Thundercat
The Golden Age Of Apocalypse


4.0
excellent

Review

by Christian A. F. USER (2 Reviews)
September 2nd, 2011 | 102 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Cosmogramma’s smooth jazzy distant cousin.

Thundercat or rather Stephen Bruner is an ambitious bassist that blends groovy bass lines with soft harmonic synths to create a heartfelt album that will have something for everyone to enjoy. Stephen Bruner not exactly new to the industry has played with Suicidal Tendencies and worked in the studio with Snoop Dogg and FlyLo.

Nowadays, however; Stephen seems to be making his own music rather then helping others create it. His debut album The Golden Age of Apocalypse is a well crafted synth driven funk album that dampens its toes within several genres like electronica, jazz and technical death metal, just playing even though his bass skills wouldn't render him from doing so. The music can be described as dreamy or mellow, for example the song For Love I Come is a gentle synth oriented song that starts off with warm vocals, relaxing lyrics and soon takes off provided by Stephens milky bass into a planetary stroll of the cosmos and human emotion. Another song that fits this description is Fleer Ultra, a spacey modern bass induced melody that stays mid tempo and lets your ears take a walk in Stephen Bruner’s groovy world.

Every song has one nerve that connects them all, that nerve is the bass.You will hear Stephen bumping to his bass and no matter how set apart the songs may be the bass always brings them all back together. All the songs are very unique and invoke feelings of euphoria however some will cringe and lose its luster after a few listens. For example the song Daylight is a bit of a mess, it feels like there are too many sounds, as if it was trying to imitate something FlyLo would do, also it has little to no replay value. Other songs like It Really Doesn't Matter To You will be average at best simply because its just bass and a couple of synth passages thrown together.

Overall the album is excellent and manages to achieve its goal, which is to make some awesome ass funky music! While there may be a few flaws, its originality and creativity makes up for most of it. TGAA is certainly one of 2011’s most inspired albums so kudos to you Stephen Bruner.


user ratings (110)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
FatChickIrl
September 2nd 2011


4096 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey guys...second review. Constructive criticism would help.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
September 2nd 2011


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tis a great album

Bloodbirds
September 2nd 2011


250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a brilliant album. I just bought it today and have been listening to it since morning.

DoubtGin
September 2nd 2011


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

is ok

psykonaut
September 2nd 2011


3913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's pretty awesome

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
September 2nd 2011


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Only real flaw is some of the singing feels a little awkward

jefflebowski
September 2nd 2011


8257 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review is a tad short, and needs more detail on specific tracks and what exactly makes them good rather than just saying they're 'average' or whatever

Athom
Staff Reviewer
September 2nd 2011


17225 Comments


god i love me some funky jazz. this is so early 80s. i love it!

Rev
September 2nd 2011


9439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you son of a bitch


I started my review for this yesterday

PistolPete
September 2nd 2011


3644 Comments


pretty easy to like, figures you would be the one to put this review up eh? =P

logo on the cover is ballin'

Digging: Skyharbor - Guiding Lights

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
September 2nd 2011


15743 Comments


shit's pretty cash

Rev
September 2nd 2011


9439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I want a shirt, but why does Brainfeeder think that all their artists' shirts need to be between $30-45? That's bullshit


Why would somebody shell out $40 for a Teebs shirt? It's ridiculous

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
September 2nd 2011


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

$40? They all autographed or something...

Rev
September 2nd 2011


9439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no, they're just plain old regular black shirts with the dj's logo on it


it kind of pisses me off. I wanna represent and support my favorite djs/producers in the LA beat scene, but they make it pretty fucking tough to do so

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
September 2nd 2011


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Would be badass to have the red Thundercat logo on a black t

Rev
September 2nd 2011


9439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, but $30 is a bit much, especially for an artist on an independent label that not too many people know of

FatChickIrl
September 2nd 2011


4096 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah 30 bucks for a band tee is pretty ridiculous and jeff you are right I will put more detail in the songs.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
September 2nd 2011


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Mhm, I'd do about a max of $20

Rev
September 2nd 2011


9439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

same

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2011


31491 Comments


Album owns

Review doesn't really say much though

Digging: Hyperdub - Hyperdub 10.4



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy