King Diamond
Fatal Portrait


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheNotrap USER (10 Reviews)
September 23rd, 2011 | 43 replies | 6,558 views


Release Date: 1986 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The King is dead. Long live the King!

7 of 7 thought this review was well written

The sudden breakup of Mercyful Fate back in 1985, caused by creative differences between King Diamond and Hank Shermann, caught all Fate followers by surprise.
Their debut EP, Melissa and Don't Break the Oath inspired the flourishing European first wave of black metal and young US thrash acts such as Metallica or Exodus, winning the loyalty and respect of a considerable underground fan base who wondered what King would sound like without his main song writer Hank.

Under is pseudonym, King Diamond didn't waste much time in taking his former Fate band mates Michael Denner and Timi Hansen, the new Swedish recruits Andy LaRocque and Mikkey Dee and starting a new chapter, releasing on December 25 the single No Presents for Christmas (this song can also be found on Fatal Portrait's re-issue), taking only six months to shape his highly anticipated debut album Fatal Portrait.

Fatal Portrait is a bridge between the occult and epic Fate previous style and a more conceptual, but still dark, theatrical approach so perfectly achieved on the next album Abigail.
This first conceptual effort can be found on Fatal Portrait's first four songs: The Candle, The Jonah, The Portrait, Dressed in White and the ninth track Haunted. This five songs form a short horror story about a man that frees the haunted spirit of a little girl, named Molly, trapped in every candle of the house.
Musically, Fatal Portrait keep the Fate formula based on dark oriented lyrics, inspired riffs, epic twin leads and King's unique falsetto range, however the songs have now a more melodic and traditional verse-chorus-verse-chorus structure. This stylish approach is based on a extremely solid rhythm section that lays down a solid foundation for the melodic guitar lines and dramatic vocals that mixes high falsettos with occasional demonic growls. The lyrics also evolved from the previous satanic main themes into a more theatrical narrative, making this record probably the most easy listening album of King's career. Songs like The Candle, The Jonah, Charon and specially Halloween are very accessible and become quickly live favourites for many years.

Even if sometimes we feel some lack of an overall identity throughout the album or find some filler tracks like the instrumental Voices From The Past, Fatal Portrait still remains one of King's best records, helping to establish King Diamond as a respectable metal act in the mid-eighties.

Pros:
The Candle, Charon and Halloween
Solid musical performances
King's theatrical vocals

Cons:
The cool, but dispensable, instrumental Voices From The Past



Recent reviews by this author
Marillion FugaziBolt Thrower War Master
Metal Church Blessing in DisguiseDio Sacred Heart
Coroner Punishment for DecadenceScorpions World Wide Live
user ratings (111)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
September 23rd 2011



7815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Guys I hope you like this review

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 23rd 2011



18179 Comments


Good review Notrap. Probably your best yet.

For the beginning of the second paragraph I would have probably said something like:
King Diamond didn't wast much time in taking his former Fate band mates... and starting a new chapter

But apart from that very well written considering English isn't your first language.

Digging: Benoit Pioulard - Hymnal Remixes

TheNotrap
September 23rd 2011



7815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks JT!

I will try to correct that sentence (I don't know if we can edit a review)

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 23rd 2011



18179 Comments


If you go to your profile you'll see a link on the left hand side under your profile picture that says "Edit My Reviews/Albums".

BigHans
September 23rd 2011



26455 Comments


good job dude m/

TheNotrap
September 23rd 2011



7815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks again JT. When I get home I will try to edit

Thanks a lot Hans!
m/

Parallels
September 23rd 2011



6640 Comments


Serious deja vu, I finally rated this album yesterday and read your reviews and then you post this. What can I say, lol. Awesome work

Jethro42
September 23rd 2011



12029 Comments


Good job on the review bro.

TheNotrap
September 23rd 2011



7815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hahaha I sometimes have also serious deja vu...strange stuff..Cool concept for the next King Diamond record ;-)

Thanks a lot Sonicspeed!
m/


TheNotrap
September 23rd 2011



7815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Jethro!!
*Prog m/*

Killerhit
September 23rd 2011



4455 Comments


Long live the king

(of all reviews)

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 23rd 2011



5611 Comments


Another FANTASTIC and underrated (~60 ratings average per album) band within the ranks of Sputnik.

Unfortunately, this is one of the very few KD albums that i haven't listened to yet.



good review, pos.

Optimize the view of your paragraphs a bit (merge the first two paragraphs and eliminate the gaps on the third one), if you please NoTrap :-)

Digging: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

TheNotrap
September 23rd 2011



7815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Long live the King!

Thank you Killer
m/

TheNotrap
September 23rd 2011



7815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Agreed Voivod
His solo work have very good moments, like his debut, Conspiracy, Them and specially Abigail, his best work IMO.

I'm trying to make reviews of relativity unknown classic records within the ranks of Sputnik.

The young generations need to know this classic stuff
m/

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 23rd 2011



5611 Comments


Review the Mercyful Fate Discog.

Apart from the first two MF albums, pretty much everything else remains to be reviewed.


Jethro42
September 23rd 2011



12029 Comments


The young generations need to know this classic stuff

I guess it's too late for me :/


Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 23rd 2011



5611 Comments


It's never too late Jethro.

Better late than never.

Jethro42
September 23rd 2011



12029 Comments


I was jk Vod, but seriously I've youtubed some of their stuff some time ago and it didnt speak to me that much...


TheNotrap
September 23rd 2011



7815 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hahaha
Never too late for the PROG WARRIOR!!!!

Well, it's not easy to get into King Diamond Jethro....You need to like old school metal a lot I guess...

Try to figure out Priest more dark oriented....
Do you know Mercyful Fate?

Jethro42
September 23rd 2011



12029 Comments


''Do you know Mercyful Fate?''

Not at all I'm afraid...only by their name.







You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy