Scorpions
Lonesome Crow


3.0
good

Review

by RunOfTheMill USER (6 Reviews)
September 25th, 2011 | 35 replies | 5,390 views


Release Date: 1972 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Depression on an acid trip

Lonesome Crow is the Scorpions' debut studio album. After several slow years, the band finally got their first record deal under the Brain label, a newly founded record company in Germany. The album features frontman Klaus Meine on vocals, Rudolph Schenker on rythm guitar, Lothar Heimberg on bass, Wolfgang Dziony on drums, and a 17-year old Michael Schenker on lead guitar.

To start this review off, the album is stylistically and musically different from anything the Scorpions would later release. It is clearly influenced by the psychedelic rock scene that was widespread throughout the late 1960s, but with that touch of European influence that sets it apart from the British and American rock styles. This genre is known as Krautrock, which is an experimental genre that incorporates groove and funk.

The album starts of with the smashing "I'm Goin' Mad", arguably the album's best track. It starts of with a paced and rythmic drum segment, and is soon joined by R. Schenker's and Heimberg's catchy rythmic work, which, albeit great, simply accompanies M. Schenker's guitar skills, providing the audience with a symphony of rock. When the guitar stops, Meine takes the microphone to sing an escalating vocal segement, which is later repeated at the end of the song. Overall, it truly shows the band's potential, however most of rest of the album would unfortunately go downhill from here, though it isn't a particularly steep decline.

The next two tracks are, unfortunately, rather disappoiting. In "It All Depends" and "Leave Me", Meine barely even has a presence, and it is rather weak, as opposed to his singing in the first track. "Leave Me" just seems to stride on this eerie feeling, and M. Schenker's guitar work is boring. Meine's vocals sound like he was trying to down away his thoughts with an LSD tablet. Despite this, credit must be given to Dziony, as his drumming manages to prevent these tracks from boring us to sleep, as he keeps up a great rythm with both tracks.

After these strange and enigmatic interludes comes "In Search of the Peace of Mind", which is probably the most engaging and interesting track of the album. It starts off with a rather irrelevant guitar riff, and soon breaks into a nice little serenade. Meine begins to show off his melodic skills in an escalating ballad, accompanied by a beautiful acoustic guitar with a most serene feeling. It then gradually subsides and fades away into another break in the song, which renews itself in a bleak and cold bass and guitar line. When Meine starts again, that peaceful feeling he left us off has completely disappeared, and he starts singing as though on the brink of insanity. In fact, you can really grasp this sensation when he screams "And I try!" over and over. And that's what makes this song so special. It was carefully engineered to give listeners complete contrast, displaying hope and despair. The unfortunate thing about it all is that it leaves us wanting more, as it is technically two short songs in one track.

The next track "Inheritance" is a groovier and a bit more trivial than the last, but it is not without a special mention. The instrumentals in the song are great. The Schenkers, Heimberg and Dziony again show us again how they can make a very catchy and complex musical segment. Meine once again is put aside for most of the song, though he does have some good moments. Though, that's if you care to scratch the surface. At first glance, the song reeks of late 1960s psychedelia, as if they were trying to sound like some obscure offspring of Jefferson Airplane.

The next track is an absolute abnormality in whatever people will think of when they hear "The Scorpions". "Action" is, pure and simple, a fusion of blues rock and jazz. Meine has some catchy vocal segments, and the bass is well performed, but is not something people will be looking for when they listen to the album. Thankfully for some, it progresses into a more hard rock sound towards the end, but still gives off the impression that they were inspired by Miles Davis. And like the previous track is something more suited for hippies and such.

The final and title track of Lonesome Crow is a thirteen-minute epic. It is, indeed, the strangest and darkest track of the album. It starts off with an eerie and ominous medley of sound, and proceeds to incorporate the sounds used in other tracks. Meine's vocals, when they do appear, are reminiscent of "Inheritance", and the long musical segments often sound (but are not identical to) "Action" and "It All Depends", though it accentuates on the "jazziness" at some points. Albeit, it's an original piece, though it has a messy composition, and is almost undecided in what tone it wants to take. Some points are clearly dark and spooky, with that groovy bizarre lingering feel in it, other parts just break the song and commence an entirely new segment, with little to no transition. A rather underfocused piece, it might get boring every now and then, especially when it gets real slow where the simple lack of sound or any rythm will surely make listeners sleepy.

To summarize, the album is definitely a unique piece in the typical hard rock entusiast's catalogue, and will surely interest many Scorpions fans, but is more worth the listen for its historical importance as the debut of the Scorpions and of Michael Schenker's very fruitful careers than for anyone looking to jam to some classic hard rock. The album is dark and sounds very groovy, and might have been more popular within the 60's, but at least omits the flower power lyrics. It has a few worthwhile tracks, but is definitely one of the weaker releases of the Scorpions' early career.

Recommended tracks
I'm Goin' Mad
In Search of the Peace of Mind
Inheritance



Recent reviews by this author
X Japan DahliaScorpions Blackout
Unisonic UnisonicScorpions In Trance
Unisonic Ignition
user ratings (84)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Daniel Dias (3)
The foundation of one of the greatest German bands of all time....


Comments:Add a Comment 
RunOfTheMill
September 24th 2011


1454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

First review :3

I could've done a better job at reviewing it, noticing a few writing mistakes everywhere.

Also, I was mitigated between a high 2.5 or a low 3.0. I chose the latter after re-listening to "Inheritance" which has some pretty nice guitar work, and after paying more attention to the Dziony's drumming, who's not a bad drummer.

Detritivore
September 25th 2011


270 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Is good that people review Scorps work!. Maybe is the weaker of the 70' albums but is really important in the evolve in their sound. Try the next time void a track by track review, at times it's turn boring to read.

Good job!

stabbler
November 12th 2011


1415 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is one of the best albums ever made....prog meets jazz meets metal...in 1971

TheNotrap
November 12th 2011


8065 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hard rock meets psychedelia.
A very interesting and unusual album.

Michael Schenker with only 16 years old did a hell of a job
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8nTGTCSGj30

By fav tracks here are I'm Goin' Mad and In Search of Peace of Mind (the ending theme is amazing).

Great review
Pos'd


Digging: Cannibal Corpse - A Skeletal Domain

RunOfTheMill
November 12th 2011


1454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

OMFG took me so long to figure out what my password was. GODDAMMIT SPUTNIK, MAKE A "Forgot your
password?" BUTTON OR SOMETHING.

...
Anyways, thanks for the feedback. It's hard to give an objective view for this album, since I love how
different it is. Nothing quite like the sound it gives off. It's just unfortunate that some tracks are
kind of boring...

And it always made me laugh how Meine looked like a pseudo-Jesus when this was made.

boleyn2
March 16th 2012


83 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

'it all depends' and 'leave me' rather disappointing? you must be kidding; this album is a masterpiece from the first til the very last second; undoubtedly the best thing ever made by this band; it's sad and very dissapointing for me their debut is so underrated; i know you people used to think about scorps like about the great hard rock band delivering superb yet quite simple riffs, with a strong sense of melody; that's what gave them a huge commercial success and what- unfortunately- overshadows their early brilliant releases; the truth is nothing compares to lonesome crow in respect of artistic standard; those who gave it less than 4 should give it another try; next albums, until 'taken by force' are good too, but it's their debut where they reached artistic heights; as for their 80's releases, i dont wanna comment on it... it's like a totally different band i dont appreciate that much

stabbler
March 16th 2012


1415 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah

RunOfTheMill
March 17th 2012


1454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Eh, I don't blame you for liking it, it's unique and all, but it just sounds so boring at times.

And another thing I could add is that the lyrics are close to meaningless, but none of these guys were
any good at English at this time, I'm pretty sure Michael Schenker couldn't even speak a word of it
yet, so yeah.

Btw, I was barely even comparing this to their later work. I only did it at the beginning because a
lot of people are unfamiliar with this album.

stabbler
March 18th 2012


1415 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The fact that your review deconstructs the songs only suggests that you actually happened to listened to the album a few times (so at least kudos to you on that). However, the references made to other genres throughout is superficial and doesn't consider how this album truly progresses by mixing many of these styles altogether in one.

To call this 'boring at times' suggests that your only frame of reference is classic 70s metal (judging by what else you've ranked), which in itself, limits your ability to objectively rank this album.


RunOfTheMill
March 18th 2012


1454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I listened to the album at least 10 times before reviewing this, the title track at least 20 times.
I still jam I'm Goin' Mad from time to time.

On the review:
Ok, in all fairness, this was my first review. I accept your criticism, and perhaps you're right,
there might be some bias in this. I'm sure I could do a better job at reviewing this now, as
sometimes I don't give a proper reason as to why the tracks are boring. I'm not planning on becoming
Sputnik's most prolific, but I'll keep that in mind.

On the album:
If I look back to it, there were these really long segments in the title track with nothing but
background noise or extremely dull vocals. It has an eerie effect, but just puts you to sleep. It
doesn't grasp your attention, it doesn't stand out, it sounds like it's trying to be ambient, but
fails because it tries to sound like the rest of the album at the same time. The 2nd and 3rd tracks
might not be injected with these segments, but the musicianship is boring. Nothing stands out: the
vocals generically ramble on those senseless lyrics, the guitars provide some extremely simple riff
throughout the entire songs with little to no variation, but at least the rhythmic section is good
enough. Sure, maybe they weren't trying to be progressive, but in those cases you need something to
grasp the listener's attention. Please tell me what you see in these tracks, I'm interested.

stabbler
March 18th 2012


1415 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

appreciate your open mindedness dude and willingness to debate

If by Track 2 you mean 'It all Depends', I have no idea what you're talking about. The multitude of styles compacted within a few minutes, the randomly placed solo, highly proficient bass, and fun percussion is fucking awesome. This is 1971; almost no one else was doing it like this at that point in time.

sure - Leave Me is fairly straightforward, but as a result provides a nice contrast to the rest of the album. It doesn't remotely diminish the experience.

and those 'really long segments with nothing but background noise'...these are just psychedelic elements that add another layer...perhaps you are also not a fan of some of the pink floyd epics such as saucerful of secrets, echoes and dogs



RunOfTheMill
March 18th 2012


1454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You're not being overly aggressive, the least I can do is hear you out.

Anyways, I'll tell you what, I'll listen to the album again. Naturally, I won't change the review, but I'll see if my own opinion changes. I agree that the drumming and the bass are stellar.

rockandmetaljunkie
June 3rd 2012


3302 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

great review man, pos'd.
1st track reminds me Sabbath's early work.

RunOfTheMill
June 3rd 2012


1454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks, though I find this review could have been better :|

And this album has grown on me a bit sicne the last time I listened to it... Hmmmm.

stabbler
June 3rd 2012


1415 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"1st track reminds me Sabbath's early work."

such as?

rockandmetaljunkie
June 4th 2012


3302 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I wasn't reffering to one specific track necessarily, but in general. The song has a Sabbath-esque
vibe. The first riff, the introductory solo in minor pentatonic, the overall dark mood....
It doesn't mean necessarily that the song is bad.

stabbler
June 4th 2012


1415 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

not sure i hear it, but then again seems like no one hears this album the way i do

MrSirLordGentleman
May 21st 2013


4401 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this was... unexpected actually, it's not a good or bad album but an interesting one

however, this and fly to the rainbow proves that Scorpions was far more than just an 80's heavy metal band

Digging: Nina Simone - Pastel Blues

manosg
June 3rd 2013


6070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Interesting album. My only objection is that Klaus Meine could have contributed a lot more in this one.

Digging: Saviour Machine - Saviour Machine I

MrSirLordGentleman
July 10th 2013


4401 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

even when it's not even close to their best albums, I think this is the album that shows the most the talent these guys had... HAD



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy