Heights
Dead Ends


3.0
good

Review

by fish CONTRIBUTOR (43 Reviews)
September 18th, 2011 | 40 replies | 9,244 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Heights have a good thing going, but their refusal to experiment away from it is often frustrating

UKHC is becoming a crowded scene. Bands such as Gallows, Enter Shikari and Your Demise stand as the poster boys whilst a constantly changing underground keeps its heart beating. Originality is key if a band wants to stand out. Gallows have (or had) Frank Carter’s unmistakeable energy and voice, Devil Sold His Soul mix ambient passages and post-metal into their post-hardcore formula, Enter Shikari blends in electronic music to their sound, et cetera. Luckily, Heights have passed this hurdle. Polished guitars churn out riffs below howled vocals that give a fantastic psychotic edge to the music. Add synthesisers, tremolos on the guitars and short piano sections and you have Heights’ sound- hardcore, intense, but sometimes ambient and strangely beautiful. Occasionally, both.

“Eye for an Eye” is the perfect example of this. The opening riff is almost impossible not to head bang to and the vocals sound emotionally strained (combined with the lyrics, this is particularly effective), following through into the final stages of the song with an epic sounding crunch of guitars, drums and tremolo-ing to create a piece of music powerful in more than just the one sense.

This is where the main problem starts though. Having perfectly crafted your own sound is one thing, but using it is another. When pretty much all of your eight actual songs follow in the same vein as each other, you start to wonder what the point is of listening to half of them when they’re pretty much the same as the rest but simply not as good. “The Lost and Alone” provides driving verses and some variation in vocals and “Letting Go” has some pretty sweet piano sections which work surprisingly well within the context of the song, but for the most part (and even in those examples) Heights follow the same formula of ending with a flurry of synths and tremolos. Sure, at first it sounds great, but by the end it grows almost tiring and you start to wonder if they actually have any other ideas of what to do with their sound.

Dead Ends is by no means a bad album (quite the opposite in fact). The sweet spot between melody and heaviness is found more than just a few times and when it is, the results are incredible. But some songs seem pointless when they’re pretty much just poorer, filler versions of the other ones. Whilst Heights’ potential is clear, there is a nagging worry that they may throw a lot of it away if they can’t find other ways to use their sound and introduce some variety to it.

Recommended Tracks
*Eye for an Eye
*Oceans
*Letting Go



Recent reviews by this author
JMSN †Pllajë†Say Lou Lou Better In The Dark
Sky Ferreira Night Time, My TimeM.I.A. Matangi
The Weeknd Kiss LandNK Nothing To Be Gained Here
user ratings (60)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
ispeakzenglishgood (4.5)
Raw, passionate hardcore in its biggest and finest form....


Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2011



21575 Comments


constructive criticism is, as always, welcome

Digging: Septicflesh - Communion

Adabelle
September 18th 2011



4217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Snap for a 3.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2011



21575 Comments


well if all the tracks were as good as the ones I put in the recs this would be a solid 4

kerrang gave this a 5/5 review. don't really see it

Adabelle
September 18th 2011



4217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There are sections in some of the songs that I just love, their vibe is pretty cool but in places it was just boring and yeah.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2011



21575 Comments


that's basically what I'm saying

it feels like they went "oh sweet this sounds awesome. I think we can get away with just repeating this now"

Josh D.
September 18th 2011



13967 Comments


The only song I've heard is very uninteresting.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2011



21575 Comments


which one was that?

Adabelle
September 18th 2011



4217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, this review really sums up what I think of the album (:

Obfuscation24
September 18th 2011



3939 Comments


Generic UKHC is fun

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2011



21575 Comments


I like the artwork

I'm actually stuck between giving this a 3 or a 3.5

cvlts
September 18th 2011



8954 Comments


has been on my 'to listen' list for awhile.

usually when kerrang dishes out praise im skeptical

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2011



21575 Comments


Kerrang is really weird. they have a shit reader base and their reviews are all over the place. there's no way in telling whether they'll pick out the faults of an album and prey on those or think it's fantastic.
their end of year album list is pretty cool though. deftones topped it last year and they usually have a nice mix of albums.
also since they got a new editor they've been plugging the shit out of hardcore bands

Adabelle
September 18th 2011



4217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Mmmm but even though they are really inconsistent most of the reviewers have pretty decent taste, judging from their end of year lists and stuff.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2011



21575 Comments


Yeah. they must average out well or something. Occassionally they hit the nail right on the head with reviews but for the most part they're all over the place

Kris.
September 18th 2011



12146 Comments


great album and review but calling enter shikari hardcore is ridiculous

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 19th 2011



21575 Comments


Well they're post hardcore and their early stuff is metalcore

bodiesinflight57
September 19th 2011



869 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm biased towards this band but I do like this record a lot, even if it's not as good as the EP

Kris.
September 19th 2011



12146 Comments


Well they're post hardcore and their early stuff is metalcore



and how does that make them hardcore?

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2011



21575 Comments


Well it's the same family

Atticus808
October 18th 2011



16 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Listened to "Eye For An Eye" and they sound pretty interesting. They might have some potential.
However, I haven't listened to their EP, so I'll do that. For this album, I think 3 out of 5 is a good
rating.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy