We Came As Romans
Understanding What We've Grown to Be


3.0
good

Review

by Christian Davila USER (3 Reviews)
September 13th, 2011 | 200 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: We Came As Romans doin' what they do best.

When We Came As Romans' debut album, To Plant A Seed came out, critics passed by it, yet some listeners all around the globe fell in love. After the release of said album, they grew a huge fanbase and toured relentlessly, soon headlining tours. They toured for two years with barely any breaks. In between tours, they recorded a new single entitled To Move On Is To Grow. Many listeners were very happy yet still anxious for an album so, in between tours again, they recorded their highly anticipated follow up, Understanding What We've Grown To Be. Finally the album is released but, was the hype too much for the album?

UWWGTB starts with Mis//Understanding, which is also the first song from the album the band released. It is a great start to the album and lets you know they still have heavy songs. As you venture into the album, you hear less and less heavier songs. This whole album is over ran by programming and samples, all of that stuff. It isn't too impressive since every album in the past few years have this. It actually gets annoying half way through the album, but there is a nice orchestral part in 'A War Inside.' The vocals are still the same, Davey delivers very well with his scream and they never seem out of place. Kyle on the other hand, either you love his voice or hate it. If you hate it, this album won't change your mind. He has almost no range at all and seems out of place sometimes.

The guitars are still technical but much more organized. Not like on TPAS where they sometimes pulled out random riffs just to show they had skill. Now they use that skill to successfully structure their songs. The drums are still same drums with some nice fills every now and then. The bass is hardly audible for the most part. I was suprised when i found out lead guitarist, Joshua Moore, is the main lyric writer. He has some great stuff, espicially in the title track which seems to be the best offering on this album. The song is very uplifting and is backed by great music.

This album does show an improved WCAR at some points but, also has some filler tracks. These fillers seem to have been meant for TPAS but were not used, so they brought them over to fill in the gaps on this album. To sum this all up quickly, Understaning What We've Grown To Be is basically To Plant A Seed Part 2. Fans of the band will more than likely enjoy this album while people who despise this band, well i doubt their opinion will change.

Recommended Tracks:
Understanding What We've Grown To Be
A War Inside
Mis//Understanding


user ratings (423)
Chart.
2.9
good
other reviews of this album
Dr. Luke Sarazine (2)
“Have you ever felt like you did everything right, but it still went all wrong?”...


Comments:Add a Comment 
WheresChris
September 13th 2011


21 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Wrote this really quick. Im in school so it was kinda hard to do. I had a better one but it didnt save. Leave me some criticism please, i know i need it lulz.

InFiction
September 13th 2011


3714 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Been waiting for a review of this all day. Not bad, but there's some spelling errors here and there, and a little more detail couldn't hurt.
I started a review of this, need to finish it off.

WheresChris
September 13th 2011


21 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@Infection thanks for the feed back. I would've gotten into more detail but im in school so i have limited time haha. Awesome, i'll check out your review when posted.

Eulogize
September 13th 2011


2969 Comments


The drums are still same drums with some mice fills every now and then.



Oh, and of course my friends are orgasming over this. But that does not surprise me considering they're a bunch of metalcore fags. I can only assume they're overrating the album.

WheresChris
September 13th 2011


21 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@Eulogize im sure it will be very overrated. Thanks for that lol i'll fix it now.

Eulogize
September 13th 2011


2969 Comments


This whole album is over ran by programming and smaples, all of that stuff. It isn't to impressive since every album in the past few years have this.

Spellcheck brah, spellcheck.

WheresChris
September 13th 2011


21 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Damn lol my bad. Im in school so i rushed it. I'll use it on my next review haha

PistolPete
September 13th 2011


3650 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this was a rating I expected, have a feeling I'll like the debut better than this. Good review.

Eulogize
September 13th 2011


2969 Comments


Davey delivers bery well with his scream and they never seem out of place.





It isn't to impressive since every album in the past few years have this.

'to' should be too.





If you hate it, This album wont change your mind.

The t in 'this' shouldn't be capitalized and 'wont' should be "won't."





Okay.. I think I'm done with being an ass.

WheresChris
September 13th 2011


21 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Haha you're not being an ass, you're helping me out.

@pwalcher thanks.

Eulogize
September 13th 2011


2969 Comments


Haha, well I can't find any more mistakes, aside from a couple stray i's that should be capitalized.

Pos'd by the way.

WheresChris
September 13th 2011


21 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Haha well thanks for taking your time to help me out, and thanks for the pos!

lucasjcockcroft
September 13th 2011


3714 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

i completly agree with this. To Plant A Seed Part 2 with Mis/understanding. they played it safe.

WheresChris
September 13th 2011


21 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@lucas exactly haha

Spec
September 13th 2011


27298 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Meh.

RosaParks
September 13th 2011


15050 Comments


album is fucking awful

RobotJesus
September 13th 2011


432 Comments


I don't think I'm going to be able to listen to them again knowing how terrible the cleans are when they are live.

DinoX
September 13th 2011


3582 Comments


to plant a seed 1.1

FrankRedHot
September 13th 2011


6448 Comments


WheresChris?

I dunno, but he should probably be in English class.

PistolPete
September 13th 2011


3650 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This album would get owned if a staff/contributor reviewed it. TPAS at least had a bit of electronica sound in it, this just sounds like plain old metalcore. So they become like everyone else...should get them grreeeeeeaaaatttt ratings



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy