Accept
Restless and Wild


4.5
superb

Review

by TheNotrap USER (10 Reviews)
September 20th, 2011 | 62 replies


Release Date: 1982 | Tracklist

Review Summary: heidi heido heida heidi heido heida heidi heido heida hahahahahahaha HHHHHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

The unusual German folk intro, suddenly interrupted by the unmistakable Udo shriek, succeeded by the opening killer track Fast as a Shark is amongst the most memorable heavy metal moments ever recorded.

This speed metal anthem was a blueprint for thousands of worldwide young acts like Helloween and it's probably the first speed metal track ever recorded on vinyl. This fact alone makes Restless and Wild an absolute classic and extreme influential album, but this German gem has a lot more to offer than the furious opening song.

Just after the previous shark ride we get into the amazing title track drifted by Wolf Hoffmann's inspired riff. Restless and Wild still remains one of Accept's best known songs and a favourite live act. Ahead of the Pack and specially Shake Your Heads are more...let's say...Priest oriented, however we're back on tracks with the powerful mid-tempo Neon Nights. Get Ready, another catchy Priest oriented track, precedes the raw and heavy Demon's Night, already covered by Cannibal Corpse in the late 90's. We move on trough the heavy balanced Flash Rockin' Man and the catchy Don't Go Stealin' My Soul Away to make the final stop on the timeless epic Princess of the Dawn, one of their best songs based on another amazing and powerful riff from Wolf Hoffmann.

Balls To The Wall may be their best known and highest-selling album, but Restless and Wild was definitely more influential and still remains my favourite Accept album.

Timeless Metal.

Pros:
Fast as a Shark, Restless and Wild and Princess of the Dawn
Udo and Wolf Hoffmann performances

Cons:
Princess of the Dawn sudden ending



Recent reviews by this author
Marillion FugaziBolt Thrower War Master
Metal Church Blessing in DisguiseDio Sacred Heart
Coroner Punishment for DecadenceScorpions World Wide Live
user ratings (200)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
September 20th 2011


8108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Well guys, this is my second review. As I said on the first one, English is not my first language so sorry for the basic sentences or any grammar mistakes.

I hope you like it.

Digging: Threshold - For The Journey

BigHans
September 20th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First two songs are so badass. m/. great job for not having English as a main language.

TheNotrap
September 20th 2011


8108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks Hans
Yeahh Fast as a Shark and the title track are amazing.

Nagrarok
September 20th 2011


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

HE'S A KILLER
HE'LL RIP OUT YOUR HEART

TheNotrap
September 20th 2011


8108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

m/



Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 20th 2011


6199 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

is amongst the memorable heavy metal moments ever recorded.

is amongst the most memorable



decent review, but avoid track-by-track description on your future reviews.

Digging: Aeon Sable - Visionaers

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2011


20993 Comments


I don't listen to this band as much as I should, what I've heard from them is great.

Good job on the review.

TheNotrap
September 20th 2011


8108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@Voivod Thanks for the grammar info. I will update that in a moment.

@JT . Thanks man. You need to dig this album asap. Classic stuff

Jethro42
September 20th 2011


12478 Comments


I was going to say ''Good first review'' when I noticed it's actually your 2nd one. So yeah, good 2nd review man. It's an easy read for me given that English is a second language for both of us.

TheNotrap
September 20th 2011


8108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks Jethro the PROG WARRIOR!!! ;-)
Yes, it's my second, the first was Dio's Dream Evil.

By the way your Tull pic is very cool

BigHans
September 20th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I cant imagine writing a review in another language.

Jethro42
September 20th 2011


12478 Comments


Hahaha Thanks Notrap. I think I'm gonna keep that one for a big while.
@Hans; I can't imagine writing an (English)review without the expertise of Nagrarok.
That being said, I feel my English is getting improved in time (thanks sputnik)

TheNotrap
September 20th 2011


8108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Well Hans, I sometimes have to speak in English in some business meetings, but my main problem is the writing...describing something as you really feel it in another language sometimes isn't easy...I try my best but I know that most of the message probably is lost in translation ;-)

TheNotrap
September 20th 2011


8108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Your English is just fine Jethro

BigHans
September 20th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah man you did fine. M/

Jethro42
September 20th 2011


12478 Comments


Thanks man. Not always easy though. I'd be often in trouble without Google Translator haha. I can return to you the compliment, bro.
Also, I'm gonna read your Dio's sometime soon.

TheNotrap
September 20th 2011


8108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks again Hans
m/

The most important is the music and this classic album needed a review here.
I believe Restless And Wild is relativity unknown in the US, so I hope someone here will dig it someday.



TheNotrap
September 20th 2011


8108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Cool Jethro. If you have time, listen the album first (I don't know if you know his solo work) and then my short attempt of a review ;-)

Jethro42
September 20th 2011


12478 Comments


As for Dio, I've heard good things about Holy Diver. I even heard some of its cuts via youtube but it's been a while back. Tbh I'm not familiar with his material. Shame on the proghead I am.

BigHans
September 20th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well Jethro Dio is like the opposite of prog m/ but you should still jam Holy Diver and the Last in Line just to say you have heard those true metal classics m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy