Falling in Reverse
The Drug in Me Is You


3.5
great

Review

by Joseph Scott USER (10 Reviews)
July 18th, 2011 | 45 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: RONNIE'S BACK!! RONNIE'S BACK!!! RONNIE'S..........Oh, Wait....

I'll be the first to admit that Escape The Fate is a lame band. But I'll also admit that I really enjoy them. Say what you will, but the bands first EP, 'There's No Sympathy For The Dead' was nothing less than 5 tracks of purely enjoyable, energetic pop-post-hardcore. The bands following full length debut, 'Dying Is Your Latest Fashion' offered more of the same catchy, fast-food-esque nonsense that proved so enjoyable the first time round. Indigestion soon reared its head however, in the form of a nasty drug brou-haha involving frontman Ronnie Radke. To cut a long story short, the little tool was thrown in the big-house, and ETF was forced to continue with BlesstheFall poser Craig Mabbit. The trouble is, it was Radke's raspy, cracking yelp and badboy posturing that made the first two 'fate' offerings what they were. The bands next album blew hard, and tears were shed.

"But Asiatic!" you all cry, "We know all of this, and have made many hillarious quips about the matter in every Escape The Fate News item posted in the last three years. What does this have to do with Ronnie's new band, Falling In Reverse?". Well, everything, as it turns out. Ronnie is back, bitches, and with him the formula that made Escape The Fate so badass (or suck-ass, if you're not me, or over 13). It may appear that I'm writing all this to be amusingly ironic, as opposed to describing the sound and style of Falling In Reverse's debut album. So before I continue, I will fulfill that obligation, and give you an idea of what to expect from 'The Drug In Me Is You'. Expect 'Dying Is Your Latest Fashion - part II'. As much as I enjoy Escape The Fate, Ronnie was the only part of that band that wasn't expendable. Therefore, the only thing significantly different about Falling In Reverse is the name.

Expect more scream-along choruses, scene-kid poetry lyrics and blistering, squealling guitar solos. It's good fun for the unassuming listener, and the mark of cain for anyone else. Enjoy Ronnie's pining ("Sexy, Please text me!!"), words of wisdom ( "Don't mess with Oujia boards") and subtle references to his private life ("I've learned that my fate is something I can't Escape!"). There's some fun 'La-La-La-La-La's' in second track 'Tragic Magic', and if catchy is your bag, 'The Drug In Me Is You' will prove to be a sugary sweet experience. Just don't blame me if you get diabetes.


Recomended tracks:
'Raised By Wolves'
'Tragic Magic'



Recent reviews by this author
Demon Hunter Storm the Gates of HellLordi Deadache
Patrick Stump Soul PunkThe Obscene The Torment Of Sinners
Good Charlotte The Chronicles of Life and DeathGore Bash Midsummer Glutton
user ratings (656)
Chart.
2.5
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Asiatic667
July 18th 2011


4651 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review number III. I thoroughly enjoyed this, actually. And just like Ronnie, I don't give a f*ck!!

Asiatic667
July 18th 2011


4651 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ah, thanks.

Asiatic667
July 18th 2011


4651 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's awful, but it's also awful catchy. I have no delusions about how awful this actually is.

IrishJay91
July 18th 2011


688 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Decent amount of bias and some fanboyism in this review, but it is well written. Doesn't really read like a 3.5, but whatever. Even if I hadn't listened to this all ready, this review describes exactly what I should expect. And yea, I thought Tragic Magic was hideous.

Asiatic667
July 18th 2011


4651 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hahaha. The worst/best moment on the whole thing is when he goes "Bitch, You gave me the fucking clap!".

That's some Motley Crue shit right there.

Ire
July 18th 2011


41948 Comments


yay another shitty band giving my hometown a bad name

Asiatic667
July 18th 2011


4651 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what are some others?

Satellite
July 18th 2011


21452 Comments


wayne newton

Digging: Direct Hit! - Wasted Mind

FrankRedHot
July 18th 2011


6448 Comments


Wayne Newtons give me indigestion

anarchistfish
July 18th 2011


24851 Comments


DYILF was more diverse than this. This doesn't have an equivalent to My Apocalypse, for example, which is probably my favourite ETF song

Digging: Avelino - F.Y.O

Asiatic667
July 18th 2011


4651 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@FourthReich



Thanks for the feedback, always grateful when people take the time to talk about the review, rather than cracking jokes/discussing random unrelated subjects.

IllPromiseYouThat
July 19th 2011


427 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I don't understand how you can say this is like dying is your latest fashion. It has 5 good songs 2 questionable ones and 4 AWFUL ones. I thought the problem with the album was it was allll Ronnie. The lyrics were all him and the music took a back seat to his voice.

ThePrisonGuard
July 19th 2011


235 Comments


Did not like this album whatsoever.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2011


29553 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

review is perfect.



rating is .5 too high, but review makes up for it



dying is your latest fashion is not that much better than this



i think its funny when you guys call it DIYLF cuz it looks like you love DILFs



DILF hunters.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2011


29553 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Decent amount of bias




omg bias in a review?! SHOCK HORROR

Comatorium.
July 19th 2011


4757 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I was looking forward to this but ended it hitting the next button about halfway through every song. Only made it to the chorus in tragic magic, what a disappointment this album is.

anarchistfish
July 19th 2011


24851 Comments


I was relieved when it ended

Comatorium.
July 19th 2011


4757 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I wanted this to be good. Maybe if i was a sophomore in high school still but now it just sounds juvenile and annoying.

Asiatic667
July 20th 2011


4651 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i just dont give a fuck

anarchistfish
July 22nd 2011


24851 Comments


Sink or Swim has that god awful breakdown 30 seconds in and the chorus bugs me to hell.
Good Girls Bad Guys & Pick Up The Phone would be ok if it weren't for the lyrics and the samples. And that ending.
why the hell did they include that ending.




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy