Gentlemans Pistols
At Her Majesty's Pleasure


4.5
superb

Review

by Greg Fisher STAFF
September 7th, 2011 | 34 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Gentlemans Pistols are on fire! At Her Majesty's Pleasure recaptures 1970s heavy rock with its effective fusion of pugnacious rock anthems, slick groove machines and bluesy slow burners.

The Gentlemans Pistols is one of these acts whose major aim is to bring the 1970s-styled hard rock back to the masses. The Leeds, UK-based foursome's highly anticipated sophomore disc totally succeeds in this respect. At Her Majesty's Pleasure defines how a proper retro-rock album should sound like without any trace of being dated or archaic. The band excels in writing upbeat rock'n'roll songs which are highly inspired by the likes of Thin Lizzy, Deep Purple and Kiss to name a few. Every bit of their music feels overbearingly familiar, yet it's impossible to defy the swagger and unadulterated energy the band's going for in their laid-back presentation.

In fact, the album's chief selling point is how exceedingly fun to listen to the music is. That's often the case when the songs revolve around playful blues-inspired grooves, but Gentlemans Pistols back this approach up with top-notch songwriting that prevents the record from being a disposable affair. The opening track, “Living In Sin Again,” bursts with smooth transitions between dueling twin guitar leads being the strong foundation for the tight rhythm section and robust vocals. The act manages to retain this high level of song craft throughout, which makes for the most consistently excellent retro-rock album of the last several years.

The supremacy that Gentlemans Pistols have over other similar bands stems from their ability to make the compositions sound refreshing due to many adventurous progressions. While spaced-out and highly psychedelic “Into The Haze” sports a surprisingly high-octane section in its fabulous bridge, epic “Lethal Woman” ends with a keys-laden, lofty climax. The band also effectively strikes a balance between pugnacious rock anthems (“Comfortably Crazy,” “Your Majesty”), slick groove machines (“Some Girls Don't Know What's Good For Them,” “Sherman Tank”) and bluesy slow burners (“Midnight Crawler,” “Into The Haze”). This diversity doesn't affect the songs which are both aptly constructed and supremely melodic, just as the rock music used to be back in the good old days.

Despite an ounce of over-repetitiveness showing here and there in the riff construction, At Her Majesty's Pleasure presents a slick approach to old-school, 1970s-influenced heavy rock. Gentlemans Pistols recapture every addictive aspect of this kind of music and create an ultra fun, ballsy record that just needs to be heard by all rock fans regardless of their age.



Recent reviews by this author
Wildbirds & Peacedrums RhythmDope Body Lifer
Sparky HumanimationLo-Pan Colossus
Kimbra The Golden EchoDog Fashion Disco Sweet Nothings
user ratings (12)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of my favorite albums of 2011!

Listen to Midnight Crawler:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sX86971DA88

And... I Wouldn't Let You:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6P3Ve84Tr1c

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 7th 2011


21618 Comments


Another great review Greg, pos'd.

Haven't heard this but it sounds like the kinda thing I'd dig.

Digging: Foxes in Fiction - Ontario Gothic

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You should dig it. It's 2011's top classic rock release! And I'm not the only one who says this.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 7th 2011


21618 Comments


Just listened to Midnight Crawler, it rocks hard.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree. The song's spectacular!

TheNotrap
September 7th 2011


8133 Comments


Cool retro stuff

Digging: Funebrarum - The Sleep of Morbid Dreams

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad you like it. This album is a lot of fun.

Jethro42
September 7th 2011


12650 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Midnight Crawler wouldn't be out of place among the greatest April Wine cuts. Just a notch or two more heavy.
Same for I Wouldn't Let You, but this time, song is equally reminiscent of some good old Kiss (good reference from you). Just a notch or two more heavy haha. Excellent songs so far, really!
Yet another great Greg review.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks a bunch mate. I haven't heard a single song by April Wine. That's why I missed the reference. I chose these two tracks just because of how catchy they are. You must give the whole album a spin. It's in my top5 for this year for sure.

Nagrarok
September 7th 2011


8316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First off, let me once again applaud your dedication towards promoting all things that rock hard. I will most probably like this, but then again I expect it won't be too easy to find.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thx. It shouldn't be that hard to find because the album has been hyped by nearly every hard rock publication I know. Deservedly so.

Jethro42
September 7th 2011


12650 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ Nice. Long live to that thread! Let's get a feature!

As for April Wine, I'm not as sure as I were about it haha but w/e
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OR9K6sToG-E
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qzYQ6mGpiEo

Bonus in case I deceive you haha ; 21st Century Schizoid Man cover. Nowhere near as powerful as the original, but still I like it.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YQxckMw-KeY


Nagrarok
September 7th 2011


8316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It shouldn't be that hard to find because the album has been hyped by nearly every hard rock publication I know.


All right then, I'll certainly get to it.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Jethro: April Wine are a good reference. I dig the two original tracks you've posted, not so much the cover. Gentlemans Pistols are even groovier.

Jethro42
September 7th 2011


12650 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I cant wait to listening to the whole album, prolly tonight.
Phew... you share my feelings about April Wine. I detected a similitude instantly but thrice less powerful and quite a bit more popish indeed. Short story about the Canadian band April Wine, they led a prolific career (nearly 7 or 8 LPs or something). I'll try to do a list of their greatests one day (even if Sputnik don't care, but we're used to it haha) Here's a link of a song of theirs I covered in a band in early 80s;
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wEzxa9wzblQ
Band have plenty of hits like that (I don't have much in my comp it seems).

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You're right they're poppier than GP. Still, pretty cool song I must say. You'll find much better on this album though.

Eskate87
September 8th 2011


959 Comments


sounds great. will check it out. keep up the great reviews.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Be sure I will. Nothing's gonna stop me now.

Jethro42
September 9th 2011


12650 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this. album. kicks. major. ass.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ah yeah. I haven't had more fun listening to a new album this year. This is seriously amazing! The new kings of retro-rock are born. Glad you're digging it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy