slowly into Lake Tahoe, is coming to fruition beneath their very feet. Somewhere in a dark and damp Boise basement is Trevor Powers, the one-man force behind recently fabricated Youth Lagoon, endeavoring to bridge the daunting gap between past and present, to truly compromise his city's role as a naturalist's Eden and a playground for tycoons. With the release of The Year of Hibernation, his debut LP under his new moniker, Powers has accomplished just that. Built on synthesized instrumentation alongside the natural simplicity of girlish falsetto vocals and whistle-based melodies, Hibernation has showcased Powers' ability to create surreal, layered tracks that ring out with the poise of not just one man, but nature itself.

I could try to be critical of certain aspects of Youth Lagoon's LP, citing the slow build-up of track one 'Posters' as feigned and unrealized. I could try really, really hard, downplaying some of their heavily synthesized melodies and chalking that up to some MacBook'ing white kid with too much time and not enough talent. I don't want to do that though, because I don't believe one bit of it. Rather, Trevor Powers has brought his music into the world with the same modest brawn that drew the Rocky Mountains out from Idaho's soil. His disconnected yodels sing not of unmotivated arrogance, but instead ring out with the pure, well-disposed patience of the ever-changing universe. The dreamy, reminiscent attitude that Powers dons on 'Seventeen' as he sings out "Oh, when I was seventeen/my mother said to me/'Don't stop imagining/the day that you do is the day that you die,'" isn't just believable, it's phenomenal. Anyone can look yearningly into their past, sure, but the capacity here to manifest that nostalgic ache in music so fittingly heartfelt is more than just commendable. Simple and elegant, affecting but understated - The Year of Hibernation is a young man's compelling realization of his insignificance amongst nature and humankind, as well as his beautifully benign indifference toward that fact. I guess that just means one more apathetic soul for Boise's suicide prevention team to keep an eye on.



Recent reviews by this author
Binary Heart SplitsvilleApe Up! Kemosabe
Joyce Manor Of All Things I Will Soon Grow TiredAnti-Flag The General Strike
Good Old War Come Back As RainSnowing Pump Fake / Scherbatsky 7"
user ratings (326)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Matt Wolfe EMERITUS (4)
Music for daydreamers. The ones paying attention, anyway....


Comments:Add a Comment 
iFghtffyrdmns
September 26th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I am so full of shit. But this does make me happy.

Oh yeah and originally posted (sort of) over at www.MuzikDizcovery.com, so frigg off, Lahey.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2011


7311 Comments


Great review - prime material for a feature.

That being said, two things could have really made it better: a.) about a couple hundred more words, and b.) (strangely) better paragraphing. You see, your intro is fantastically ace, but I think you really could have sliced it in two beginning with "For as the townsfolk of the great Northwest get up and go about their quotidian affairs..."

And that, IMHO, would make the intro feel not as long-winded and "full of shit", as you put it (*wink*) as it seems now. Just my two cents mate.

iFghtffyrdmns
September 26th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

haha yeah thanks for the CC irv, definitely wrote this on a whim while I was listening through the first time cause I was super impressed with what i heard. At some point in time when I'm far less exhausted, I might come back and juice this up a bit. Until then, I am most assuredly going to bed haha

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2011


50553 Comments


Goo Lagoon

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2011


7311 Comments


definitely wrote this on a whim while I was listening through the first time

That's an easy trap to fall into mate, especially if one is ambitious about going places in her/his writing. I keep doing that myself - see my Gavin DeGraw review, for example. The trick, I think, is that we should never allow that to happen. I had never thought about that before - one (relatively) weaker write-up can damage five reviews' worth of good work. Hmm.

Night mate =)

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2011


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Goo Lagoon

Fuck yes.

lancebramsay
September 27th 2011


1585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The drum loops on this drive me nuts, otherwise I've got a man crush on this hardcore

808muzik
September 27th 2011


955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is pretty asdfghjkl good.

Digging: Vince Staples - Hell Can Wait

iFghtffyrdmns
September 27th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I feel like the uncool kid in this thread for not having "muzik" spelled with a in my username

gabethepiratesquid
September 27th 2011


4521 Comments


I absolutely adore this band. People who like this should check out Belong - Common Era.
They're kind of like this, but uh, ambient.

AutoRock
September 27th 2011


421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great Debut. Horrible Horrible Artwork.

iFghtffyrdmns
September 28th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah I don't find it all that gruesome

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2011


10284 Comments


Yeah what the hell, why would somebody feel so strongly about this album artwork.

I'm starting to check this out finally, I really really like it.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2011


23909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this rules so hard. but the music video for Montana is even better.

"Oh yeah and originally posted (sort of) over at www.MuzikDizcovery.com, so frigg off, Lahey."

lol'd

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

ohfoxxxycole
November 21st 2011


4353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

July man

ohfoxxxycole
November 21st 2011


4353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just realized my tracklist was completely off

SCREAMorphine
March 2nd 2012


1758 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Beautiful album

benkim
June 18th 2012


2143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very good album but I think the opener lets it down a little bit.

SCREAMorphine
June 18th 2012


1758 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ Favourite Youth Lagoon song, so peaceful.

benkim
June 18th 2012


2143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My current favourite is actually seventeen. So nostalgic.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy