Bombay Bicycle Club
A Different Kind of Fix


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jonny Hunter CONTRIBUTOR (103 Reviews)
September 1st, 2011 | 29 replies | 10,664 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Bombay Bicycle Club learn to move past their Flaws.

Bombay Bicycle Club’s first album was unexpected, in fact it really came from nowhere. It was fresh and manic in just how big the sound coming from the LP was. Needless to say, NME and Radio 1 soon picked it up (only just after everyone else) so promptly started to drip-feed the general population the more pop orientated tracks. Bombay Bicycle Club saw this popularity coming and thought to themselves “right, we’ve going to defy expectations and make an acoustic album”. And so, in trying to be different they did the same thing as almost every other band, they made a *** second album. The vocals just weren’t suited to being quiet and the guitar wasn’t brilliant either.

Nevermind though, “A Different Kind of Fix” represents possibly the best step the band could have made. They’ve taken a lot of what made their first LP so good, combined it with what they learned from the second album and given it that little bit of pop sheen to make it accessible for everyone. This does mean that a few songs aren’t quite as good as they could be, but the LP as a whole is definitely interesting enough to hold your attention.

Although there are acoustic sections in many of the songs, Bombay Bicycle Club have improved them dramatically since Flaws. The vocals don’t sound as nervous and whiny and have a bit more range to them than they have done; and now that Bombay Bicycle Club know fully acoustic songs aren’t their bread and butter, they break off into more alt-rock choruses in songs such as "Beggar". At the same time, while songs like “Bad Timing” and “Favourite Day” don’t quite live up to the amount of epic to be found in “Magnet” and “What if?” on the first LP, the band make up for this by having a very rhythmic structure that exaggerates the build-ups and keeps everything moving at a solid pace.

Despite the general dumbing down of their sound, they've managed to pack a lot of emotion into the LP. This is mostly due to the contrast brought about by the variation in the LP. This variation was definitely not something I was expecting. The last track, “Still”, sees Bombay Bicycle Club venturing deep into ambient/electronica territory. They even distort the vocals James Blake-style so it fits with the new tone, which is impressive from a band who’ve never shown a hint of interest in anything other than the classic 4 piece indie arrangement. Even the first single of the LP, "Suffle" sees experiments in vocal sampling and some very funky piano.

In the end, while A Different Kind of Fix doesn’t quite match up to the bar first raised by their debut, the difference in quality is only slight. This LP is certainly not something to missed and if the popularity of the live performances are anything to go by we'll get to hear more than our fair share in the coming months.



Recent reviews by this author
Throwing Snow MosaicSOHN Tremors
A Winged Victory for the Sullen Atomos VIIPlinth (UK) Music For Smalls Lighthouse
The Correspondents Puppet Loosely StrungSon Lux Alternate Worlds
user ratings (121)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Since it's a new release I thought I'd cut out all the standard "look at me I'm expressing myself in words" crap that I usually adhere to and just give you the facts.

I am very proud of myself for the summary though, and yes I know it's too obvious to be actually funny, just give me this one.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2011



7326 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review. I think that this is comfortably the best thing they've done.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Might have come off like I'm a bit too into their first album. It's probably true.

But yeh, this is still a very good album.

Adabelle
September 1st 2011



4254 Comments


Pos'd, although I'm not sure about the semi-colon you used in the third paragraph.

Keep it up man.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2011



7326 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

When I first heard their debut I dismissed it as yet more Strokes-fuelled landfill indie. Once I listened to it a few more times though it grew on me a little, and I now think that it's a decent, though unremarkable album.

I expect this will grow on me in the same way, though like I said I think it's comfortably their strongest so far.

Flaws was decent but just seemed a little throwaway to me. It might have been a better idea to simply release an acoustic EP.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Pos'd, although I'm not sure about the semi-colon you used in the third paragraph."

I reserve the right to bend punctuation to my will.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ It's more "padded down" I guess, they lost a bit of energy.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definately do, I've just been talking to a load of people who saw them at Reading. Apparently they were amazing.

Adabelle
September 1st 2011



4254 Comments


Lol, talking to people..

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Okay, typing/ reading facebook/ sneaking in at night to read personal diaries.

Same difference.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Review now accessible through the medium of audio if you're into getting talked to by an ill, slightly posh English southerner. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V2g4xDOrbZo&feature=feedu

No takers? Thought not. xD

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2011



7326 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lol, I think you've probably made the first sputnik audio-review. Congratulations.

"A SHIT second album"

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2011



7326 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

By the way, listening to that it seems like you say "Bombay Bicycle Club" far too much. You might want to edit a few of them out.

Adabelle
September 1st 2011



4254 Comments


Listened and noticed you missed a capitalisation in the third paragraph and put an extra one in your summary. Oh and you probably live like an hour away from me, maxxxxx.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I do say it a bit too much as well, odd since it's so awkward to say. Can't edit the video but I'll do it for the text.

Also, Adabelle didn't get my pun! D:

Adabelle
September 1st 2011



4254 Comments


Ohhhh, if I had actually listened to the band ever, then I might have, fair enough.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was so proud with that pun as well.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2011



7326 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Don't worry I understood, you didn't completely waste your time :p

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Life=complete.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 2nd 2011



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Note to self: do not submit a review at a time just before everyone else does.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy