Edguy
Age of the Joker


2.5
average

Review

by scissorlocked USER (35 Reviews)
September 13th, 2011 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Mr Tobias Sammet and his entourage sound funny no more

Throughout the decade of 00's, European power metal did nothing more but struggling to stand on its' feet. The old titans' prowess deteriorated slowly to remnants of over-digested ideas- Helloween and Blind Guardian steadily held on to that plan, Stratovarious were swallowed by excessive egos- , while new bands showcased extensive capabilities of playing rather fast than interesting (yeah, the Dragonforce type of guys). In the midst of this decay, whereas power metal bands were left only with a glimpse of dignity, there was a group of restless jokers, whose sense of dignity was rather humorous than ethical. This strange attribute eventually stood as a powerful weapon. Their ability to take things less seriously, made them sound silly or naive to hundreds of ears of "respected" power metal fans, whose standards of taste were easily measurable to the enormity of the draconic figures at the cover artworks. Edguy always walked on the tightrope of irony, taking the risk to sound naive or silly at many, however knowing that their music will be enjoyable to those who' ll catch up the joke. Unfortunately, music is more than apprehensive quirkiness at lyrical themes and interviews, and it seems that these are the only fields that Tobias can contribute anymore.

The Age of the Joker can be easily labeled as an typical Edguy album, but with minor amounts of inspiration at any field. The band seems to have left the latest rockstar attitude that characterized Rocket Ride and Tinnitus Sanctus, and trying to lead their sound to their older power metal roots, while still confiding their latest productive techniques and approaches. The result is a mellow and kinda "serious"( for the band's standards) record, that betrays the scars of Tobias' songwriting exhaustion. Either it's the over-involvement with Avantasia, or the face of time grinning at his consciousness, Sammet's songs sound uninspired and pushed. The refrains are not that catchy anymore and the guitar work is similarly passionless, while the vocal lines are equally unenthusiastic. The general consensus for the record resumes in that it sounds "safe" and devoid of wit. However, if we are not to judge Age of the Joker by such standards, we will still find nothing more but an average power metal album. There is nothing groundbreaking or unconventional here- same song structures, same instrumentation, same high pitched vocals.

Yes, as you've probably imagined, Age of the Joker is nothing sort of a unique or interesting kind of work. It still maintains some consistency, in the sense that the word means (the aforementioned) dignity. And that dignity is no more humorous but ethical. More like a product of Tobias' half baked, post-Avantasia mind. Yeap.

Oh, and Robin Hood could have been good if it was smaller...



Recent reviews by this author
Balthazar RatsCaspian Waking Season
Gravenhurst The Ghost in DaylightAU Both Lights
If These Trees Could Talk Red ForestA Place to Bury Strangers Onwards To The Wall
user ratings (69)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
scissorlocked
September 13th 2011


3509 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Video of Robin Hood is the best thing of the album

Dreamflight
September 13th 2011


1760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice read dude.

TS already lacked something, but this one sounds even more uninspired.

Jethro42
September 13th 2011


12438 Comments


Good work scissor, buddy. I guess I don't need to get this.

scissorlocked
September 13th 2011


3509 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

thanks guys

Dreamflight: yeap it sounds completely uninspired.TS had some good tracks- this hasn't

Jethro: bud, you surely don't!!better keep watching the robin hood video


scissorlocked
September 13th 2011


3509 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

or check hellfire club


Dreamflight
September 13th 2011


1760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah Hellfire Club is awsome, probably the best Edguy album so far.

Tyrael
September 13th 2011


20876 Comments


Nice review

Vain Glory Opera will always be one of my favourite power metal albums

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Jethro42
September 13th 2011


12438 Comments


Hellfire Club, Vain glory Opera.. I take good note. As for the Robin Hood video = hilarious, thanks! Also an excellent track.

WashboardSuds
September 13th 2011


5007 Comments


nice review scissor, pos'd

Digging: Gas - Nah und Fern

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2011


6092 Comments


One small typo:


The main complain

complaint


This reads kind of awkward:

The main complain generally seems to be the fact that the record no more sounds edgy and devoid of wit

a humble suggestion:

The general consensus for the record resumes in that it sounds "safe", while it lacks of wit



Otherwise, very good review, pos.

I had listened to Theater of Salvation years ago, but it was mediocre, in my book at least.

I won't even bother with this.

Digging: The Sabbathian - Ritual Rites

Darkvoid67
September 13th 2011


383 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I dunno, for me this was fun but then again if I said Edguy was a band who's discography I knew ell I'd be lying. Excellent review btw, and the vid for Robin Hood is hilarious

scissorlocked
September 13th 2011


3509 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

thanks for the kind words everyone

and Voivod, I'll fix those typos- you've always been helpful!!

Yuma310
September 13th 2011


1656 Comments


struggling

why struggling? it sounds weird

Poet
September 13th 2011


5933 Comments


ugh I can't stand this band.

scissorlocked
September 13th 2011


3509 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ok, you're right Yuma, they weren't struggling

in that case they were just themselves releasing material they found good- and that was crappy on its own

ZippaThaRippa
September 20th 2011


2417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"what the fuck, suck my cock"

brilliant

FictionalFlames
December 27th 2011


1516 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Oh, and Robin Hood could have been good if it was smaller..."

there's a single version of that song....

simonpettersen
January 22nd 2012


272 Comments


Really, I was hoping for a brilliant album. But this is just bad.. tried to review it today, but I couldn't. I'd even call it bellow average.

simonpettersen
January 22nd 2012


272 Comments


Although the "what the fuck, suck my cock" is just roflmao material through the fucking roof!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy