Cain Marko
At Sea


3.5
great

Review

by Statrick Pickles USER (63 Reviews)
August 21st, 2011 | 12 replies | 3,493 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: We can close our eyes and wallow in nostalgia, but we know we'll miss these days tomorrow.

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Cain Marko tell it exactly as it is. "The universe can go without another song about drinking!" rings out at the start of 'At Sea In St. Paul', track one from their self-released debut EP At Sea, and they're absolutely right about that. Bands have been singing ballads about drowning out sorrows in a bottle or partying with friends for about as long as they've been crooning about love and sex, and the members of Cain Marko immediately acknowledge their lack of originality in that regard. This forthcoming admittance of their shortcomings is comforting - for one, it grounds the band on a humble and relatable level and, in doing so, allows for an immediate rapport between them and their audience. More importantly, it puts that much more importance on ardent and honest songwriting and musicianship, an aspect of their music that these Michigan kids have most certainly followed through on.

At Sea is concise and deliberate, pumping out its four tracks in about the time it takes to boil a pot of water, yet Cain Marko manage to squeeze a good deal of bite into this span. Singer Chris Lidstone's words dig deep as he belts out, "We'll grab the sky by the throat/release it when dawn breaks," with a fiery energy and Carpe Diem attitude a la Latterman or Small Brown Bike. The magnetism of At Sea is hard to ignore, and though it doesn't exactly explore any new musical soundscapes, that's not really it's point. Lidstone's purpose with his songwriting is twofold - not only does he urge the listener to remain wistful, young and impassioned, but does so while trying to live up to these same expectations himself. Punk-rock mentality bleeds from closer 'Let's Go Kill the Bastard', with a sense of no-regrets exasperation bursting from every pore as the Cain Marko boys team up to shout out, "it's us against the world forever!" It's been done before, and hell it's probably even been more impressively articulated, but the sincerity this time around makes it feel pretty damn right. Consistently straightforward instrumentation complements the genuine nature of the songwriting, plugging away unremittingly across the EP's short span. All in all, At Sea showcases a young Cain Marko as a group with all the right tools and ideas, including their obvious propensity to pump out high-octane punk rock tracks. At this early point in their careers, one can only hope they can maintain the same unfeigned energy throughout a full-length release sometime in the future.



Recent reviews by this author
Binary Heart SplitsvilleApe Up! Kemosabe
Joyce Manor Of All Things I Will Soon Grow TiredAnti-Flag The General Strike
Good Old War Come Back As RainSnowing Pump Fake / Scherbatsky 7"
user ratings (2)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
iFghtffyrdmns
August 22nd 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Originally posted at:
http://www.muzikdizcovery.com/2011/08/album-review-cain-marko-at-sea-ep.html

Stream/Download At Sea on Cain Marko's bandcamp:
http://cainmarko.bandcamp.com/

super solid EP, rad rad band. enjoy!

Irving
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2011



7163 Comments


Hmmm, what is this muzikdizcovery website that you (and apparently Eli Kleman) keep writing for?

Solid review mate. Pos. In the absence of consistent solid talent from the userbase pool, I'd say you have a decent chance of a promotion if they're doing them this year.

iFghtffyrdmns
August 22nd 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's a somewhat similar site, basically with the aim of getting the word out about new bands. If nothing else, it's an opportunity to help out up and coming bands, and also to write something other than just album reviews. Casey (site owner) might leave something in your shoutbox about it Irv, I told him he should.

And that's a huge compliment Irv, I seriously appreciate that. I'm just concerned that my writing is really gonna slow down in a week here when school starts and it's back to no free time ever ever ever. Seriously though, pretty sure a good 2/3 of the site is flabbergasted as to why you're not Contrib status there buddy. Was really hoping your lion king review was gonna be the lucky one for it! haha

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2011



16134 Comments


BITCH, I'M THE JUGGERNAUT!

iFghtffyrdmns
August 22nd 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Had to google that one Angel at risk of looking like an idiot.
Guess I now know where the band name comes from...

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2011



16134 Comments


Yeah, I just know my X-Men nomenclature lol.

Nice review.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2011



7163 Comments


I'm just concerned that my writing is really gonna slow down in a week here when school starts and it's back to no free time ever ever ever.

Yeah I know the feeling. But do try and make some time for it. It doesn't have to be much - one review a week, and consistent casual posting on the forums and review threads, just to remind folks that you're around. Believe me when I say that the most important thing about being a good reviewer/writer is consistency. Stop, and you lose your momentum - it can take weeks to regain your mojo.

You can definitely write, and trust me people are taking notice of you already (I certainly have). Try your very best to keep it up - I'd hate to see another solid talent end up disillusioned and unpromoted because of real life duties.

Cheers mate =)

iFghtffyrdmns
August 22nd 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sounds like some damn good advice, I'll keep it in mind and do my best to actually follow it.
Suppose it wouldn't be too hard to try and at least get a review out every Sunday while I nurse my hangover and do my best to avoid watching the Bills get their asses handed to them...

Irving
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2011



7163 Comments


Suppose it wouldn't be too hard to try and at least get a review out every Sunday while I nurse my hangover and do my best to avoid watching the Bills get their asses handed to them...

There you go; that's the spirit =)

iFghtffyrdmns
August 22nd 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i heard...that...motherfucker had like....30 goddamn dicks.

porch
August 22nd 2011



8453 Comments


I'd hate to see another solid talent end up disillusioned and unpromoted because of real life duties.


totes. seen too many of these dead eyed family men slip through the cracks of the sputnik promotion system

iFghtffyrdmns
August 22nd 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dead eyed family men
oh god the thought of me being a father and/or husband is truly terrifying.
don't ever bring it up again or I might not make it long enough to see my 35th...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy