Aspid
Extravasation


5.0
classic

Review

by Spanky USER (8 Reviews)
July 28th, 2011 | 290 replies


Release Date: 1992 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is one the greatest albums ever.

Thrash metal is a genre known for having a myriad of obscure bands that have released classic material, and this album is no exception. Aspid, a Russian metal band, released Extravasation in 1992. I have never heard better technical thrash and this album is, from my point of view, one of the greatest albums ever released.

This band has acquired something of a cult following from this album. The album is ridiculously rare; I cannot find any copies of the album and do not know of any website or store currently carrying it here in Canada. Luckily, the entire album can be found easily on youtube.

The band opens the album with "Intro", a song quite unlike the rest of the album. It is much more peaceful than the rest of the album. After the two minute intro, however, you are subjected to some of the fastest, most complex, and most intense metal ever.

What I liked:
The entire band is extremely skilled. Many bands are known for their skilled drummer, guitarist, etc. With Aspid, every member stands out. They all play more than adequately. The vocalist has a unique, almost impish voice, and can hit extremely high notes (opening of Towards One Goal, anyone?). The bass is clearly audible (a clear problem with many metal bands) and the bass lines are all beautifully intricate. The guitar riffs are always inventive, dynamic, and complicated, and the drumming - well, the drumming is probably the greatest I've ever heard. The drummer sounds like he has more than two arms - that is how quickly he is playing. Every band member is given time to shine in the album.

What I didn't like:
...

Recommended Tracks
All of the songs are great, but these stood out the most for me:
Towards One Goal
Give Me (Play for A Ballet)
Hey, you!
Extravasation
Comatose State

Verdict
Everybody who reads this view that hasn't heard this album needs to look this album up.



Recent reviews by this author
Autopsy Severed SurvivalRichard Strauss Metamorphosen
Sodom Agent OrangeCrionic Different
Mercyful Fate Don't Break the OathIron Maiden A Matter of Life and Death
user ratings (215)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
LaughingSkull (2.5)
meh....

facupm (5)
Feel the Thrash...

recommended by reviewer
Toxik Think This

Comments:Add a Comment 
lyon1535
July 28th 2011


1259 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Still a mediocre reviewer at best, but I wanted to introduce this album to any thrash metal fans who haven't heard it yet.

AfterTheBreakdown
July 28th 2011


7153 Comments


i will check this out.

AfterTheBreakdown
July 28th 2011


7153 Comments


not bad.

TheSpirit
July 28th 2011


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For what it is, this review is pretty good so you have my pos. Still, I suggest maybe going for a more traditional format, what you like and dislike (even though you have none) shouldn't be separated into sections.

That being said, I'll definitely look into this, there has been lots of thrash talk around here lately and it's kinda getting me in the mood for some.

Digging: Wreodan Heahl - Laecig

ZombicidalMan
July 28th 2011


1864 Comments


Shall check this out

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2011


16137 Comments


Sweet. Good to see someone reviewed this thrashterpiece.

DoubtGin
July 28th 2011


6752 Comments


This is one the greatest albums ever.
This is one the greatest albums ever.
This is one the greatest albums ever.
This is one the greatest albums ever.

lyon1535
July 28th 2011


1259 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I liked it so much I had to repeat that several times.

HenchmanOfSanta
July 28th 2011


1878 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is in my to-get list. I've been getting more into tech-thrash over the past couple of months.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

Ovrot
July 29th 2011


10501 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

In my top 5 albums ever.
but..



fuck you i was gonna review this

Digging: Satan's Satyrs - Demo 2010

wyankeif1337
July 29th 2011


6739 Comments


4.8

what the hell

wyankeif1337
July 29th 2011


6739 Comments


also, sweet dig ovbro

Ovrot
July 29th 2011


10501 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

everyone loves this album wyan
until wonarabbit and his bro's get in here and fuck it up

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2011


6196 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

As i like tech-thrash more than anything in metal, i will check this out.

Good call for the review.

Digging: Alkoholizer - Free Beer... Surf's Up!!!

TheSpirit
July 29th 2011


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn, I didn't know this was so highly renowned, i really need to get on listening to this

Pyosisified
July 29th 2011


2450 Comments


review an old school thrash album



faggots will rate

KILL
July 29th 2011


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5


i will check this out.

*listens to one riff*

not bad.


Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

KILL
July 29th 2011


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

as for the the review, you write with passion but you gota talk more about the riffs bro

not a 5 though

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2011


6196 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Listened to the first tracks, this is really awesome...

The "European" type tech-thrash i really like, in the vein of Mekong Delta for example.




Edit: It is hard to believe that this came out in 1992, so fresh despite its 20- years of existence...!!

vanderb0b
July 29th 2011


3473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Didn't expect this to get a review here, album is wonderful. Probably the best metal album to come out of Russia.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy