Unearth
The March


4.0
excellent

Review

by Devin Earl USER (10 Reviews)
August 3rd, 2011 | 14 replies | 2,912 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hail The Shrine!!!

4 of 6 thought this review was well written

The Boston, Massachusetts quintet Unearth, have released their third full length album titled The March.

First and foremost, The March is still a metalcore record. It relies on breakdowns, thrashy hardcore riffs, and amazing solos that Unearth has very much developed over the years into their own sound. The March is a crisp, energetic, attitude ridden album that only Unearth has the ability to produce. For me, the fact that you can pick up an Unearth record and expect good to great work is very re-assuring in a world where metal bands are constantly changing their identities in order to become more hip.

Despite The March being metalcore, it is still more metal than core in every respect. In fact, it might be easier to call this a modern metal album with hardcore overtones given the level of awesome solos that pop everywhere in just about every song. Not many metal American bands seem to pull off solos like Unearth does, and it’s a very telling virtue that they possess. In addition to the solos, Derek Kerswill is an excellent drummer in the same style as Killswitch Engage’s Justin Foley, meaning awesome fills while the guitarists interweave some great riffs. Also, very few drummers can lead into a breakdown like Derek can, which is a plus.

Probably one of the only drawbacks for this album is that the band tends to rehash some old riffs from previous albums. While this isn’t especially awful considering the riffs still have mileage in them, it makes the album a bit stale in comparison to being the great album it could have been. “Crow Killer” I think relies a bit too much on the breakdowns throughout, but does have a killer solo (like most songs) in its midst. Overall, this isn’t really a huge deal because Unearth does manage to spice things up with a few new riffs here and there that make us wanting more, oh, and did I mention the solos? Basically, don’t expect anything new on this album. In fact, if I am being honest, I’d have to say this is their weakest album to date, though this doesn’t mean much because all of their previous albums are quite good. Essentially, if it weren’t for the tight musicianship and amazing solos, this might be much less palatable.

Recommended Tracks
"My Will Be Done"
"Hail The Shrine"
"Grave of Opportunity"
"We Are Not Anonymous"



Recent reviews by this author
Unearth Darkness in the LightUpon a Burning Body The World Is Ours
Decrepit Birth PolarityI, the Breather These Are My Sins
Sevendust Cold Day MemoryEmmure Speaker of the Dead
user ratings (612)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Damrod EMERITUS (4)
An excellent effort by Unearth, going further on the road leading from the dead-end called "metalcor...


Comments:Add a Comment 
AfterTheBreakdown
August 3rd 2011



7106 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's been a while since i've reviewed. suggestions and tips please.

AfterTheBreakdown
August 3rd 2011



7106 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah dude. My Will Be Done says it all.

fsharptrit0ne
August 3rd 2011



4814 Comments


is that the one with the tapping intro?

someguest
August 3rd 2011



20340 Comments


Come on dude, this album is awful.

Digging: Your Old Droog - Your Old Droog

FearThyEvil
August 3rd 2011



12286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Too many boring parts within this album I'm dropping it to a 3 some songs save it from being painfully average.

FrankRedHot
August 3rd 2011



6448 Comments


I use to think this was bad, until I heard their latest album.

Carnifex
August 3rd 2011



1918 Comments


Album is bland, Oncoming Storm and III shit all over this.

AfterTheBreakdown
August 3rd 2011



7106 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The oncoming storm is still the best.

ShadowRemains
August 3rd 2011



20252 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i remember when i thought this was good...

kerswill kinda sucks js

Pr0nogo
August 4th 2011



373 Comments


Review is running the line between average-lengthed and too short, so I won't post or neg yet. Decent description, though, good job on that.

I haven't rated this band yet, so time to fix that.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2011



6941 Comments


Sorry about the time it took for me to get back to ya bud, had to pull a 12 hour trial shift yesterday, (chefs apprenticiship), but i'm here now so it's okay lol.

The Boston, Massachusetts quintet Unearth, have released their third full length album titled The March.

I don't know why but introductory sentences like this bug me, maybe combine this in the first paragraph, for example:

Hailing from Boston Unearth release their third full length album titled The March. Being a metalcore record, it relies on the use of breakdowns, thrashy guitar riffs .........


The March is still a metalcore record with Despite The March being metalcore

I don't know about using still in that sentence. And you mention metalcore twice. But i do notice the description is expanded in the second use. ie. the 'more metal than core' bit.

And i'm not sure whether you meant for it, but your last paragraph has a switch in persona. Starting with: “Crow Killer” I think relies a bit too much on the breakdowns throughout, but does have a killer solo (like most songs) in its midst.

Bolded section could do with a re-wording, but it does have a killer solo that compliments the music well and draws the attention of the listener
__________________________________
Your descriptions have come pretty far man, and this is my favourite Unearth album thus far. Your ideas are all good, we just got to get you to expand on some points. Well done bro, pos.


AfterTheBreakdown
August 4th 2011



7106 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks ipod.

MalleusMaleficarum
August 4th 2011



13852 Comments


album sucks, review sucks, nothing to see here

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

FearThyEvil
August 4th 2011



12286 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

album sucks, review sucks, nothing to see here

Fuck off.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy