iNTRiKeT
Songs For Sleepy


4.0
excellent

Review

by Adrian Hertzberg CONTRIBUTOR (31 Reviews)
September 26th, 2011 | 49 replies | 2,502 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A remarkable début from a young musician sure to make waves in the future.

Sometimes, the combination of two seemingly incompatible things is surprisingly amazing. Next time you’re craving some peanut butter, instead of going for a boring PB and J sandwich, leave that jam in the fridge and grab the mustard instead. “Ewwwwww,” right? Wrong. Peanut butter and mustard is the greatest and most ingenious peanut butter based discovery since Mr. Reese combined it with chocolate. If you’ve never done this before then just trust me and try it out. Right now. I’ll wait. It was awesome, wasn’t it? Don’t lie, it was awesome; I know it was. What iNTRiKeT offers us with this, his debut EP, is a listening experience similar to the tasting experience that I’ve just forced upon you.

On paper it sounds like an absolutely dreadful idea. With Songs For Sleepy, amateur dubstep/drum-and-bass/whatever-the-hell-he-feels-like producer Josh Frazer mixes in soothing ambient soundscapes with dirty sub-bass and obtrusive, in your face dubstep and drum-and-bass beats. What results is a unique journey through the often stagnant genre that is dubstep. Granted, there are several spots on the EP that could have benefitted from a bit more separation between the calming ambient sounds and the filthy sub-bass lines. However, the majority of the material found here serves as an example of how to combine two vastly different styles without letting one overshadow the other. iNTRiKeT displays that he knows when to let the clean guitar lines and soothing keyboard textures take centre-stage, most notably on the title track.

There is also a substantial amount of variety to be found on the EP, not something that can be said about a lot of amateur producers’ debuts. Most of the album is based on the dubstep two-step beat but every so often iNTRiKeT instead opts for the faster drum-and-bass beat. This isn’t done randomly though, of course. Great care is taken to match the accompanying music with the fitting tempo, giving each track its own distinct identity (the best example of this is probably Clouds of Snow). The final result is a 29-minute EP that flies by in what seems like half that time and begs you to give it several consecutive listens.

Specific highlights are a little hard to pinpoint because special moments are scattered throughout each of the six tracks. One that immediately comes to mind is the eerie piano line of the penultimate track Last Night which iNTRiKeT pairs expertly with some filthy sub-bass and excellent acoustic guitar parts. Once again, each aspect of the music is allowed to shine here. By dropping the bass line and beat in and out at various different points of the track, iNTRiKeT allows the listener to appreciate the full spectrum of his musical talent.

But, the undeniable highlight of the album is the last track. iNTRiKeT somehow got the brilliant idea to remix on of the greatest folk songs ever recorded, Mountain Man’s Animal Tracks. (Seriously, whoever came up with that idea must be a super-genius.) Again, this sounds like an awful idea: combining acoustic guitars and folky female vocals with a dirty bass line. But, again, iNTRiKeT pulls it off wonderfully. As the bass rattles around in the classic filthstep style, the marvellous vocals from the ladies of Mountain Man offer a counterpoint and tie the track together. Perhaps more than any other track on the EP, great care is taken to ensure that nothing gets in the way of the listener enjoying either of the musical styles on display.

Of course, the album is not perfect. But for a debut release that is merely a collection of tracks, many of which have been kicking around in some form or another for over six months, ‘Songs For Sleepy’ is a remarkable accomplishment and one that showcases a musician with endless potential. Some might say that iNTRiKeT would be well-advised to pick a genre or style and fine-tune his skills in that area instead of jumping all over the musical map, and they wouldn’t be out of line saying so. But with a little refinement and experience, iNTRiKeT could perfect this distinct sound and carve a refreshingly unique niche for himself in the often stagnant genre that is dubstep. ‘Songs For Sleepy’ is the debut of a rising young musical talent. His influences are on full display and while he perhaps indulges in them a little too heavily at times, the potential shown here is extraordinary. Remember the name “Josh Frazer,” because I have a feeling we’ll be hearing excellent, unique music from him for years to come.



Recent reviews by this author
Manchester Orchestra CopeRegina Spektor Songs
Run The Jewels Run The JewelsThe Dillinger Escape Plan One of Us Is the Killer
The National Trouble Will Find MeLaura Stevenson Wheel
user ratings (18)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Deviant STAFF (2.5)
While it shows some amazing promise Songs For Sleepy is ultimately a release with no clear identity,...

related reviews

The Woods

Comments:Add a Comment 
Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2011



23653 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

this is the dubstep project of sputnik user Jash. download it for free (or throw him some scrilla)
at http://intriket.bandcamp.com/

I originally wrote a review for this like a week ago but my computer crashed literally right as I
was finishing it, and I hadn't been saving it. fuck my life etc. anyway I think this version is
better so yeah, feedback if you please, I've been soooooo lazy lately and it's been ages since my
last review.

also check out Jash's other music if you feel so inclined. He has a shoegaze-y solo project called
Slow Dreams and a new downtempo electronica band called Leaf House. hit him up for links. haha oh
and of course Spruce Moose with yours truly on drums (demos/jams all recorded on an iPhone cause
we're just that indie)

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Slum
September 26th 2011



2579 Comments


diggin it

Rev
September 26th 2011



9292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Where's my review, Adrian?


Jk. How's the kids in Africa?

Jash
September 26th 2011



4243 Comments


Yeeeaaaaaa :D Thanks for the good words Aids, I love the first paragraph hahaha so money. Now it's your turn to make some tunes and I'll review it!

Xplisit
September 26th 2011



1646 Comments


when i read this i was craving peanut butter sandwich.. but no.. i will not try your mustard idea.. just no..

Xplisit
September 26th 2011



1646 Comments


i mean.. coming from a guy who loves both peanut butter and mustard.. no..

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2011



23653 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

dude come on it's so tasty

the kids in Africa are alright, it's really annoying how they're just throwing random groups of kids together though because it's hard to teach drastically different skill levels. I had to spend forever showing this one kid how to play E A and D chords over and over but then I spent the last 30 minutes teaching this one kid who was actually decent how to play 'Redemption Song'

Jash you know me. It took me two weeks to finally review this, how long would it take me to throw an EP together? Two years? ugh i hate my laziness, hopefully this trip gets that out of my system so that I can come back and start an awesome hardcore band and rule the worlddddddd (you can play guitar in it, i suppose. shotty vox though haha)

mallen-
September 26th 2011



1235 Comments


so how empty was your fridge when you made that sandwich?

Digging: The War on Drugs - Lost in the Dream

Jash
September 26th 2011



4243 Comments


Vox are all yours brah, I'm fine with that

Scoot
September 26th 2011



17486 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you're alright sir

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2011



5614 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think the title for this home made ep should be "Songs for night daydreaming"


I like how the noise is used here.


3.5 (at least) from what I'm listening to.



:edit:

this is so cool, it is definitely something i will listen to more than once.

Digging: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

Jash
September 26th 2011



4243 Comments


It's called songs for sleepy cause I made it for my girlfriend and her nickname is sleepy, maybe I'll name my next EP songs for daydreaming though! I'm glad you're enjoying it

klap
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2011



10003 Comments


the least you guys could do is close the door when you're masturbating each other

Jash
September 26th 2011



4243 Comments


Didn't you get the invite klapper??? I thought I sent you an invite to the weekly friend fap group, regardless you should join.




And listen to my EP

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2011



30301 Comments


What results is a unique journey through the often stagnant genre that is dubstep.


Explain

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

taxidermist
September 26th 2011



7175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

blahblahblah is pretty cool. Haven't really listened to the rest. Pos on the review, Aids.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2011



5614 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the least you guys could do is close the door when you're masturbating each other




haha

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2011



23653 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"the least you guys could do is close the door when you're masturbating each other"

hahahahaha you caught us.

"Explain"

haha hey Deviant. Yeah I thought about leaving that bit out (of several spots) but in the end I
think I stand by it. What I was trying to get at is that the "filthier" side of dubstep can get
pretty boring what with everyone and their mothers just trying to craft the dirtiest bass-drops ever
in every single song without much attention being paid towards the other, arguably more important,
aspects of the music. I'm not asserting that all "filthstep" is like this but a lot of it
has started to sound rather derivative, mainly in the club scene. I just meant that it's a
refreshing approach (in my opinion) and it makes this EP stand out a bit from the often stagnant
scene that produces the dirty wobbles.

Is that a proper explanation or did I just repeat the same point a bunch of times? I dunno haha I'm
tired. Fire back if you feel so inclined.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2011



23653 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"so how empty was your fridge when you made that sandwich?"

just saw that. not a sandwich though, stoned-wheat thins all the way.

Jash
September 27th 2011



4243 Comments


"haha just saw that. not a sandwich though, stoned-wheat thins all the way."

fuck yeah, stoned-wheat thins all tha way



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy