Demolition Hammer
Tortured Existence


4.5
superb

Review

by OFace USER (15 Reviews)
August 15th, 2011 | 118 replies


Release Date: 1991 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A great album to thrash to if you like to thrash hard.

Here’s the short story. Demolition Hammer were a Thrash f*cking Metal band from New York that don’t really get mentioned a lot which is a huge shame because they thrashed really Goddamn hard. We can sit here forever and pontificate about the intricacies of thrash and the numerous layers of complexity hidden within but at the end of the day there’s only three things that are important and most of them involve how Goddamn hard a band thrashes. The others have to do with precision and accessibility/listenability, and the best of the breed manage to combine all these elements in a brutal whirlwind of beautifully morbid thrash-tactic anger and shredtacular riffage. I can name you about 20 bands who thrashed really hard but lacked the other elements that demand ongoing respect and thrash f*cking metal credibility. “Tortured Existence” supersedes the mediocre because it’s one of the most brutally accessible albums to come out of the genre.

Now this isn’t to say that “Tortured Existence” is an “accessible” album by any other standard outside of its inherent genre, nor is it one of the most accessible albums in the genre itself. The key here is this is borderline death metal (take a look at the song titles), and the music is essentially an unstoppable assault of f*cking brutality. They like to talk about the standard stuff like worshipping vicious beasts and slaughtering wooly rhinos and aborting babies and sh*t like that, stuff that Anthrax and Metallica don’t do but Cannibal Corpse certainly does. The difference is Demolition Hammer kind of sounds like a cross between Death (subject matter and intensity), Slayer (rapid fire verse vocals), and Anthrax (shouted chorus gang vocals), only they thrash a hell of a lot harder than the latter, are denser than Slayer, and more accessible than Death. It’s kind of the best of all worlds. In short, “Tortured Existence” thrashes Goddamn hard and is unquestionably brutal and intense but somehow manages to be easy to listen to as long as you know how to properly thrash hard.



Recent reviews by this author
Budgie BandolierWilson Phillips Wilson Phillips
brokeNCYDE Guilty PleasureDiamond Head Lightning to the Nations
Budgie In for the Kill!UFO Lights Out
user ratings (155)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
OFace
August 15th 2011


173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hi guys this needed a review

BigHans
August 15th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this thrashes hard gon thrash

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2011


6487 Comments


Hilarious review, have a pos : )

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

BigHans
August 15th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks, posted this under my alt cause I thought it was a terrible review wrote it in about 7 minutes.

BigHans
August 15th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guy who turned out not to be Fade so now Im curious as to who you really are Psychopatholigst/AfterTheBreakdown

BigHans
August 15th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ah, close enough

MisterSteel
August 15th 2011


453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

.44 Caliber Brain Surgery might be one of the best song titles I've ever seen, album is awesome. Review was hilarious, by the way.

BigHans
August 15th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dude riffs on this are sick.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2011


6487 Comments


thanks, posted this under my alt cause I thought it was a terrible review wrote it in about 7 minutes.


I thought I recognized this style from somewhere ;)

BigHans
August 15th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Mister Steel, yeah Clercqie, I dont think anybody else in the history of the site uses as many cuss words as I do in reviews.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2011


21048 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This thrashes seriously hard.

pos'd m/

HenchmanOfSanta
August 15th 2011


1884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck yeah Demo Hammer. This doesn't tear my face off the way Epidemic of Violence does, but it still slays.

Digging: Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels 2

BigHans
August 15th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jamie have you heard this before today?

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
August 15th 2011


16137 Comments


It's nice to see you getting into some true thrash.

BigHans
August 15th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

m/ Angel

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2011


21048 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I listened to this and Epidemic of Violence a while ago, out of the two I prefer this.

iFghtffyrdmns
August 15th 2011


7047 Comments


awesome review
m/
thrash on

alachlahol
August 15th 2011


7501 Comments


you actually capitalized gpddamn every time you wrote it whats the point when youre already blaspheming

BigHans
August 15th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dude I dont know I suck at grammar thought it would be alright whatever bro

Ovrot
August 15th 2011


10510 Comments


m/

Digging: Satan's Satyrs - Demo 2010



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy