And Hell Followed With
Domain


2.0
poor

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (194 Reviews)
July 19th, 2011 | 57 replies | 5,718 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It’s an unspectacular deathcore debut album with ideas as stale as the genre itself.

And Hell Followed With, an act formed from a mix of other bands (Amidst the Fallen, Fatal Afire, Dulosis, Beyond the Wall of Sleep, and For the Fallen Dreams) gives listeners a rather boring listen with their debut record Domain. Deathcore is a genre where, if a band doesn’t live up to expectations they become forgettable. The usual complaints include the recycling of ideas and uninspired breakdowns, often combined with uncreative instrumentation, just to name the least. Spewing out recycled idea after recycled idea, And Hell Followed With launch themselves directly into a wave of deathcore mediocrity. This isn’t to say that this album can’t be listened to. There are some redeemable tracks that do lift the overall quality of the album. Unfortunately, these tracks are hidden in a wave of the mundane.

To describe Domain’s sound; it could be considered a blend of over used breakdowns, raspy and growled vocal lines, relentless drum work and recycled guitar riffs and chord ideas and passages. And Hell Followed With’s instrumentation while respectable, is the main downfall of the album. Granted each member knows what they are doing with their respective instruments, but the lack of creativity throughout the album ensures a dull listen. Vocalist Nick Holland shows many displays of a fine growler, but his highs have a slightly annoying shriek to them that could turn some listeners away. Of all the instruments the drums alone could be considered a standout based loosely on technical ability. The double bass work is crisp clear and even while the stick work provides the very backbone of the band. The fills may draw in the listener as they are well thought of and are neatly played. The bass guitar seems lost in every track and while it would reinforce the rhythm section of the album, it doesn’t lower the quality of the music being played. The guitarists, while capable rely on bottom heavy riffage and drawn out chords that drone on and mesh into one another. The lead sections are rarely thought of and when heard do not give much for the listeners to hold onto.

Album opener ‘The End Of Prosperity’ is very much an indication of what is to come on the album. After the completion of that fifty second track, listeners are exposed to the consistently mediocre level of material that will continue for the next thirty-four minutes. ‘Consumed By Silence’ shows many of the bands technical ability. From tremolo picking, pulsed bass kick work, to end of passage guitar fills and dark crunchy breakdown riffs. Unfortunately for this track and others is that they blend too well together and listeners may not know where one track ends and the other begins. This blending also creates less of a playback value for the listener. Highlighting the album is track ‘A Whisper From Sorrow’. As far as the album as a whole goes this is one of the most well done songs on here. ‘A Whisper From Sorrow’ shows a higher sense of musical taste with a lone ride cymbal bell, and the occasional dive bomb from the guitars drawing in the listener and more importantly keeping them interested longer.

And Hell Followed With show they have experience behind their music, but lack the creative flair of many other bands. They are in no way pushing the envelope with their debut Domain and has unfortunately created a rather uninspired listen. The only question is: “Will you as a listener be able to sit through the dull, in order to get to the slightly better tracks?”



Recent reviews by this author
Architects Lost Forever // Lost TogetherKauan Pirut
Miserable Failure HopeBong Stoner Rock
Sunn O))) LA Reh 012Within Temptation Hydra
user ratings (26)
Chart.
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
July 19th 2011



33352 Comments


Ew deathcore.

wyankeif1337
July 19th 2011



6739 Comments


ew

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2011



6734 Comments


I have been on a deathcore kick for the last week was dissapointed by this, A LOT. I give it a 2/5 review rating however my personal score for this would be 1.5/5. Any thoughts?

Hawks
July 19th 2011



33352 Comments


The Price of Existence is the only deathcore album you really need.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2011



6734 Comments


The Price of Existence is the only deathcore album you really need. [2]

Definitely understand this, but i'm just trying to find what's out there.


cvlts
July 19th 2011



8917 Comments


outside of Animosity why the fuck would anyone ever want to listen to this genre?

Digging: Pedro the Lion - It's Hard To Find A Friend

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2011



6734 Comments


I'm not quite sure about the fascination, but people will listen to what people will listen to right?

AfterTheBreakdown
July 19th 2011



7106 Comments


Beautiful review as always. Pos'd. Definitely won't listen to this.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2011



6734 Comments


The two i rec'd in the rec spot are in the same league as this.

Hawks
July 19th 2011



33352 Comments


I think it's time to end your deathcore kick bud haha.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2011



6734 Comments


@Hawks,Think i might start with the folk/pagan/atmosphere/doom metal again.

@AftertheBreakdown, cheers man, with a little luck my new musical exploits will have a more positive feeling from me.

Anything review-wise anyone want to add?

darkwargreymon
July 20th 2011



188 Comments


Good review and pos'd. However, I just want to say that the middle part is kind of uninteresting, maybe if you could add some more hooks, references, or even make fun of deathcore (lol) it would help it out a lot. Not bad though.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2011



6734 Comments


or even make fun of deathcore (lol) it would help it out a lot

I had to stop myself from going into a genre bashing. Thought it would invalidate my writing a little.
That was the business part of my review though. I used that section to reinforce my views in the summary and 1st paragraph. I'll take your thoughts into consideration though, i can see what you mean. : ] Cheers.

darkwargreymon
July 20th 2011



188 Comments


I am just slighly comparing your style with Crysis, his reviews are always a very nice read, in my opinion. I think he just finds something that will interest the readers, and brings those things up a lot.
But your review is still pretty good. 47 reviews is no easy feat either, congrats on that, and only 3 more until 50 haha

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2011



6734 Comments


Crysis sh*ts on me in terms of quality, it's only in the last 5 or so reviews i sarted getting my act together.

I think he just finds something that will interest the readers, and brings those things up a lot.

Must have something to do with the experience behind his writing. I havent actually been a part of sputnik that long.

I have just my aural training to back my writing up, no actual writing courses so it makes things awkward to read at times.

Anything else you want to point out for me?


darkwargreymon
July 20th 2011



188 Comments


Something else, but it isn't really a big deal. In the parts where you explain the instruments, you should also explain how that exactly contributes or takes away from the album a bit more, maybe on the part about guitars. But thats it, I got a good idea of what this sounds like, and won't check this out

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2011



6734 Comments


I got a good idea of what this sounds like, and won't check this out

I could of just said this is a combination of overused breakdowns and bland musicianship, and i'm sure you would have come to the same conclusion lol.
Thanks for the look over man, hopefully i can get you to read some other stuff of mine; both future and past work.




NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2011



6734 Comments


I think it's time to end your deathcore kick bud haha.

Hey man, give me some pagan/folk metal gear to get into.


Pharoh
July 20th 2011



3326 Comments


i like their vocals

Pharoh
July 20th 2011



3326 Comments


"serpents beneath their hoods" is their best song.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy