Dream On, Dreamer
Heartbound


3.5
great

Review

by BroManCaptainGuySirDylan USER (19 Reviews)
August 12th, 2011 | 22 replies | 14,855 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: As far as the genre goes, you could do a lot worse than 'Heartbound'.

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Not much more than a year ago, I criticized Dream On, Dreamer’s EP 'Hope' for being generic, and sounding too similar to the competition, despite being a fun overall listen. I went on to say that they could go on to do great things, provided they find a sound more their own. Fast forward to present day in which they have released their debut album 'Heartbound' and you can see their change as a band. But by adding too much, have they distanced themselves even further?

A rundown of Dream On, Dreamer's sound can be described as heavy vocals, cleanly sung choruses, chugging guitars and added synth. They’ve utilized each member more this time around, Michael McLeod gaining more spotlight with his clean vocals and Daniel Jungwirth on keys emphasizing his role by adding synth passages and in some cases, Dubstep inspired breakdowns. An example of this is best found on leading single 'Downfall' which is essentially 4 minutes of metalcore mush. It’s not a bad song, in fact it’s quite catchy, but it tries to be more than it can. The intro sounds more like Emmure than anything and the clean vocals arrive out of nowhere, all the while a drastic overuse of synth is scattered around aimlessly, resulting in a jumbled up breakdown fest. It’s definitely a fun listen, but from a critical viewpoint it’s a horrible mess of a song.

Luckily, the album holds its redeeming tracks. The short introduction of 'I' leads into the fantastic 'Yourself As Someone Else', which played together, create a monster of an opener, showcasing the bands overall talents and song writing abilities. 'A Path of Its Own' doesn’t necessarily do anything out of the ordinary, but it does it well and doesn’t overstay its welcome. Finally, the last two tracks of 'Come Home True Love' and 'Lifestream' end the album on a positive note, respectively.

That leaves the remainder of tracks up for personal outlook. I found most of them to be enjoyable while they lasted, but not very memorable overall. This seems the main problem of most bands in the genre, as they can all play their instruments well (Dream On, Dreamer being no exception) but occasionally fall into the pitfall of not being able to create attention grabbing music.

Considering what I said earlier, it’s kind of ironic that they’ve managed to find their own unique sound, and yet their progress as musicians is very minor. However, in a genre becoming increasingly popular and flooded with artists hoping to be the next big thing, Dream On, Dreamer are doing things their way; some of it right, some of it wrong, but at least we know they’re having fun doing it. As far as the genre goes, you could do a lot worse than 'Heartbound'.



Recent reviews by this author
MGMT MGMTCode Orange Kids Love Is Love // Return To Dust
The Amity Affliction Chasing GhostsThe Faceless Autotheism
Will Haven Voir DirePsycroptic The Inherited Repression
user ratings (124)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
cameron432 (5)
Originality in post-hardcore? Huh, what a concept....

related reviews

Hope
recommended by reviewer
House Vs. Hurricane Perspectives
Dream On Dreamer Hope

Comments:Add a Comment 
InFiction
August 12th 2011



3589 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thought I'd have my say about the album. Feedback is greatly appreciated.

InFiction
August 12th 2011



3589 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'd say it can be pretty hit or miss, depending on the listener. Maybe check out one of the tracks I suggested.

IfYouRun
August 12th 2011



290 Comments


Seeing these guys on the UK leg of the Rise tour with Memphis May Fire, will have to check them out

IAmKickass
August 12th 2011



840 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I really don't think they've found their own unique sound, this sounds exactly like 90% of bands in their genre. It's ashamed, the 'Hope EP' was fantastic.

charlie15
August 12th 2011



132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I like this more than hope. In saying that though this took me longer to really appreciate.

IAmKickass
August 12th 2011



840 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I'm on about my fifth full listen and still bouncing between a 2.5 and 3, leaning more towards average though.

InFiction
August 12th 2011



3589 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I felt that way originally, Kickass, but it took me a while to get into Hope originally, which I gave a 3.

foxblood
August 12th 2011



6797 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

hey, a review with a reasonable score. thank you

InFiction
August 13th 2011



3589 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You're welcome, fox.

Amstel
August 13th 2011



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album of the year for me!

bornmanh
August 14th 2011



64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yourself as someone else slays! I'd say the lead single is probably the weakest song here. Fun listen

TechieCore
August 15th 2011



662 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Pretty generic metalcore if you ask me, as is every other band on Rise's roster.

Elitist's Caves EP or I The Breather's These Are My Sins own this album.

CrimsonLies
August 29th 2011



1699 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Great review and I agree with you on a lot of things although I ended up buying the album.

Not overly original but there's potential.

Digging: Craw - Bodies for Strontium 90

HaloDude442
September 10th 2011



688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you like metalcore, especially within the "scene", this is pretty awesome. It actually is growing on me, as it gets more enjoyable the more i listen

Shuyin
September 13th 2011



10442 Comments


dunno for originality, but their breakdowns with a taste of dubstep were actually preety cool

Digging: All the Empires of the World - Sunscraper

Shuyin
September 13th 2011



10442 Comments


album does get a bit boring after 4 or 5 songs

sspedding
October 13th 2011



4715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

these guys sound like a better version of House Vs. Hurricane

IAmKickass
November 24th 2011



840 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

^ Now that I think of it, they do.

LoganM
December 13th 2011



1 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Heartbound was such a huge letdown for me because of how much I liked the Hope EP. They just sound so bland and unoriginal now. I thought your review was well written though.

Vakarian12
December 14th 2012



3576 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Its a good album, but 'Blinded' 'Come Home True Love' and 'Lifestream' are the only songs I can come back to and enjoy the hell out of.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy