Psyclon Nine
Crwn Thy Frnicatr


4.5
superb

Review

by Logan Nagel USER (2 Reviews)
July 6th, 2011 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This is what Hell sounds like.

Psyclon Nine sounds preposterously dark and hideously evil. Well, at least they try to, depending upon your point of view. Let's get that out of the way from the beginning.

The band began playing fairly typical aggrotech but for the vocals (we'll talk about them later). This is not the case with "Crwn Thy Frnicatr", and the result is that much more unique and, well, evil. This is no longer typical aggrotech; instead, copious amounts of black metal have been added in to flavor the sound. This is not, however, done in an abrasive (well, abrasive in a bad way) method---rather, the guitars and blast beats flavor the demonic choir and symphonic disconcordia. Over this sonic cavalcade are the main vocals---a high, distorted shriek that sounds, for better or for worse, like a hawk getting its soul ripped out through its eye sockets.

The vocals are actually so grating that they solely might turn off many potential listeners. However, after listening to a few songs, they begin to blend into the music and---eventually---it becomes difficult to fathom any other vocal style complementing this music as well as the ones that Nero Bellum uses with such arguable finesse. The guitars and drums are nothing special; they are there, they don't shine, and they aren't meant to. The same is to be said of the synths---while they are confident and strong, they do not shine, and never make the song in and of themselves. The effects and noises that permeate every track are more immediately noticeable than the synths or guitars, especially in the token interlude track "The Room". However, they themselves never complete the song.


What does complete the song? The fluid combination of all of the aforementioned ingredients; the layer-upon-layer nature of this music; the fact that the listener is never bored with the typical industrial repetition. The guitars flow into the synths flow into the choirs flow into the found sounds flow into the main vocals, and the music gains a macabre beauty for it all. While listening to this particular album, one thought kept flying through my head. "Hellscape". Do not take this for the sadomasochistic underworld of the modern industrial scene. To the contrary, "Crwn Thy Frnicatr" hearkens back to the literary Hell of old. A Hell that was not sickly and wasted---rather, an enormous and grandiose realm of insidious glory and pain. Psyclon Nine succeeds in that they bring to our ears this sound, without becoming cheesy or joke-ish. The finishing touches of this album are the lyrics. Waxing and waning between suicidal trauma and Luciferian drama, verging between feverish emotion and Miltonesque prose, they complement every other aspect of the music.

In the end, "Crwn Thy Frnicatr" falls apart if you individually inspect each aspect of its composition. Without the grandiose pomposity of its orchestrations, the lyrics become muddy and---dare I say it---emo? Without the guitars, the synths fall apart and unravel. However, one does not individually review each aspect of a fine wine, or each individual scent in a perfume. Rather, the overall profile or personality of the wine or perfume is what is looked for. And in this, "Crwn Thy Frnicatr" succeeds completely.


user ratings (53)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
MrMarketingDirector
July 7th 2011


52 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Second review here. I have a sickening feeling I am going to get a lot of flaK for this review. Nevertheless, this is my opinion and I have done my darndest to support it.

Willie
Moderator
July 7th 2011


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not bad. The only album of their's that I really like is the new one, We the Fallen. The other ones all had good parts, but dragged overall.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

MrMarketingDirector
July 7th 2011


52 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I know what you mean. It is really interesting watching them head more and more towards black metal, for better or for worse.

pizzamachine
July 7th 2011


12571 Comments


Really great album, I'm glad you reviewed this.

BallsToTheWall
July 7th 2011


44785 Comments


Yeah, I know what you mean. It is really interesting watching them head more and more towards black metal, for better or for worse.

yEAH, WELL, DAWN OF ASHES WENT DOWN THAT ROUTE AND SUCK.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

MrMarketingDirector
July 7th 2011


52 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@PizzaMachine: Yeah, I think so too. I have been listening to this every time I drive to college
lately, and thought that someone needed to review it.

Thanks a lot!!

MrMarketingDirector
July 7th 2011


52 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@BallsToTheWall: P9 isn't around any more...we can hope that when/if they get back together they won't FAIL.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2011


7122 Comments


"a high, distorted shriek that sounds, for better or for worse, like a hawk getting its soul ripped out through its eye sockets."



I love this description, although i can say i have never actually heard of such a style. I guess there is one way to find out.

Willie
Moderator
July 7th 2011


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@IpodMastery: These guys are a good mix of industrial and black metal, but they lean much further towards the industrial sound, unlike a band such as Samael or any of those generic 'black metal band with a drum machine' bands.

MrMarketingDirector
July 7th 2011


52 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@IpodMastery: Haha thanks! I tried to make that descriptive and unique. If you look them up, don't be
scared away by the somewhat boring and normal music video for Parasitic.



NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2011


7122 Comments


Cheers Willie, up til now i have tried to steer clear of 'black metal band with a drum machine' (blindly figured it was a waste of potential/talent that could have been heard with an actual drummer), but i'll have to give this a go and see what happens.

"don't be scared away by the somewhat boring and normal music video for Parasitic."


Man, i don't know if you have seen my ratings, but up til recently i lived for that 'boring and normal' stuff.

Willie
Moderator
July 7th 2011


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cheers Willie, up til now i have tried to steer clear of 'black metal band with a drum machine' (blindly figured it was a waste of potential/talent that could have been heard with an actual drummer), but i'll have to give this a go and see what happens.
That stuff is a total waste of potential. If you want to hear industrial black metal done right you have to hear Passage by Samael. They actually do cool things with the drum machine instead of just leaving it on 1000 BPM for an entire album.

MrMarketingDirector
July 7th 2011


52 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@IpodMastery:

I have not up till now. The video is the band standing around in a room, playing the song. I guess I should give them points for not actually trying to depict Hell (please don't look up "Set the World On Fire" by Symphony X, they are too good a band to have that tarnish their record)...

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2011


7122 Comments


'That stuff is a total waste of potential.'

I'm glad i'm not alone in thinking this.

'They actually do cool things with the drum machine instead of just leaving it on 1000 BPM for an entire album.'

Which actually describes a lot of the efforts i have tried and failed with, for that reason.

@MrMarketing, truth be told i'm not really interested in video clips for songs/tracks.....
"please don't look up "Set the World On Fire" by Symphony X"
So there is no risk of this^. I'll rarely look at the clips unless i have been told it's worth my time.



MrMarketingDirector
July 7th 2011


52 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Wastelander: As mentioned it my first paragraph and first comment, that is but my opinion, and others are valid as well.

@Ipod: That is a good attitude...I see too many vids for great songs that leave me disappointed.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2011


7122 Comments


@Wastelander, the writing style here is (putting it simply) engaging the imaginative and creative side of the readers mind. I would much rather prefer 'this is what Hell sounds like' especially when compared to "This is some brutal music".

@MrMarketing, That and most of the stuff i listen to doesn't make it to the ordinary music video television show. It's easier to just have CD's sometimes. I like your writing, i'll have to read your other one.

Willie
Moderator
July 7th 2011


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@MrMarketingDirector: If you like this I want to recommend Numb - Wasted Sky and Velvet Acid Christ - The Art of Breaking Apart

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2011


7122 Comments


" its the reason why i dont share new music with him, he ruins it."

He must think you suck, with-holding all that new music. Actually Det just from the reviews and the comments here, this sounds like your thing.




ButcheredChildren
July 7th 2011


5591 Comments


This album is pretty good but Willie is right, their best by far is We The Fallen. I don't agree with the rating but good review man.

Acanthus
July 7th 2011


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet, saves me from reviewing this and their discography! All their albums had equal highpoints imo.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy