Lmfao
Sorry For Party Rocking


2.0
poor

Review

by Conrad Tao EMERITUS
August 9th, 2011 | 261 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: They just wanna see you shake that and "get crunked" and fucked up enough to actually buy their album.

After the inundation of its presence in the clubs and on the radio, I can finally say: I get "Party Rock Anthem". Like, I understand why it's a worldwide hit (and why the Melbourne shuffle will now forever be known as the "party rock dance/shuffle"). There's something extremely universal and inclusive about that chorus of "party rock is in the house tonight / everybody just have a good time." Instead of bragging about how they get into the club for free and how the bouncers recognize them (although the duo does "rap" about that stuff on other tracks), LMFAO just invite everyone to get totally fucked up. Which is fine, and almost fun to boot; that synth hook has a way of sounding pretty damn good after a few shots. So there you have it - a begrudging admission that "Party Rock Anthem" does indeed deserve to be popular. It ticks. It hits the right spots. It tries too hard, especially during that painfully predictable buildup, but it's not the horrid abomination I thought it was. As for Sorry For Party Rocking, LMFAO's second proper album and the one from which "Party Rock Anthem" is taken from, however…well, it's a tough call. On the one hand, the disc doesn't sound nearly as awful as one might expect, considering other albums of its ilk (The E.N.D., whatever Far East Movement's full-length was called). On the other hand, that's hardly a compliment.

In fact, it's probably a more damning criticism - most of the time, Sorry For Party Rocking is distressingly boring. Not that "Party Rock Anthem" or the duo's other half-decent single, 2009's "Shots", aren't numbingly repetitive - but at least they're propulsive and demand people to move. Songs like "Champagne Showers" and the album's title track are dull pastiches of better tracks, while "All Night Long" is a cliché-ridden misfire. But, I mean, it isn't even a dramatic misfire - I was hoping for, at the very least, exhilarating badness, but this shit is just limp. For the most part, when LMFAO try to actually express emotions, they fail miserably. Hey guys, here's a tip - "She's outta space like Anakin / body like a mannequin" is not, contrary to whatever fucked-up logic you're operating under, a remotely attractive, let alone thoughtful, image! Then again, it's far too generous to assume that Sorry For Party Rocking intends to be taken seriously; look no further than that cover art. Tunes like bonus track "Put That A$$ To Work" and "Sexy and I Know It" are mindless, to be sure, but they work because of their close alignment to their creators' basic disposition as, ahem, artists - that is, the basic fact that Stefan Kendal Gordy and Skyler Husten Gordy's trashy "electro-hop" is meant to be gleefully shallow. Y'know, like every other awful electronic collective starting up in some teenage douchebag's basement in suburban Los Angeles - except that the Gordys are actually the son and grandson of Berry Gordy, founder of Motown Records.

Which shouldn't matter, really, except that these guys' privilege does seep into their hedonism. "Flying the world, filling up my passport / I'm in the zone, martini's strong, my tall is short, but my money long" goes the poorly auto-tuned "One Day"; listening to the song is a bland and occasionally painful experience, but reading the lyrics is practically torturous. This stuff is queasily indulgent and it never steps into camp territory, giving the entire product of Sorry For Party Rocking a disturbingly polished sheen. "I'm gonna celebrate, 'cause I'mma get you one day," somebody sings (it's impossible to distinguish between the two through all that processing), but let's face it - if the girl being addressed ever existed in the first place, the Gordys probably never cared about her. To them, women are commodities, and although misogyny is hardly anything new in hip-hop, it's atrocious to see it so rampant in party music, intended to be enjoyed by everybody at different levels of intoxication. The one egregiously bad moment of "Party Rock Anthem" is the line "step up fast and be the first girl to make me throw this cash", because it isn't even meant to be funny - it's just plain moronic. Ultimately, Sorry For Party Rocking is the worst kind of bad album, offering no captivating moments of sonic excrement and presenting plenty of awful crap upon further listening. I suppose that's something of a compliment, though. At least there is something beneath the surface of these songs. Too bad it's unexciting trash.



Recent reviews by this author
Sufjan Stevens All Delighted PeopleBeyonce Beyonce
Kanye West YeezusGatekeeper Exo
Azealia Banks FantaseaLaurel Halo Quarantine
user ratings (212)
Chart.
1.5
very poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
Goatlord
August 9th 2011


405 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Ear cancer.

conradtao
Emeritus
August 9th 2011


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

why did i write this review

iFghtffyrdmns
August 9th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

why DID you write this review?

conradtao
Emeritus
August 9th 2011


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

because i wanted to do a review that was fun and silly because i'm sick of doing "serious" reviews

SeaAnemone
August 9th 2011


20833 Comments


sometimes the analyzing of music like this irks me-- like it's just odd that people take the time to listen this and critique it like they would a bon iver album


not that it's above critique simply because it's not meant to be critiqued in the first place, i just find it weird that someone would still go into this looking for "something beneath the surface of these songs"

conradtao
Emeritus
August 9th 2011


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

oh well

does that imply that if we didn't bother looking into bon iver's overcooked folk we wouldn't find as much to like

and if so, does that make the music better or worse

furthermore, is this all a frankly stupid discussion since music criticism can never hope to even grasp the full power of artistic intent

food for thought.

Obfuscation24
August 9th 2011


3939 Comments


SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS
SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS
SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS
SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS
SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS

EVERYBODYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

IAmKickass
August 9th 2011


840 Comments


Everyday I'm shuffling.

alachlahol
August 9th 2011


7501 Comments


because i wanted to do a review that was fun and silly because i'm sick of doing "serious" reviews


this review isnt fun or silly and is just as serious as your other reviews

SeaAnemone
August 9th 2011


20833 Comments


does this imply... ?
i didn't mean to imply that but i agree with the sentiment

and if so...?
not sure if you're looking for a yes or no answer but i'd go with no, i think

furthermore...?
JUST as stupid as any other discussion regarding music criticism, right?

_____________


i mean the purpose this album serves is just much less artistic than (the rather random example I gave) bon iver
i find that i dont really judge music like this, personally
like last night and most of this weekend i was listening to country-pop sorta stuff (music i would never listen to when alone, basically) and it didn't bother me in the slightest just because the situation was one where this fit well

SeaAnemone
August 9th 2011


20833 Comments


because i wanted to do a review that was fun and silly because i'm sick of doing "serious" reviews


and yeah I'd say that this is much less "fun" than many of your more "serious" reviews simply because you take something so mindless that's meant to be 'fun' and approach it from a serious, critical angle.

conradtao
Emeritus
August 9th 2011


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

that's a discussion about context, but my point is, if I even have a point, that if something sounds good in any sort of context there's probably some quality to it

alachlahol
August 9th 2011


7501 Comments


catchiness does not indicate quality in any way

conradtao
Emeritus
August 9th 2011


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

catchiness does not equate enjoyment

did that thought ever enter your brain

iFghtffyrdmns
August 9th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

hey don't sweat it conrad, we've all gotta review something stupid that really doesn't need to be reviewed at least once in awhile

just getting your fix in, I get it.

conradtao
Emeritus
August 9th 2011


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah, I guess, and trying to give an album that hasn't had much critical scrutiny some due instead of just saying POP MUSIC BAD or whatever

SeaAnemone
August 9th 2011


20833 Comments


I'm not saying POP MUSIC BAD at all
just the opposite
I think it's odd (not like inherently wrong or bad or anything) that anyone would take a critical look at an album like this
I mean 'giving it its due' just sounds... wrong

i mean either way it's not a big deal obviously, was just the prevailing thought i had while reading this

SeaAnemone
August 9th 2011


20833 Comments


and I don't mean to get nitpicky over scores but why the 2?
you don't seem to point out any redeeming qualities, really
just 'this is bad and this is bad but oh hey maybe that's what they were trying to do'

conradtao
Emeritus
August 9th 2011


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Weirdly enough I would argue that a 1 or 1.5 is better because at least it implies some exciting levels of bad but this is just kinda dull. It isn't even that horrible it is just boring as shit. Hence the 2

and no I would argue that saying "pop music doesn't try to be 'deep'" is an intellectual copout

alachlahol
August 9th 2011


7501 Comments


catchiness does not equate enjoyment

did that thought ever enter your brain


no it didnt and i have no idea what point youre making with that statement



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy