Bonobo
Animal Magic


4.5
superb

Review

by Andru Okenuf USER (31 Reviews)
August 27th, 2011 | 40 replies | 7,671 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: You will find each time you listen to this recording that you relax further and further

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Bonobo, the stage name of the English DJ Simon Green, has developed an enviable reputation amongst fans of ambient, chillout and trip hop after churning out four successful LPs as well as a dozen EPs and contributions on a host of remix albums. Though Animal Magic was released before Green had garnered any serious attention, he had already mastered the ability to provide his listeners with incredibly smooth and easy to listen to sounds.

The summary is taken directly from the backing vocals of the track ‘Shadowtricks’, and its message, along with just about every track on the album, would not be out of place on a self-hypnosis tape. Bonobo albums would also not be out of place on an “albums to go to sleep to” list because they have the ability to calm and bring you to a serene environment, yet his albums are anything but boring or uninspired. ‘Sleepy Seven’ seems to be a near perfect marriage of distant vocals, percussion, chimes and piano, hypnotizing and lulling us to the whims of the album. But it is outflanked by the upbeat and loungy ‘Gypsy’ as well as the rhythmically mellow ‘Terrapin’, both of which serve as instant hooks.

Animal Magic also has a fascinating use of distant vocals. “Didn’t mean to tell you, but I guess you got to know” echoes in the background of ‘The Plug’, while “rhythm captivates me, I feel it stimulate me” repeats itself behind the beats of ‘Sugar Rhyme’. Such loops bring you deeper into a trance, falling prey to bonobo’s insatiable hypnotic powers.

The image on the cover, a colorful conglomeration of images both human and natural, shows how disjointed colors or sounds can come together to form something sublime. Though never shocked by incredible solos or any particular experience, Animal Magic manages to grab hold of you and never let go, and for that, this is a recommended listen for any and all.



Recent reviews by this author
The xx CoexistThe Future Sound of London Lifeforms
Tricky MaxinquayeAnais Mitchell Young Man in America
Exoplanet Nothing Divides Us HereNicolas Jaar Don't Break My Love
user ratings (104)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
ThroneOfAgony (4.5)
The “magic” of it all directly corresponds to this album....


Comments:Add a Comment 
aok
August 28th 2011



4294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A little short yea, but this album really needed a review. This is my favorite by Bonobo and such an excellent release

Scenegirlsdontbang
August 28th 2011



106 Comments


Very nice, "Silver" is one of the best trip hop songs ever IMO

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2011



30873 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Think you mean deeper and deeper in the summary

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

aok
August 28th 2011



4294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ehrm yea that would make more sense. i was looking everywhere on google for what exactly they were saying because i knew that didn't make much sense

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

awesome review, i need to check this out

twlichty
August 28th 2011



3407 Comments


love me some Bonobo in the mornin'


aok
August 28th 2011



4294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

definitely adrian. i like this even more than black sands

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
August 28th 2011



1588 Comments


Summary still seems a bit off to me, but otherwise succinct review for an album long in need of a review.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2011



17920 Comments


Each time you listen to this album you'll find yourself relaxing further and further.

there ya go

aok
August 28th 2011



4294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i'll trust you chan, just cause i can't make out what the hell he's saying there at all.

cheers daniel =)

BetaAquilae
August 28th 2011



248 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This NEEDED a review. It's my favorite Bonobo album, although they're all fantastic.

"Very nice, "Silver" is one of the best trip hop songs ever IMO"
Also this.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
August 30th 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i dunno I'm not liking this nearly as much as Black Sands. It's on the border of 3/3.5 for me right now, I'll rate it after another listen.

aok
August 30th 2011



4294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

there's a trance this puts me in that can barely be described in words for me (hence, not super thrilled with my own review). such an excellent album that really captures me as well as nearly anything released in the last decade.

but apparently i like this more than most ; )

scissorlocked
November 1st 2011



3508 Comments


good review

This album is fun, alongside with a dozen of ninja tune records that need to be reviewed

Digging: John Roberts - Ausio

aok
December 19th 2011



4294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

album's still so good . will probly get into dial m for monkey more so i can review it

Rev
December 20th 2011



9380 Comments


Dial M isn't near as good

aok
December 20th 2011



4294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's still real solid but it's just not what i look for when i listen to bonobo

Rev
December 20th 2011



9380 Comments


Dial M for Monkey has the best name but worst music

Rev
December 20th 2011



9380 Comments


but Dexter's Lab!

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 20th 2011



30873 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Dial M for Monkey has the best name but worst music


Did someone shoot your ears off?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy