Godflesh
Selfless


4.5
superb

Review

by KinzokuWave USER (1 Reviews)
July 10th, 2011 | 27 replies


Release Date: 1994 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It may not have the Lo-fi appeal of "Streetcleaner," or the death disco of "Pure," but Selfless is a great album from a band in their prime.

When I listened to music as a teenager, I wanted emotional. I wanted to hear a marketable sound in a direct style and feel it. Rinse and repeat. I traced my lineage from Deftones, to Tool, to Acid Bath, and then in desperation and luck, I stumbled upon Isis. Now, what does this previous history have to do with Godflesh? Without Isis, a band so influential on the modern metal scene, with roots running thick in every vein of my body, I would never had know Godflesh.

See, I wanted to be a writer. And music, having grown to an adult, had not said enough to inspire any literary spark or dare me to dream of any idea. And then, there is Godflesh.

They broke me.

I listened to Streetcleaner in the middle of winter, with my depression at the lowest ebb of the wave, and my desperation for stimulation at the highest. Streetcleaner ruined my body and brain, but fed me intelligence. It did not belittle me, instead it beat me with sheets of concrete in musical form. It was aggression, anger, and release. And dammit the anger was beautiful in the dissonance.

So, what does this have to do with Selfless? Selfless is Godflesh in perfect form. Streetcleaner, Pure, and the vast array of music recorded between and beyond grew into this. As the first album released on Columbia, you can hear every dollar spent to produce a perfect piece of industrial hell. Tracks on here range from downbeat pulses of machines to sheer factory meltdown, with machines colliding and crushing. This is "Tetsuo the Iron Man" and "Eraserhead" colliding with Jack London's Star Rover to end the universe.

The sound sometimes hurts, hell, it hurts most of the time. But I guarantee with this album you get the best sound Justin Broadrick and G.C. Green can give you. This is before the drummers grew flesh. This is before Jesu and medication. This is the patient that accepted the diagnosis but never knew the cure. It has grooves and power and a refined style that will grind and crawl. This is Godflesh, the peak of Godflesh. Take it or leave it.


user ratings (127)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Liam8VIII (4.5)
Arguably more approachable, still undeniably bleak, almost classic....


Comments:Add a Comment 
KinzokuWave
July 10th 2011


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First review. Don't hate me if I suck. I write fiction and somehow a paragraph review is ten times harder.

Adabelle
July 10th 2011


4258 Comments


This is better than a lot of first reviews but there are a few things people are gonna comment on:
- You've written a intro that is longer than the rest of the review.
- You haven't written much talking about the actual songs on the album.
- The references to obscure books/films.

Grammar and punctuation look pretty decent though, as if you've actually bothered to proof-read, unlike most people when they post a first review. I'm sure someone like foreverendeared will appear and correct any errors though..

KinzokuWave
July 10th 2011


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey, if they want to correct, they can. And I was worried my first review would be total crap if I talked about each song and just listed positive points. This album is an experience. Guess I screwed that up lol


KILL
July 10th 2011


72086 Comments


i gota hear this one

Digging: Steve Hackett - Out of the Tunnel's Mouth

Meatplow
July 10th 2011


5524 Comments


yeah I haven't heard this either

Wizard
July 10th 2011


19607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You guys need to hear this, so fucking good. And for the review, you need to beef it up with a bit more description on the album. I understand your heart is in it and it works, you just need to tie the emotion into something more tangible for people who haven't heard this yet. And thank you for pointing out that this is Isis biggest influence, I don't think alot of people realize this.

Digging: Full Of Hell & Merzbow - Full Of Hell & Merzbow

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2011


18860 Comments


I liked Streetcleaner and Hymns but i've never heard anything in between.

Digging: Substance / Vainqueur - Reverberation / Reverberate

KILL
July 10th 2011


72086 Comments


pure rapes hard

Adabelle
July 10th 2011


4258 Comments


Yeah, what Wizard's written is basically what I was trying to say in my point about not writing enough about the actual album, he's just explained it better so listen to him..

Wizard
July 10th 2011


19607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I liked Streetcleaner and Hymns but i've never heard anything in between.

You don't know what you're missing. The in-between albums are my fav's by Broadrick.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2011


18860 Comments


I will get as soon as im back home. I love Eraserhead and if this is the aural equilivent im sure ill enjoy.

eternium
July 10th 2011


16338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Broadrick is a god.

Relinquished
July 10th 2011


25489 Comments


reviewer gets automatic streetcred for reviewing this.

I would have liked more in-depth writing on the songs though, and less personal info/first person/unlinked metaphors like "downbeat pulses of machines".

This was first released on the U.K record label Earache Records too, Columbia Records distributed it in the U.S.

bab808
July 10th 2011


456 Comments


idk i just can't get into the rest of their catalogue after streetcleaner. everything else is kinda boring to me

KinzokuWave
July 11th 2011


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best welcome to a forum ever, nothing but positive vibes and criticism here. I will give myself more time on my next review. Thanks everyone for the welcome. And Pure and Streetcleaner are a hell of an experience. Loved Slavestate too.

evilford
January 30th 2012


22907 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn solid.

This album seems underrated on here, if that's possible. Broadrick is great at creating the mood of a song/album with very little lyrics. What you hear matters. Listening right now. the riffs are still ridiculous.

I never would have imagined I would like an industrial group so much...

evilford
September 19th 2012


22907 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this band/dude is criminally under-appreciated

evilford
September 27th 2012


22907 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

who keeps re-submitting this awful art???

MrElmo
April 20th 2013


1955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not really a review but whatever you submitted here was honest and pretty well written, as for this album I can't wait to get a listen, godflesh is immense

evilford
April 20th 2013


22907 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rules

Glad to see the decent art stuck



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy