Pink Floyd
Pulse


4.0
excellent

Review

by MC Catalyst (Gregg) USER (8 Reviews)
June 26th, 2011 | 20 replies | 5,028 views


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Welcome to the stage of history...

1 of 2 thought this review was well written

After shaping the very foundations of music with The Dark Side of the Moon, the longest-charting album of all time, and releasing one of the vital concept albums in the music industry with The Wall, Pink Floyd had released their last album nearly a year before: The Division Bell. Many thought this would be the end of Floyd, that Bell was it. But Floyd was not done yet. Eventually going out for one more live release during the Divison Bell tour: Floyd twenty-four performances all the energy and passion they could give, and it soon became Pulse, Floyd's single defining live release. By this time it may have been considered as just one last attempt. One last attempt from a band of people that are several years older. But, for now, it was soon realized for what it is. It rocks harder than anything.

Things are different with Pulse. The Division Bell tour was said to be their last, and it soon would be their last album tour. Truthfully, the post-Wall era wasn't exactly the band's strongest. A Momentary Lapse of Reason featured a performance considered by many as singularly a David Gilmour attempt, and that everybody else were less important, less enthusiastic. The anti-war statement The Final Cut soon wound up as a less enthusiastic addition, and Division Bell had turned out to be a below average addition to end the band's time.

Here's the largest problem with Pulse: the performances are not as energetic or spastic as they were. The band had gone through the entire Dark Side of the Moon tracklist on the second disc, a decision made over the time of the tour. The instrumental work is still amazing as usual: the various instruments highlight each song, from the bass work to the straightforward guitar work (which is exceptional nonetheless), but there's not a whole lot of audience reactions in these performances. You'd be hearing Us and Them and you'd hear it on the original LP. The absence of interactions and reactions in songs like The Great Gig in the Sky, Eclipse, and Time can actually highlight Another Brick In The Wall, Pt. II due its better interactions and energy on the stage, whereas the former three tend to be more dull.

The album is still slow and takes time to build, and is not to mention a mixed bag. Whereas the stronger tracks appear in the second half, the first half is more enjoyable when it comes to playing the sets in a more energetic way. And while you can't blame them (they're several years older, pounds fatter), for a last album, this could of been more exciting. The tracklist is spot-on, but they don't bring anything exactly new to the table. In a way, when I was finished listening to this still-excellent album, all I could think of was this:

"This was really good, but all in all, it's just another brick in the wall."

And that would be the finishing brick. If Delicate Sound of Thunder showed a younger band at the prime of their career, Pulse is the end of that era. (Arguably, Is Anybody Out There is from 1980) But an ending goodbye is in order, as this still shows some exceptional tracks. At the time, the band was just barely keeping intact, but they came out with this cataclysmic performance, one that was divided sharply. But the creativity comes back full circle in this title, and it would be one you'd be stupid to miss.

4/5



Recent reviews by this author
Radiohead OK ComputerSacred Reich Ignorance
Iron Maiden The Number of the BeastIron Maiden Killers
Pink Floyd The Dark Side of the MoonIron Maiden Iron Maiden
user ratings (372)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Med57 EMERITUS (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ShadowRemains
June 26th 2011



20482 Comments


well then why did you write it and waste your time then?

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2011



6987 Comments


Your going to need a better respone then that.

ShadowRemains
June 26th 2011



20482 Comments


ok then, let me rephrase that, why didn't you spend some time and write a better review then? one that you, if not anyone else, would appreciate...

You've got to be kidding. It's Pink Floyd dude.


whether its pink floyd or emmure has nothing to do with the quality/effort shown in a review

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
June 26th 2011



3765 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is my favorite live album ever.

Digging: Caribou - Our Love

JT2
June 26th 2011



94 Comments


Incredible live album.

Ayashi
June 26th 2011



267 Comments


tempted to pos because ponies

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2011



7163 Comments


Review is pretty bad, to be honest. The opening paragraph alone is filled with a litany of errors - most of them avoidable. Some sentences also serve no purpose at all within the review; here:

a.) The Division Bell tour was said to be their last, and it soon would be their last album tour. Truthfully, the post-Wall era wasn't exactly the band's strongest. A Momentary Lapse of Reason featured a performance considered by many as singularly a David Gilmour attempt, and that everybody else were less important, less enthusiastic. The anti-war statement The Final Cut soon wound up as a less enthusiastic addition, and Division Bell had turned out to be a below average addition to end the band's time.

I have no idea where you're going with this.

b.) This entire paragraph, Here's the largest problem with Pulse: the performances are not as energetic or spastic as they were... makes the review sound like it should not rate higher than a 3.0.

-

So, yeah. Sorry, but this review was not well-written at all.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2011



15592 Comments


I recommend you slow down, you have about 7 reviews in 6 days or something absurd like that. I have read a few of your reviews and you can write decently...just spend more time on what you write, proofread it a few extra times, etc.

Also read some reviews of the staff/contribs to get an idea on how to improve. I heard that SowingSeason guy is pretty good, might want to start there. He also is usually pretty willing to give advice and check over reviews for people...

Digging: Low Roar - 0

Apollo
June 26th 2011



10287 Comments


"After shaping the very foundations of music with The Dark Side of the Moon"

Stopped reading there.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2011



7163 Comments


I heard that SowingSeason guy is pretty good, might want to start there. He also is usually pretty
willing to give advice and check over reviews for people...


Who is this SowingSeason guy and why hasn't he ever offered to help me out before? HURT.

:D

Jethro42
June 26th 2011



12390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think Sowing Season is a Brand New song.

Willie
Moderator
June 26th 2011



15900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Love this album! Review isn't awesome, but doesn't deserve negs IMO.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2011



7163 Comments


K so if I'm a Pink Floyd fan, I REALLY should consider getting this then? I've put off on it so far because it really just seems like "another live album". Is this better than A Delicate Sound of Thunder?

Tyrael
June 26th 2011



20798 Comments


K so if I'm a Pink Floyd fan, I REALLY should consider getting this then? I've put off on it so far because it really just seems like "another live album". Is this better than A Delicate Sound of Thunder?

Speaking as a fellow Pink Floyd fan I say: get this now it's goddamn awesome.

JT2
June 26th 2011



94 Comments


Also speaking as a fellow Floyd fan, I would also recommend getting this immeditaely.

Willie
Moderator
June 26th 2011



15900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yep

mallen-
June 26th 2011



1235 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Incredible live album

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2011



7163 Comments


Okay =)

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2011



23801 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

essential stuff right here. the recording of Comfortably Numb on this live album is like, the best thing humans have ever recorded.

AnotherBrick
June 26th 2011



9770 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i dont understand your criticism at all



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy