Falling in Reverse
The Drug in Me Is You


3.0
good

Review

by micaewww USER (3 Reviews)
July 28th, 2011 | 20 replies | 5,775 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Mediocre release from a band that could do so much more

0 of 14 thought this review was well written

had high hopes for this album, I mean when you're locked inside a cell 24/7 with nothing to do creativity should flow trough you're brain like lightning, instead we get another mediocre metalcore/post-hardcore release.
Don't get me wrong, I love Ronnie's voice, it was the best part of escape the fate, but this album is too vocally focused.

The album starts with Raised by Wolves, the first single released, and it's one of the better songs off of this album, featuring a synth part that leads to a screaming verse bashing escape the fate (like most of the songs), after the song ends Tragic Magic kicks and it sucks, the singing is annoying the lyrics are even worse.

Eventually you will end up on the second single "the drug in me is you", the guitar riffs aren't anything exceptional but are nice, the chorus is catchy, the solo is all about speed but it's okay.

I'm not a vampire was the first song I clicked when the album was streamed online, and it's actually another of the best songs on the album, the lyrics again are all about Ronnie suprise suprise!

Good Girls Bad Guys is one of the worst songs next to Tragic Magic, the lyrics annoy the *** out of me the whole song I felt like it was written by a 13 year old pervert, afterwards you get pick up the phone the only thing that saves this song is the bass lines that gives the song a really groovy sound and because it was one of the most diverse songs on the entire album.

(Here is where the album gets better)

Now track 7 "Don't mess with ouija boards", and if you like the heavyer songs that Escape The Fate had, you will listen to this over 9000 times!
This song belongs to this albums songs that where written with seriousness, and that's what makes it so damn good.

Sink or Swim, this song isn't really memorable or anything it's good of a couple of listens nothing more, when this song ends you get "caught like a fly" it as a fair musical style (i'm serious), and I think it suits this album because of it's diversity.

The album highlight "goodbye graceful", is the best song it doesn't do anything new to the genre itself but shows how the band can really write a serious and heavy song, that blends with the album, the vocals in this song overshine almost all the others, the solo is crazy and the riffs are the basic chug-chug we all know from metalcore.

The album ends with "The Westener", to be fair I was pumped from track 7 to track 10 and when this song started with "I was born one night in december" I was really digging it but as the song progresses it gets worse and worse.

Recommended Tracks:
Raised by Wolves
Don't Mess with Ouija Boards
Goodbye Graceful
Caught Like a Fly

Stay-Away Tracks:
Tragic Magic
Good Girls Bad Guys


user ratings (533)
Chart.
2.5
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
micaewww
July 28th 2011



30 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

First review, also how do I delete previous reviews ?

Dismantle
July 28th 2011



398 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

don't continue reviewing

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2011



4507 Comments


"Mediocre release" yet it still gets the "Good" rating?

DeathByDaydream
July 29th 2011



546 Comments


I hate to be a dick, especially since I'm a terrible reviewer myself...

but there's a lot of things wrong with this.

TheSpirit
July 29th 2011



17159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really wanted for this to be good. Shame

Digging: Rx Bandits - Gemini, Her Majesty

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2011



30873 Comments


I think even if the reviewer was under the age of 10 that wouldn't be enough to justify this review

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

IfYouRun
July 29th 2011



291 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lots of vocab mistakes here so i'll try help you correct them.
_______________________________________________________

I had high hopes for this album, I mean when you're locked inside a cell 24/7, with nothing to do, creativity should flow through you're brain like lightning. Instead we get another mediocre metalcore/post-hardcore release.
Don't get me wrong, I love Ronnie's voice, it was the best part of escape the fate, but this album is too vocally focused.

The album starts with Raised by Wolves, the first single released, and it's one of the better songs off of this album, featuring a synth part that leads to a screaming verse featuring lyrics bashing Escape The Fate (like most of the songs). After the song ends Tragic Magic kicks in and it sucks, the singing is annoying and the lyrics are even worse.

Eventually you will end up on the second single The Drug In Me Is You. The guitar riffs aren't anything exceptional but are nice, the chorus is catchy and the solo is all about speed but it's okay.

I'm Not A Vampire was the first song I clicked on when the album was streamed online, and it's actually another of the best songs on the album, the lyrics again are all about Ronnie, suprise suprise!

Good Girls Bad Guys is one of the worst songs next to Tragic Magic, the lyrics annoy the *** out of me, the whole song I felt like it was written by a 13 year old pervert. Afterwards you get Pick Up The Phone, the only thing that saves this song is the bass lines that gives the song a really groovy sound and because it was one of the most diverse songs on the entire album.

Now track 7 Don't Mess With Ouija Boards, and if you like the heavier songs that Escape The Fate had, you will listen to this over alot!
----------------------
The next sentance doesn't even make sense so i took it out
----------------------

IfYouRun
July 29th 2011



291 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Next up is is Sink or Swim, this song isn't really memorable or anything, it's good for a couple of listens and nothing more. When this song ends you get Caught Like A Fly. It has a fairly different musical style, and I think it suits this album because of it's diversity.

The album highlight Goodbye Graceful, is the best song. It doesn't do anything new to the genre itself, but shows how the band can really write a serious and heavy song. It does however blend with the album. The vocals in this song overshine almost all the others, the solo is crazy but the riffs are the basic chug-chug we all know from metalcore.

The album ends with The Westerner, to be fair I was pumped from track 7 to track 10 and when this song started with "I was born one night in december" I was really digging it, but as the song progresses it gets worse and worse.
____________________________________________________________

You need to write these up in word so that when you make silly vocab mistakes and the like, it can point it out to you. You made so many that it is incredibly hard to read. Also you havent really done much towards describing the actual music, mentioning a bass line, and a solo or two. Why not mention HOW Caught Like A Fly is different? Or how it compares to Dying Is Your Latest Fashion and Escape The Fate's recent work without Ronnie?
Also, you kept changing whether or not to put song titles in capitals or non capitals inside speach marks. Choose one, don't go between the two.

Hope i have been of some help.

Loanshark
July 29th 2011



333 Comments


Is this even a serious account?

SCREAMorphine
July 29th 2011



1751 Comments


At least you had a try

North0House2
July 29th 2011



5812 Comments


I mean, I could understand what you were saying in this review, but at the same time the wording greatly confused me.

Also, you separate almost every sentence into its own paragraph lol. Try to keep at least three sentences per paragraph... I prefer eight sentences in a paragraph, but according to some of my old literature teachers, three is the minimum.

Digging: The Number Twelve Looks Like You - Mongrel

Enotron
July 29th 2011



7695 Comments


worst album title i've ever seen

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I bet this is terrible. Great review though, youre good at this.

Satellite
July 29th 2011



20678 Comments


your review is bad and you should feel bad

Digging: Dikembe - Mediumship

Sconza
July 29th 2011



256 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Your review is worse than this album

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2011



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"your review is bad and you should feel bad"

i dont know why but i seriously laughed incredibly hard at this. could have something to do with Sat's avatar. #winning
as always

iFghtffyrdmns
July 29th 2011



7047 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

no no good review, keep it up!

Willie
Moderator
July 30th 2011



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I checked this out. I actually liked the music, but the vocals were terrible.

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

Scoot
July 30th 2011



17681 Comments


This just reeks of terrible.

Digging: Unjust - Glow

DarthMann
September 3rd 2011



13476 Comments


Your reviewing skills are fantastic I MUST say



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy