Eluvium
Copia


4.5
superb

Review

by Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (103 Reviews)
September 26th, 2011 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Beauty for beauty's sake.

It's only when things are removed from you that you truly realise how much you loved them... No, I'm not going to ramble on about a dead relative or pet, I'm talking about something much worse than that. At 4:37 this afternoon, someone decided to unplug me from Copia. Now before you all send cards wishing me the best with clumsy, well meaning poetry attached, I would like to let you know that the disaster was swiftly rectified... and also that I learned something from the experience. That thing being: in the 4 hours that I had been listening to the LP, my mind had become emotionally dependent on the beauty emanating from it. The unplugging didn't only bring silence to my ears, it also brought with it a sense of this connection being severed.

Now that it's dark and I've fortified my position so that anyone attempting to remove me from my precious will have to put in a considerable amount of effort to do so (which, knowing them, they won't), it's become apparent that to my mind the music has become a living, breathing thing. When listening to Copia, I'm not just passively letting the music flow over me as I would with many other ambient works, I'm having what can best be described as a conversation with it. In this conversation, Copia sets the base and the tone and I both assign whatever meaning I desire to the sounds I hear and play extra tracks in my mind which end up shaping the LP into something truly personal.

It's not the case that my imagination does the bulk of the work, Eluvium provides one hell of an experience. It takes everything at its own pace, with the pure ambient pieces slowly unfurling around you and the piano slipping inside to supply something more solid yet no less peaceful. The introduction of the piano does add a larger sense of insistence, however, and although initially useful in drawing the listener in to the conversation it quickens the pace by just a few too many degrees once you're inside. This is easily forgotten, especially when the closing tracks spin round again, but to see just a minuscule chip in Copia in disheartening, because this is an LP that charms you. In effect, you end up wanting to love it... and you do.

But the best thing about Copia, and I've left it till last for a reason, it it's purity; it distinctly lacks any disturbing undertones or attempts at vocal samples at all. This further pushes home the fact that this really is the listener's album and they can let their mind do what they want with it. Let's think of Copia as a book, it doesn't excel simply due to the fact it's beautifully put together, it excels because in the presensce of beautiful art the mind will go to beautiful places.



Recent reviews by this author
Throwing Snow MosaicSOHN Tremors
A Winged Victory for the Sullen Atomos VIIPlinth (UK) Music For Smalls Lighthouse
The Correspondents Puppet Loosely StrungSon Lux Alternate Worlds
user ratings (369)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
fsharp (5)
...

Tyler Fisher EMERITUS (4.5)
A combination of all Eluvium work to date, Copia is Matthew Cooper's best effort, mixing melody with...


Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Last couple of reviews have received 3 replies... would be nice if a few people could comment (or possibly give feedback) on this one. Would make me happy.

Oceanus
September 26th 2011


877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rules. Interesting review, but I'm not sure what you're trying to say in the second half of the third paragraph, there. Are you saying that the piano brings the tempo up too much?

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Are you saying that the piano brings the tempo up too much?"

Not so much tempo, more that it creates a bit too much momentum. It's nit-picking in the end, if I'm honest.

AGuyIsWatchingYou
September 26th 2011


907 Comments


As I previously stated, everyone knows Ambient 1 is the best ambient album of all time.........followed by Ambient 4..........followed by The Disintegration Loops I.........followed by Stars of the Lid and Their Refinement of the Decline.

Deal with it.

Oh and nice review, the albums now second place in my albums to listen to playlist right behind Post Nothing by Japandroids.

Oceanus
September 26th 2011


877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Why gripe about momentum in the first place? Sounds like without any momentum, everything would be rather same-y.

crazyblinddude
September 26th 2011


3389 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ruuuuules.

Oathbreaker
September 26th 2011


1649 Comments


Album is a masterpiece. I like small reviews.

scissorlocked
September 27th 2011


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

brilliant album

sexpoi
September 27th 2011


599 Comments


well done on the review. I'll check this out

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Why gripe about momentum in the first place? Sounds like without any momentum, everything would be rather same-y."

Ehhm, you'd think that. Somehow it doesn't.

toxin.
November 19th 2013


12498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so fucking good honestly damn
best study music, the piano bits are a good cue that i've earned a break and i can just enjoy the gorgeous music before working once the ambient is back on

Keyblade
November 19th 2013


14890 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Werd up toxbro

toxin.
November 19th 2013


12498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

key did you listen to the double album from this year?
honestly i'm not sure i need another album by eluvium but if it's as good as copia i would check it out

Keyblade
November 19th 2013


14890 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah it's really damn good too man. Covered in Writing is one of his best songs...try Youtube'ing it

toxin.
November 20th 2013


12498 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hm it was nice but i didn't think it was too special? it was only one listen though so i'll jam it a few more times and see if it grows, most of his stuff usually does

Emyay
February 26th 2014


5962 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is really awesome. might be my new favorite album to put on at work. hard to rate though

CaptainDooRight
February 26th 2014


29452 Comments


this band has always reminded me of JT even tho this isn't his fav by them

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III ? Saturnian Poetry

Emyay
February 26th 2014


5962 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

him and key come to mind when i think of them. somehow i know off the top of my head that jt prefers the one before this one. key bc of his keybient list

Ecnalzen
May 5th 2014


6574 Comments


This is just really...

pleasant.

Keyblade
May 5th 2014


14890 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"him and key come to mind when i think of them. somehow i know off the top of my head that jt prefers the one before this one. key bc of his keybient list"

Yeah JT prefers TAT, he even mentioned it in the thread if I remember haha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy