There For Tomorrow
The Verge


2.0
poor

Review

by Muzik Dizcovery Reviews USER (19 Reviews)
June 25th, 2011 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The worst part about this disappointing effort is the obvious attempt to move their music to the next level by creating more sophisticated arrangements, which seems to have caused the band to forget how to write a simple catchy hook.

There For Tomorrow has always been a band lumped in with the wrong category of acts. Touring with bands such as We The Kings, Mayday Parade, Every Avenue, and All Time Low may have scared of some of the band's more suitable potential fans, as There For Tomorrow never fit within the genre of that group of bands. On the band's Hopeless Records debut self titled EP and LP A Little Faster, the band showed a knack for crafting contagious hooks while surrounding them with powerful, crushing guitar riffs and lead singer Maika Maile's outstanding vocals. With The Verge, the band attempts to break out of their pop-rock image, drastically improving the instrumentals and musicianship, while Maika's vocals improve from excellent to unbelievable. But something seems missing in The Verge, as the charm and appeal of the band's past work seems to have disappeared.

From the beginnings of the band, There For Tomorrow always had a pop sensibility to their music. The chorus of "Pages" was enormous, and showed off the band's massive talent in both songwriting and musicianship. "Stories" was probably the poppiest song the band has put out, with a dancey feel in the beat, but it was still one of the highlights of A Little Faster. "Hunt Hunt Hunt" is the closest the band has to having one of their customarily powerful hooks, while also showing off the band's new, more technical direction. Groovy bass riffs lead the verse instrumentation, which includes partially distorted guitars and eerie electronics, while the choruses stick more to the band's older, more simplistic style. As the first song released off the album, "Hunt Hunt Hunt" inspired hope within the band's fanbase that The Verge would live up to expectations.

However, there are very few songs with even close to as strong of a hook as "Hunt Hunt Hunt" or any song from any pre-The Verge release. Rather than enhance the band's excellent songwriting skills with their newfound technical prowess, the band loses pretty much all instances of catchiness and sustainability from their music. "The Joyride" has absolutely no energy in any part of the track, while the attempt on "Circle Of Lies" to have a massive chorus just seems to be missing the little oomph needed to transform it into a successful rocker. "Get It" is an eerie bass and odd, siren-like electronics centered song that launches into a stadium rock chorus that just has no cohesiveness between sections. "18" is the closest attempt to having another "Stories", but the track again misses the point, as the lack of a successful transition between verse and chorus ruins the potential standout.

Other than the beautiful piano ballad "BLU", in which Maika shows off his falsetto and his natural vocal talents, there isn't a single track that stands out enough to be memorable. The worst part about this disappointing effort is the obvious attempt to move their music to the next level by creating more sophisticated arrangements, which seems to have caused the band to forget how to write a simple catchy hook. There For Tomorrow has one last chance to combine this newfound technical skill with a "Pages" or "Stories" like hook. The band has the natural gifts to create another great record. The Verge is half of the answer. But without the other half, There For Tomorrow is nothing.

Disclaimer: After I finished writing the review, I noticed that the copy of the album I was sent was missing track twelve. For now I'm assuming that the track fits under "forgettable", but if the track does blow me away, I will edit the review accordingly.



Recent reviews by this author
Into It. Over It. ProperEvery Avenue Bad Habits
The Bigger Lights Battle HymnFarewell Continental ¡Hey, Hey Pioneers!
Something Corporate Leaving Through The WindowFireworks Gospel
user ratings (42)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
Davey Boy STAFF (3)
On “the verge” of something that is still to be determined....


Comments:Add a Comment 
IAmKickass
June 26th 2011


840 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Their slow tracks are always the best.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"rememberable"?

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2011


31628 Comments


Thought this was The Verve, got excited

Digging: Theo Parrish - American Intelligence

henryChinaski
June 26th 2011


2847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i doubt this is worse than their previous record. the singles they released are pretty good imo.

IAmKickass
June 26th 2011


840 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Their EP's we're pretty solid, and A Little Faster had some standout tracks. Heard the single from this, and it pretty much sucked.

TheSpirit
June 26th 2011


18001 Comments


This band is awful

Digging: The Speed of Sound in Seawater - Red Version

iGuter
June 27th 2011


354 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There is no way this band has failed miserably or even gone further down, in fact, this album succeeds an idea that Madina Lake could never go as far to reach. Maika's voice is becomes the centered soul of this album and the constructive tracks may not be as memorable as their catchier music, but they prove once again how strong their talents go as musicians.

henryChinaski
June 27th 2011


2847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is streaming here:
http://music.aol.com/new-releases-full-cds/#/31

henryChinaski
June 29th 2011


2847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So i've had this for a few days now and for me it's a really good rock album. I probably wouldn't have bought a There For Tomorrow record if they had not changed their sound in some sort. To me they now do not sound like the typical pop-punk band anymore, which they did on their previous releases imo.

Fortheloveofmusic
June 29th 2011


491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I personally like that they're not relying on huge hooks anymore. These songs are more mature, both musically and lyrically. I also like the use of bass on this album

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 29th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album is f'n doing my head in. Every time I go to start writing a review, nothing comes out. That's usually a bad sign, but I'm not so sure in this case.

The contradictory thing is that what pretty much everyone has said here (both positive & negative) is correct. It's just the way each individual interprets it.

And yeah, the use of bass is especially pronounced. In fact, the production on this album is probably the most striking thing about it (in a positive sense).

Fortheloveofmusic
June 29th 2011


491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So what's your general rating for this album Davey? Between a 3 and a 4 or lower/higher?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 29th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

3.25. Another reason why I'm not happy to post a review just yet. Can't decide what rating to give it.

If I do end up writing a review, I'll warn everyone that it could be contradictory. Then again, so is the above one. Especially the fact that it says the vocals & music have improved & then rates it a 2. I can understand the confusion though.

Fortheloveofmusic
June 29th 2011


491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, this has been everywhere from a 2.5 to a 4.5 for me. I finally ended up with a 4 because I think that the musicanship and vocals have improved tenfold, but it doesn't have huge lasting value. I might bump it down to 3.5 soon

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 29th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha. I am playing on that "lasting value" aspect in the summary to my review.

Another thing I can't decide on is my best tracks. Initially, it was 18 & Circle of Lies, but now I'm even starting to doubt that. I think the barometer for the album are tracks 2-4 though. Love them and you'll love the album.

Fortheloveofmusic
June 29th 2011


491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My favorite tracks are probably 18, BLU, and Hunt Hunt Hunt. Hunt Hunt Hunt is one of my favorite tracks just because the prominent bass and it always gets stuck in my head

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Review is slowly coming along & will be up before Sputnik changes months.

Yeah, that bass in 'Hunt Hunt Hunt' is funkay.

henryChinaski
June 30th 2011


2847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree on the "'lasting value' aspect". I think, apart from the tracks already mentioned, to me for example the opener 'The Verge' is a strong track and a good way to start this record. Also 'Slip Inside' is one of my favorites at the moment when it comes to the slower tracks on the second half of the album.




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy