Hey Rosetta!
Seeds


4.5
superb

Review

by Adam Knott EMERITUS
July 15th, 2011 | 112 replies | 16,094 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Jaw-dropping, gorgeous.

As adjectives go, I don't think 'endearing' is particularly complimentary. In most discourses, it holds a position comparable to that of 'nice' - it implies a certain inoffensive nature. In discussing music, it is perhaps an even more disingenuous term than normal. To many people, it suggests a tepid, middle-of-the-road character whose lack of rough edges actually makes it more abrasive - go figure. But none of these people have ever met Hey Rosetta!

This band. There's a song on Seeds called 'Welcome' which is very possibly the most emotive song I've heard this year. How you write a track so poignant and straightforwardly beautiful about a newborn baby without being sappy or falling back on a single cliché is beyond me. It's beyond the vast majority of bands. But by the time it comes around, it's hardly even a stand-out, such is the quality of the six tracks which precede it.

Hey Rosetta! play a brand of indie-rock (rock, not pop) which draws from a range of influences but doesn't seem tied to any of them. Arcade Fire, Frightened Rabbit and the Weakerthans all come to mind - but only at a stretch. Tender strings wrap themselves around intricate rhythms as lead vocalist Tim Baker croons delicate but spirited stories. In fact, that's a good way to describe Hey Rosetta! as a whole: delicate but spirited. They're capable of writing some of the most simple and gorgeous lines in recent memory, but at no point is it safe to assume that the next line will be one such example. These songs explode, diminish and flip on a regular basis, without warning, and in the most grandiose and impressive fashion imaginable.

Marketed right, Seeds could make Hey Rosetta! one of the biggest bands in the world. That's how fantastic every song is, that's how fluid and accessible but downright brilliant this record is from start to finish. It's all utterly heartfelt, but its arms are open, too. And yes, endearing, but not in the usual sense, because what's so great about Seeds is that it gets more and more endearing the louder you turn it up, and you're going to want to turn this one up very, very loud.



Recent reviews by this author
Mumford and Sons BabelAbel (NY) Make It Right
The Gaslight Anthem HandwrittenMotion City Soundtrack Go
Sigur Ros ValtariSilversun Pickups Neck of the Woods
user ratings (82)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Knott-
Emeritus
July 15th 2011



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This is my favourite album of the year so far.

Go figure.

psykonaut
July 15th 2011



3913 Comments


review is short but sweet. i'll have to check this out

Crowe
July 15th 2011



435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This band could be big; I agree. But I'm not sure on this album. It's like after "Welcome" the band falls asleep. Title-track should be a huge single, by the way. Good review.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
July 15th 2011



7325 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The recommended by reviewer section looks very promising, would I like this?

Knott-
Emeritus
July 15th 2011



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I would be very surprised if not, Ali.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
July 15th 2011



7325 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll give it a listen then. Nice review as ever by the way.

Tyrael
July 15th 2011



20823 Comments


This is my favourite album of the year so far.

Didn't you 5 England Keep My Bones? Anyway, good review as usual.

wabbit
July 15th 2011



6988 Comments


"This is my favourite album of the year so far." ...Frank?

Album is SO knott.

Knott-
Emeritus
July 15th 2011



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Bleh obviously Frank. 2011 just bewilders me.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
July 15th 2011



7325 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First song rules.

The Walkmen were the first comparison that sprung to my mind, might just be the vocals, though.

Monheim
July 15th 2011



250 Comments


Frabbit, Arcade Fire, Weakerthans in the recommended section, and Walkmen-esque vocals? Where has this band been all my life?

thebhoy
Emeritus
July 15th 2011



4459 Comments


this is always one of those bands that I hear a song and think, man I really need to get more stuff from these guys, and then never do. Time to change this methinks!

Crowe
July 15th 2011



435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

If you guys like this, you need to check out Into Your Lungs, the band's release before this one. Have you heard it, Adam?

Knott-
Emeritus
July 15th 2011



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I have. But I don't think it's as good as this. I found out this band existed about 10 days ago.

RedSky
July 15th 2011



283 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not to be elitist or anything but Plan Your Escape (album not EP) is still blatantly the best thing theyve ever done.

Crowe
July 15th 2011



435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It's okay.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
July 16th 2011



7325 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I liked this, I shall listen to it more

flamingmouse
July 16th 2011



183 Comments


this is pretty good

Knott-
Emeritus
July 18th 2011



10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Can I just reiterate how in love with this album I am?

AutoRock
July 19th 2011



416 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Checking this out right now. Great Review.

The break around the 3 minute mark on the opening track is really awesome. Me thinks I will fall in love with this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy