Sleeping With Sirens
Let's Cheers to This


2.5
average

Review

by danielito19 USER (22 Reviews)
June 28th, 2011 | 37 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dance Gavin Dance with a sexier (and more prepubescent) singer.

There are so many things about this band that just scream STAY AWAY. The thing one notices first is the name. Sleeping With Sirens sounds like scene bull*** already. For those who are brave enough to listen to a tune or two, they’ll hear the almost prepubescent vocals of Kellin Quinn. And, if they really listen, they might hear a backing band.

Plainly and simply, Sleeping With Sirens is vocal masturbation almost on par with Jonny Craig era Dance Gavin Dance. If you love Dance Gavin Dance, you can stop reading here, as you’ll probably also love this. But what if you don’t love DGD?

Well, you’re not going to enjoy this record whatsoever. The rest of the band members don’t do anything to make themselves stand out, and in fact are mixed far lower than Kellin. The bass is entirely inaudible, and the drums don’t deviate from the standard pattern at all. The guitars have some generic chord progressions and safe (but also quite generic) post-hardcore riffing.

However, Kellin’s vocals are an excellent reason to love this band. Sure, he sounds like his balls haven’t dropped, but his voice is powerful and slightly less whiny than most of his peers. Also, his melodies are quite catchy, and definitely worth listening to. His lyrics, however, leave a bit to be desired. His ballads fit the standard heartfelt “*** you” or “I ***ing love you” that all Rise Records bands seem to sing. Many of the songs are also very repetitive.

One final google search sums up the band, after taking a good look at them. They’re the exact same cookie cutter band that Rise Records has been signing since its inception. After a second look at Kellin (What? he’s hot, you do have to admit.) I’m thoroughly convinced that being a scene god is a requirement to getting signed with Rise. No matter how much crap I give this band, though, Kellin’s voice makes them worthy of the occasional play.



Recent reviews by this author
Mozart's Sister BeingGlenn Branca The Ascension
Seeker UnlovedUnwound Leaves Turn Inside You
Fucked Up David Comes to LifeStrung Out An American Paradox
user ratings (473)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
Ryan Lizotte (4)
Sleeping With Sirens drops the 'rise-core', and goes back to basics to give you an album well worth ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
danielito19
June 28th 2011


6452 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

short review. Tell me how much it sucks ITT

chesse13
June 28th 2011


4241 Comments


doesnt touch dgd

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2011


50872 Comments


A lot of people who like DGD hate this shit dude.

Digging: Bobby Barnett - Little Wounds

MalleusMaleficarum
June 28th 2011


14369 Comments


dgd actually has some instrumentation that isn't 100% generic whereas this band is not able to create anything musically interesting

danielito19
June 28th 2011


6452 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I really only used them to describe how much the band revolves around the singer.

chesse13
June 28th 2011


4241 Comments


dgd actually has some instrumentation that isn't 100% generic whereas this band is not able to create anything musically interesting


this

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2011


50872 Comments


DGD doesn't revolve around the singer at all.
I care way more about the guitar.

danielito19
June 28th 2011


6452 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ok, besides the (possibly unwarranted) DGD comparisons, is there anything else wrong with the review? I truly suck at writing these and need some constructive criticism.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2011


50872 Comments


The paragraphs and the review itself are pretty short.

danielito19
June 28th 2011


6452 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

well Is there really much else to say? every track sounds the same

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2011


50872 Comments


I guess not

IrishJay91
June 28th 2011


688 Comments


Yea, the DGD comparison is kinda weird. Without it, this is really short though. Might want to do an album with more to talk about next time.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2011


50872 Comments


Well, it didn't have a review and now it does.

tkxxx7
June 28th 2011


6153 Comments


Take out the section about DGD and put in a few examples of what you mean from individual songs. I always thought Sputnik overrated this band, although I like the singer's voice a lot. Album title is pretty retarded, as is album cover.

danielito19
June 28th 2011


6452 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

To be honest I think Sputnik overrates a lot of things. 90% of scene albums are still above 3. And I don't remember a damn thing from any of the individual songs, they're that generic and unmemorable.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 28th 2011


50872 Comments


What's up with scene bands having cardboard looking album art lately?

danielito19
June 28th 2011


6452 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

hasn't that been going on for a while? maybe it's just me

melgosa41
June 28th 2011


93 Comments


this review was not detailed at all but it was freaking hillarious!

jackalope11
June 29th 2011


330 Comments


I really dig this review. Well spoken.

Strider
June 29th 2011


4598 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Is it me or does this dude sometimes sound like Michael Jackson?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy