Ready Set Fall!
Buried


3.5
great

Review

by ncguitar USER (1 Reviews)
August 20th, 2011 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Not groundbreaking, but well executed metalcore.

Ready, Set, Fall! is an upcoming Italian metalcore band. This is their first EP, and while it's not the newest stuff you will find, it's well produced, powerful at times, and has its quote of catchiness. It lasts about 15-20 minutes and contains five songs, one of them (Sincerely, Mine) being a more mellow and dark one. It flows well for an EP, and has a few shining moments. Song structure is creative at times, and the EP as a whole ends up as an improved version of your typical genericore band.

Instrumentally, it's solid. Screamed vocals are raw and powerful, and clean vocals are passable, though it can get a bit old at times. Guitars have a catchy tone, and they do add their share of heaviness into the music. Riffs are not very technical, but do their job just fine. Drums are pretty good in my opinion, energetic and creative, definitely the drummer has skills. Bass is actually hearable and even adds its share at spots, which is not frequent in metalcore music. And combined the five elements (Guitar! Drums! Bass! Vocals! Strings!), we get a well executed song.

Lyrically, it's also satisfactory. The EP mainly speaks about a society that has no control of itself nowadays, and how we often fall into a vicious circle in it.

I won't let this end,
I've promised myself,
I'll break, this doom with my hands
My will is to bend
Our ghost in the past,
Deserve, much more than this hell

Lyrics are good in a sense that they're not full of overused cliche phrases (example: "this is the beginning of the end" or "there is a happier world out there, don't fear"). Honestly, there is not much left to say, as this is only an EP.

Overall, it's a solid debut for Ready, Set, Fall!. It's raw and heavy, but also melodic, and long enough to not get old, though it apparently lacks lasting value. They definitely have potential here, now they have to use it more creatively.


user ratings (35)
Chart.
3.5
great
related reviews

Memento
recommended by reviewer
For The Fallen Dreams Relentless

Comments:Add a Comment 
ncguitar
August 19th 2011


2426 Comments


Yay my first review. Don't go too harsh.

taxidermist
August 20th 2011


7210 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

It was a pretty cool release. The only songs I thought had any lasting power were prob Skyscrapers and Buried alive. The other ones were solid, but didn't catch my attention very much. It's executed a lot better than other metalcore. His "singing" voice gets tiring after a while, though (imo).

iFghtffyrdmns
August 20th 2011


7047 Comments


welcome, new reviewer. Some critiques on the writing, if I may:
1.) The first paragraph is completely unnecessary and not all that well written, I'd suggest just taking it out altogether. The review would be better without it.

2.) "I'm glad the riffs are not filled with generic downstroke riffs but actually worked out." I would take out that sentence too. It's both overly-colloquial and not that important, and it sort of kills the flow you had going in that paragraph.

3.) Your paragraph about the lyrics is a little too informal in tone, as well as doesn't really go into much. Maybe in the future include some lyric samples, hopefully tied into the overall theme of your review. My best advice to you is to read lots of staff/featured reviews and get used to how they flow and the sorts of things they cover.

Not a bad review for a first though, people have done much much worse, I can promise you that. Just a few things to work on. Have a pos, hope to see more from you in the future :]

ncguitar
August 21st 2011


2426 Comments


thanks for the advice, I'll work on it :P

foxblood
August 22nd 2011


6797 Comments


good review, wouldn't have known it was your first if you hadn't said so:] i guess i might as well check this out

foxblood
August 22nd 2011


6797 Comments


didn't like the clean singing at all. the screaming is not too exciting either. i think bands like My Ticket Home do almost the exact same thing but much better than this

dannydropb
September 3rd 2011


38 Comments


The clean parts make me think melodeath for some reasons. For some reason, foreign bands (these guys are from Italy) have their own "sound," even within one genre.

1SecondToDie
September 27th 2011


35 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I agree with reviewer on the most parts, hope these Italian guys won`t disappoint me with the upcoming album. They are really have much potential to become great metalcore band.

r0bbb
September 28th 2011


250 Comments


i like skyscrapers a lot

MichaelKamps
October 11th 2011


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'll admit, I hate it when I get "Listen to -insert band name-" messages on youtube, but I was extremely pleased when I actually gave them a chance when they sent me a link of 'The Temple Is Me.'
Then they released the video for Skyscrapers, which absolutely blew me away.
The whole of Skyscrapers made me fall in love with these guys. The whole song had a certain depth to it that I just couldn't get enough of.
Christopher Volpi's vocals are absolutely phenomenal, which is quite new for me, seeing as I hate most metal-core band's clean vocals. (i.e. Miss May I or We Came As Romans.)
You can actually hear the bass in their songs, the riffs are quite good, and most songs are catchy without being mainstream.
Overall, I liked your review.
I just woulda rated it higher.

phcusf
March 16th 2012


67 Comments


Not bad.
Not bad at all.

Spec
June 6th 2012


27190 Comments


never heard this

Toondude10
January 21st 2013


4141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The only unfortunate thing...THIS IS NOT IN ITUNES!

But seriously, this is a damn good release.

Digging: Heaven Shall Burn - Veto

TheMoreira
February 21st 2014


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Coming back to this after a good couple of years and getting my ass kicked around a whole lot. This is actually good

Toondude10
February 21st 2014


4141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yet you gave this a 2.5

did you listen to their new album?

TheMoreira
February 21st 2014


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah that's what i implied with "this is actually good", not bumping the score up until i figure what this is for me but it might go up to a 3.5 tbh

Not yet, but i will

Toondude10
February 24th 2014


4141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well hopefully you'll enjoy it!

BigPleb
February 24th 2014


37200 Comments


Generic as fook.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins on Io

TheMoreira
February 24th 2014


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And thus i 3.5'd this. This is actually a pretty strong debut EP!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy