Fleetwood Mac
Mr. Wonderful


1.5
very poor

Review

by Furapika USER (20 Reviews)
July 26th, 2011 | 24 replies


Release Date: 1968 | Tracklist

Review Summary: No steps forward, several steps back.

Fleetwood Mac Discography: Part II

If Fleetwood Mac’s debut album saw them playing the blues with style, grace, and dignity, then their sophomore album is the complete opposite, perhaps being the textbook definition of a sophomore slump. This is certainly a shame; the band’s bluesy, if slightly generic sound, worked most of the time on their debut album, forgoing the shortcomings of the genre. Unfortunately, the Peter Green-led Fleetwood Mac succumbed to blues conventions with Mr. Wonderful, their second release in 1968, resulting in a record that is best left forgotten.

There’s just no excuse for the laziness in songwriting and performing on Mr. Wonderful. Green’s was vocally on top form on Fleetwood Mac, providing genuine emotion and showing a wide range that propelled the music forward. Here he is content to be vocally conservative, sticking to gruff mannerisms, and it often sounds like Green is drunkedly wandering through the music. The production adds further insult to injury, as it muffles his voice rather than amplifying it and makes the instruments sound murky. The vocals aren’t entirely the problem, however. The guitar leads here are repetitive and uninspired, as is the bass, and the foundation isn’t helped in any way with the addition of a horn section, which merely adds an extra layer of cheese to an already-subpar album.

Sadly, there are few standouts on Mr. Wonderful because of these flaws; the songwriting here is several levels below their debut album. Although there are only a few covers on the record, you’ll struggle to differentiate them from the originals because of the weak songwriting. Clifford Adams and Peter Green teamed up to write most of the songs, which makes one wonder if Adams was part of the reason that the album falls flat. Peter Green’s previous songwriting was always above-average, but the material here is decidely generic. Take this for example: four songs begin with an identical riff lifted from an Elmore James song (although only one of these was penned by a band member). Possibly the only highlight on the record is “Love That Burns,” which could have been a golden standout if it didn’t run too long. It’s an evocatively low-key piece led by piano and a swaying brass-section, a quality blues song that’s a definite gem of their early catalog.

Overall, Mr. Wonderful is an album that can only be recommended to the completist or blues rock-devotee. This record is an uninspired exercise in blues that is as unappealing as animal feces, but taking into regard how difficult it is to create a good song in a genre as oversaturated as blues rock, perhaps it can be excused. Perhaps.

Mr. Wonderful’s Fleetwood Mac was...
~ Peter Green – vocals, guitar, harmonica
~ Jeremy Spencer – vocals, slide guitar
~ John McVie – bass guitar
~ Mick Fleetwood – drums

Fleetwood Classics:
“Love That Burns”



Recent reviews by this author
Demon Hunter ExtremistSamiam Clumsy
Skyhill Run With the HuntedNinja Sex Party Strawberries and Cream
Swans Children of GodThe Sleeping The Big Deep
user ratings (35)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
doctorjimmy (2.5)
Same as the first album,but the filler is even more glaring....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Lakes.
July 26th 2011


27730 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

plowin' through this discog.

Digging: Arthur Russell - World of Echo

BigHans
July 26th 2011


26454 Comments


sounds terrible

Lakes.
July 26th 2011


27730 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

ugh it is. i could barely sit through it.

Nagrarok
July 26th 2011


8245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The Peter Green-era compilation I heard is pretty neat, but like most I'll just stick with that particular band form which made Rumours happen. Props for the effort though, their less popular albums definitely need some covering.

Lakes.
July 26th 2011


27730 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I respect that. I'll just be reviewing up to Heroes are Hard to Find to shed some light on their transitionary period. I'm bound to find a few gems.

I heard Bare Trees was really good, also you might wanna check out their debut too, Nag.

AggravatedYeti
July 26th 2011


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

The debut, Bare Trees and Then Play On are pretty good to decent.

the rest varies from listenable to utter shit.

Lakes.
July 26th 2011


27730 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

figured as much

Br1987
July 26th 2011


1 Comments


The early albums are hit and miss for me too. Out of the ones I've heard, Then Play On only has a couple great tracks, rest are crap. Bare Trees is indeed a great album. Give a listen to that. Mystery To Me is probably the strongest album pre-Rumours. I don't know if you've heard it, very little weak material on it.

Dismantle
July 26th 2011


398 Comments


yay sweet artwork
oh wait

Lakes.
July 26th 2011


27730 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

hawt or not

bears
July 27th 2011


106 Comments


man its hard for me to justify that anything fleetwood could be this low..

but the crowd agrees

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2011


20654 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album has a few good moments but it's nothing compared to thier debut.

You guys should check out the album Blues For Greeny by Gary Moore, it features covers of a lot of early Fleetwood Mac material. Some of the versions on there are arguably better than the originals.

Digging: Townes Van Zandt - Townes Van Zandt

omnipanzer
July 27th 2011


21451 Comments


lol, I honestly don't think I've ever heard a single track off of this album. Really been going at
that Gary Moore discog JT haven't you.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2011


20654 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@omni: yep, been on a major blues binge lately.

omnipanzer
July 27th 2011


21451 Comments


"my mom listens to fleetwood mac..."

Ours too :^P

RichRichardsson
August 2nd 2011


2 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Good to know someone else picked up on how infuriating Spencer's use of the Elmore James riff got. Mercifully, his contribution to "Then Play On" was limited to the piano part on Oh Well.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2012


20654 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album really isn't as bad as lot of people make it out to be imo. Stop Messin' Around and Love That Burns are really good tracks. I agree that it has it's flaws but I'm surprised to see how low the average rating is here (on RYM it has an average rating of 3.42).

That said, however, both their debut and The Pious Bird of Good Omen are far superior when it comes to early Fleetwood Mac.

manosg
March 2nd 2013


6076 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a really good blues album. Green's playing is top notch once again and there are a few great tracks in here. The production is hit or miss but it's intendedly done this way so as to remind of a blues club.

Digging: John Coltrane - Ballads

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
March 2nd 2013


20654 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Don't know why this album gets so much hate on this site. If it wasn't for a Jermey Spencer's rather average guitar playing that dominates some of the songs this would be a really good album.

manosg
March 2nd 2013


6076 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You have to like the blues in order to appreciate this album. It's a matter of demographics I think.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy