Catamenia
Eternal Winter's Prophecy


4.0
excellent

Review

by pizzamachine USER (211 Reviews)
August 13th, 2011 | 37 replies | 5,347 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: tasty cheese is tasty.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Back in the day, when an album was called cheesy, it was seen as a compliment of sorts. Of course, some albums would exceed the level of cheese, but more often than not, cheesy music meant epic music. Eternal Winter’s Prophecy is undeniably cheesy, but this also makes it epic. You know the albums that make you want to don your Viking attire, grab your battle axe, and lay waste to a random village? This is that kind of album. Eternal Winter’s Prophecy may have nothing to do with Vikings, but there are some things that are so epic, they unleash the ancient man beast within. Rise, my brethren, and onward we shall set our sails into the bleeding sky.

To listen to this album is to realize its bombastic qualities. It’s melodic black metal with piercing shrieks, awesome riffs, and the like. What really sets the album overboard with bombast, however, is the melodic goodness. The guitar firstly provides the thrashing, but it also creates catchy, memorable tunes when combined with the keyboard. Although the keyboard instantly makes the album much cheesier, that is the curse of melodic black metal, and it is completely unavoidable. However, what it lacks in subtlety, it gains in a flawless performance. The melodies are so vivid and, well, melodic, that one can easily picture singing accompanying the songs. This is how melodic black metal is done when done properly.

One has to really scratch their head to come up with any negative aspects to this album, but even then, none are found. Eternal Winter’s Prophecy features melodic black metal that is more effortless than flipping a switch. If anyone was to complain about this album, their complaints would bounce off as merit-less. Any complaints about this album would originate from a person’s personal musical preference, and it is quite impossible to blame the album. I wouldn’t say that it’s up there with the best, but it certainly rocks hard. Check it out.



Recent reviews by this author
Jeremy Soule Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion SoundtrackRa Critical Mass
Gemini Syndrome LuxSirenia Perils of the Deep Blue
Rainbow (KR) Rainbow Syndrome Part. 2Part Myth Part Legend Almagest Codex
user ratings (19)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
August 13th 2011



12568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good morning Sputnik! :] Time to have a shower.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2011



8590 Comments


good morning! :] i just had me a shower and then a bath, it was relaxing and cleansing :]

review's pretty good, short and to the point, which is what i imagine the album is like so i guess it works. in any case, you've included just about everything. nice!

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

iFghtffyrdmns
August 13th 2011



7047 Comments


"You know the albums that make you want to don your Viking attire, grab your battle axe, and lay waste to a random village?"

I better not listen, I can't afford to go back to the big house again.


Nice review pizza, concise yet detailed and clear, as always :]

TheSpirit
August 13th 2011



16662 Comments


Not really a fan of this band or "is melodic black metal" in general but pretty good review dude. I enjoy the brevity, it makes them very reader friendly.

Digging: Sexdrome - Grown Younger

Tyrael
August 13th 2011



20416 Comments


tasty pizza is tasty

pos

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2011



8590 Comments


now i want pizza, darn it :[

iFghtffyrdmns
August 13th 2011



7047 Comments


seriously dude I'm starving.
but if I leave my current position that means I can no longer listen to Big Kids, nor can I post on Sputnik.
dilemma dilemma

Irving
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2011



7011 Comments


Dude do you do nothing but pump out reviews all day?

Digging: Pixies - Indie Cindy

Irving
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2011



7011 Comments


Jealous, much.

pizzamachine
August 13th 2011



12568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks everyone :DDDD

Don't worry Irving, I do other things too! ;)

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2011



8221 Comments


Holy crap pizza you're up to 134 already!? Damn man, you must be experiencing a boring summer :D.

Digging: Metsatoll - Karjajuht

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2011



17348 Comments


Morning Crimson is an infinitely better record than this but this still gets my cheesy keyboard side all wet.

Digging: Monolake - Interstate

eyehategod
August 13th 2011



493 Comments


lol hyper is gay

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2011



17348 Comments


Cafeful i'm already all moist.

eyehategod
August 13th 2011



493 Comments


yeah like the one time i almost listened to it i got the biggest rager hey hyper i lost my phone help me find it

Hawks
August 13th 2011



33363 Comments


Good review man. I haven't listened to this band in ages.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2011



17348 Comments


Bootz probably took it cause she hates you.

eyehategod
August 13th 2011



493 Comments


haha she probably did man THAR FUCKIN BOOTZ

eyehategod
August 13th 2011



493 Comments


shut up hawks you are gayer than me

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2011



17348 Comments


Probably hiding it in her rectum you're gonna have to go in there and get it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy