Ash Pool
Genital Tomb


3.5
great

Review

by Hawks USER (71 Reviews)
July 9th, 2011 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Raw black metal done right.

Ash Pool is a newer band in the black metal scene, having only been around for roughly six years. In that short amount of time, they've released two demos, two EP's, and two full-length album. Genital Tomb is their second demo, released in 2006. The best way to describe Ash Pool's music is extremely raw. There's no other way to put it. No symphonics, no cheesy keyboards, nothing like that. Just straight-up raw black metal.

The first thing that needs to be mentioned is the production values. You're not getting into something that has squeaky clean production so if that's what you're looking for then I suggest you look somewhere else. The production here is very muddy and fuzzy. With that being said, you can hear everything very well. The guitars don't drown out the drums or the vocals and vice versa. The riffs here aren't melodic or anything, but they're very well done. Guitar work here isn't really as repetitive as you'd find on other black metal albums, which is one thing that makes this demo great. There's plenty of variations of the semi-technical riffs played throughout the songs. This demo is very mid-paced for the most part, but still has enough speed that you would expect from a black metal band. Drumming is mostly rhythmic stuff with a few blast beats here and there, but they mostly just keep the pace of the album going.

While this album is mainly focused on the combination of the guitars and drums, that's not to say that the vocals should be left out to dry. The style is actually more death metal sounding than anything else. There's no high-pitched screaming as much as there is a low death metal-esque growl. Sometimes you get some things that will sound more akin to a black metal band, but there's a very large death metal influence in the vocals. However, because of the production, you won't be able to make out a damn word that this guy is saying.

Some bands can't pull off the raw black metal style just because they get too repetitive and monotonous or because the production is so bad that it hurts to sit through it. Ash Pool isn't one of those bands. They pull off the style quite well just by having plenty of variation and having enough talent to make it worthwhile. Is this the best thing you'll ever hear? Probably not. But chances are that if you like black metal, you'll find something to enjoy in this little 20 minute demo.



Recent reviews by this author
Incantation The Infernal StormXanthochroid Blessed He With Boils
Cradle of Filth Midnight in the LabyrinthIstapp Blekinge
Antediluvian Through the Cervix of HawaahMarduk Dark Endless
user ratings (17)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
July 9th 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great demo.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2011


16410 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

deserves no less than a 4 but now sputnik will listen ugh

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III ? Saturnian Poetry

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2011


7026 Comments


solid

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

Hawks
July 9th 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I just wish it was longer, which is why I gave it a 3.5 instead of a 4. I was debating though. And I doubt this will get much attention haha.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2011


16410 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck here we go

Hawks
July 9th 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha I apologize Crysis.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2011


16410 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The first track is one of my favorite bm songs ever. The review was ok but it was incredibly vague and that part about the lyrics is useless.

ShinXetsu
July 9th 2011


605 Comments


Review certainly sparked my interest. Not that big on Black Metal but I think it's about time I gave it a proper chance.

Hawks
July 9th 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I didn't know if I should put in that stuff about the lyrics. I'll take that out.

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2011


7026 Comments


Sometimes I really enjoy this but it usually just leaves me frustrated. I like shitty bm production as much as the next person, but the production here just feels off, not really adding to the intensity of the black metal on display. First Rape is a great track though.

Hawks
July 9th 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really? I feel like the production here is fine compared to a lot of other raw black metal.

rasputin
July 10th 2011


14546 Comments


review isn't very good

you begin by saying it's raw black metal, why then bother elaborating on the fact that the production isn't very clean? that much is obvious

as crysis said, you gotta stop being vague

The riffs here aren't melodic or anything, but they're very well done.


sentences like this are just bad. why say they aren't melodic when that comparison is relevant to nothing? how are they well done?

ctaxxxx
July 10th 2011


222 Comments


I'm assuming the youtube rips are better than the mp3s you can find online?

Hawks
July 10th 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good points Rasp. I'll change some stuff up in the morning. Way too tired right now.

Tyrael
July 10th 2011


20886 Comments


This sounds awesome, will check it out.

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

sifFlammable
July 10th 2011


2741 Comments


"I'm assuming the youtube rips are better than the mp3s you can find online?"

wont b much different to be honest - production quality cant get much hory than a raw bm demo

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2011


16410 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To be honest Hawks you could bullshit almost this entire review without even listening to the album by just looking at the metal archives page. That's how vague it is.

rasputin
July 10th 2011


14546 Comments


hawks' entire rating history just got exposed

alachlahol
July 10th 2011


7489 Comments


all 104 hawksreviews are the same

alachlahol
July 10th 2011


7489 Comments


could have subbed in raekwon: shaolin vs wu tang review and would have descrived this album perfectly



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy