Avenged Sevenfold
City of Evil


4.5
superb

Review

by Ben. K USER (8 Reviews)
August 13th, 2011 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Very different to Waking the Fallen, the singing, and the style changes quickly from their original genre, however it was a great effort to pull off such a change, and pull it off well.

City of Evil is Avenged Sevenfold's 3rd studio album, and it came at a time when Avenged Sevenfold were still struggling for their big outburst into the common metal world. To most true Avenged Sevenfold fans, Waking the Fallen is still the best, however their popularity really blossomed after the release of City of Evil. The genre, singing style and use of instruments changed rapidly from their Metalcore origins (Waking the Fallen, Sounding the Seventh Trumpet), to a more traditional, Melodic form of Heavy Metal.

The most notable difference, is the difference in Matt Shadows singing. The rumor that he ruined his voice from failing to scream correctly on the earlier albums is incorrect. On the bands DVD All Excess band manager Larry Jacobson comes out saying that M.Shadows chose to stop screaming. His voice contains a more generic metal tone that varies from a deep, gravelly tone, to a high-pitched nasally style of singing, best heard on Burn it Down and Bat Country. There is a lot of layering and dubbing on the voice (Beast and the Harlot, Seize the Day) where he combines his two main tones to create an interesting finish. The singing is good, however, it has nothing on the superb clean/dirty vocals that came from Waking the Fallen, especially the clean parts in the song 'Desecrate through Reverence.'

The songs are fast and the guitars are shredding. Syn and Zacky make a superb guitar duo, playing quick-paced melodies or melodic solos throughout parts of nearly every song, including the verses of some tracks,(Trashed and Scattered.) The Rev uses the double-pedal like a madman, and Johnny Christ's bass is now brought into the mix. Where Waking the Fallen and Sounding the Seventh Trumpet had only a few solos and bridges throughout the entire album, City of Evil seems to be made up OF solos and bridges. The songs have an all-over-the-place structure, which is interesting, as you never know what is coming next. Is it a solo? Could it be a bridge? Or another chorus featuring Rock/Pop influenced chords and catchy singing (Bat Country)? It leaves the listener wondering, and often amazed, wistfully thinking they could play guitar like Synyster Gates and Zacky Vengeance. The riffs are fast-paced and arguably some of Metals best riffs. Strength of the World and Betrayed portray the ability to write these amazing riffs.

This album is very different to Waking the Fallen, and those people who hate the new style of Avenged Sevenfold most likely wish that this album was never made, as City of Evil is the origins of the latest releases that are classed as 'Mediocre.' However, this album is arguably their breakout album, and although some may hate it, without this album you may not have had a friend to talk to about Waking the Fallen. Overall, the singing is interesting, the guitars wondrous, and the drumming insane. A great effort for a great band.


Recommended songs
Burn it Down
M.I.A
Seize the Day
Betrayed
Bat Country



Recent reviews by this author
Megadeth Rust in PeaceYashin Put Your Hands Where I Can See Them
Muse AbsolutionBreaking Benjamin Saturate
Avenged Sevenfold Waking the FallenBullet for My Valentine Scream, Aim, Fire
user ratings (3210)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Proworks31
August 12th 2011


334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Woops. Stuffed up the Bold tagging on Recommended songs.

ShadowRemains
August 13th 2011


20700 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i don't even...

Digging: Banks - Goddess

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2011


50355 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Fanboy


Digging: The Brave Little Abacus - Masked Dancers

ZombicidalMan
August 13th 2011


1797 Comments


Album is definitely not a 4.5.

Acanthus
August 13th 2011


9542 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've been there before, so take my word for it: comma splices ARE bad and will be the death of your reviews.

Digging: Falls of Rauros - The Light That Dwells in Rotten Wood

Spec
August 13th 2011


27167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dude yeah. Album rocks so hard.

renegadestrings
August 13th 2011


1442 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not a bad album and a decent review. but you recommend Betrayed??? over The Wicked End? heresy

Proworks31
August 13th 2011


334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes, I am a fanboy, I'm merely expressing my opinon.

Thanks, to be honest I reckon the Wicked End is boring until the second half of the song where the orchestra kicks in (and it becomes goddamn epic.)

It was my first review, so criticism is appreciated and I respect others opinons.

Proworks31
August 13th 2011


334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Atleast I don't write Avenged Sevenfold fan-fiction ;)

KILL
August 13th 2011


71750 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

m/

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

Tyrael
August 13th 2011


20876 Comments


Good review for a first. Keep it up!

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

twlichty
August 13th 2011


3407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

some good guitar playing and drumming on this album.

pretty bad album

Proworks31
August 13th 2011


334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ehh, its a hit and miss.

Ikarus14
August 13th 2011


537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not terrible for a first. You didn't really need the trivia about Matt's voice not being ruined by a blown blood vessel (or whatever these morons came up with).

Wheelah
August 13th 2011


756 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was one of the albums that got me into metal, so I can't rate it lower than a 4. Haven't listened to it in a long time, though.

Overall, the review is pos worthy. But there's a few awkward passages:

"It leaves the listener wondering, and often amazed, wistfully thinking they could play guitar like Synyster Gates and Zacky Vengeance. "

What do you even mean here? I think you could just leave out the second half of the sentence, as it makes no sense.

iFghtffyrdmns
August 13th 2011


7047 Comments


oh theeeese guys...

newjunkaesthetic93
August 13th 2011


1871 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Sounds like a fanboy trying not to sound like a fanboy. Not gonna neg though cause it's well written enough.

A7XEric
August 13th 2011


308 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The Wicked End. Nuff said.

toxin.
August 13th 2011


12410 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Doesn't sound like a fanboy not trying to sound like a fanboy.
Sounds like someone who likes the music defending his point of view. I'll pos it.
The only problem with the view is when you allege that they have some of metal's best riffs. Honestly, I hear the same kind of riffs (especially during the verses; you'll notice what I mean when you listen to a few of the songs) in all sort of metal songs, good and bad.

Their solos are pretty cool. Pretty fast, which makes up for how the actual notes aren't really interesting. Nevertheless, this deserves a pos, despite random grammatical issues (comma splice, capitalizing "melodic" for no particular reason, etc.)

Proworks31
August 13th 2011


334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well I kind of have to be on the defensive side coz everyone is shitting on this album and in my opinon its a good album.
Yes I have a few awkard moments I need to fix up, these small things often decieve my eyes when Im editing.
Thanks for the feedback.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy