Amorphis
The Beginning of Times


3.0
good

Review

by Blindsided USER (64 Reviews)
June 25th, 2011 | 26 replies | 13,422 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: No swan of any color here.

8 of 8 thought this review was well written

There’s no doubt that the criticism Skyforger was met with was warranted. Coming off their third album with Tomi Joutsen, Amorphis was put to the test by challenging not only one of the best albums of their modern era, but arguably one of their best studio albums period. Alas that was an album that moved Amorphis from the melodic death metal genre to a more progressive rock forefront that disappointed a great number of their long time fans. With The Beginning of Times, we are met with a refreshed and refocused Amorphis; something we should’ve received after the paramount album, Silent Waters.

One of the most important changes to Amorphis’ new album compared to their last is the change in vocal range of lead singer Tomi Joutsen. On Skyforger, the band lost most of its signature sound by simply lightening their sound to make it more accessible. While it pleased the new fans, it also produced a sound that was unlike the sound that made Silent Waters and Elegy the strongest of the bands back catalog. With the new album and the backtracking to their old sound, Joutsen was able mix in the death growls that made Amorphis exciting to listen to. No longer do the guitars dominate the songs, but rather we hear the signature keyboards from Kallio which made the song “I Of Crimson Blood” so memorable.

The key for Amorphis with this album was finding an even mix of the elements that made them the quality music act they are known as today. In the opener, “Battle For Light” is a perfect example of that, with its light piano interlude, occasional riffs and Joutsen’s death growls. While not every song has to contain death growls or heavy riffs to achieve success, an absence of them is too hard of a hole to fill. Bits and pieces of The Beginning of Times sound, in certain points, like they are recycled from the Silent Waters era. While that’s not a bad thing, it just shows that maybe Amorphis is finally starting to run out of gas after 10 studio albums. With the exception of four to six songs, most of them run together and have a hard time differentiating themselves from one another. The only exception as far as the eye can see, sits near the middle at number eight; “Soothsayer”, the only melo-death focused song on the album, display Tomi’s death growls, which sadly have not gained any range since his last studio performance.

The way you can compare Amorphis’ last two albums is the same way you would do so with jelly and jam, they’re both different, but good. With Times they’ve gone back to the heavier sound they were known for, but still haven’t been able to craft songs genuinely unique enough to sound different to their other material. Tomi got the memo that his growls were missed, Kallio is playing his keyboard more often and they’ve written heavier riffs, but the end result is just another Amorphis album after two years of waiting and not surprisingly it doesn’t contend with that elusive pink swan.



Recent reviews by this author
Love American / Harbours SplitEyes Set To Kill White Lotus
Prawn You Can Just Leave It AllOld Gray Demo
The Lonely Forest ArrowsSublime with Rome Yours Truly
user ratings (207)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Kenneth E. Rathburn (3)
You've heard this album before....


Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
June 25th 2011



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, although it doesn't read like a 3.

Blindsided
June 25th 2011



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah I thought of going lower, but I didn't see it justified well enough in the words.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2011



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

About time this got a good review. Pos and I agree.

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

Blindsided
June 25th 2011



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks man.

KronosRage
June 25th 2011



367 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Great review and album.

Xenorazr
June 25th 2011



396 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Good review, definitely puts mine to shame (no sarcasm). And I wholeheartedly agree; more enjoyable moments here than on Skyforger, but the album has little staying power.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2011



8321 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

Decent review man but Skyforger really wasn't that different from SW or this. Sure, it had more prog rock influences and stuff, but it was still strictly Amorphis. Oh and Joutsen also growled on some track on Skyforger, so they weren't completely absent. Oh and yea, it's Joutsen, not Jousten ;)

One of the most important changes to Amorphis’ new album compared to their last is the change in vocal range of lead singer Tomi Jousten.

“Soothsayer”, the only melo-death focused song on the album, display Tomi’s death growls, which sadly have not gained any range since his last studio performance.
God I love nitpicking haha.

Blindsided
June 25th 2011



1871 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Metalstyles. Tomi's growls are just really a big part of Amorphis for me, and while they were on Skyforger, there just wasn't enough for me.

Hawks
June 25th 2011



35362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review. Really like the album, but as you said, we've heard it before.

Digging: Brutal Truth - Extreme Conditions Demand Extreme Responses

MaliceOfVirtue
June 26th 2011



42 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album sounds pretty mediocre, I do think it was better than Skyforger though.

Acanthus
June 26th 2011



9537 Comments


Recently got Silent Waters, good stuff here.

Digging: The Cure - The Head on the Door

Baphomet
July 4th 2011



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I miss good Amorphis :'(

Good review btw, boss.

dhrubodx
July 14th 2011



32 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Songs were interesting,,,but hated the production...

FrankieEmpire
July 17th 2011



24 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Amorphis is One Of Those Bands that, for some reason, I always think of favorably when opening up their newest release. I am then swiftly reminded that it is in fact not 1996.
If you enjoyed Skyforger (Amorphis' previous album) you'll probably like this one too. For everyone else, this album continues Amorphis' trend of churning out boring and forgettable "melodic metal" (whatever the hell that is) and hoping that people will still think of Tales From The Thousand Lakes when they buy it. I'm not really sure why people would think that, since these guys haven't done anything mentionable since '96, but maybe they can milk that brand a little bit longer eh?
I did actually listen to this album in its entirety and having finished it about five minutes ago I am already having trouble remembering what I heard. This album was bland, uninspiring, uninteresting, and straight up boring. The whole thing just kind of blends together into a big forgettable mess. Boring songs with boring instrumentation. Oh also there is a part with a flute playing along side synths. I remember that because of how cheesey it sounded.

Baphomet
July 17th 2011



7364 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Note: If you want to give a short summary review, use the sound off feature.

OllieS
July 22nd 2011



2030 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I hate to say it, but this album is pretty bad.

Hawks
July 26th 2011



35362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Had to lower my rating for this sadly. Definitely a disappointment.

basssolo
July 26th 2011



74 Comments


God this sucks

FrozenVain
February 15th 2012



2394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this shit alot. Escape is now one of my favorite Amorphis songs, but i still wish the album
would contain more growls and stuff. It's a bit to many ballad'ish songs on this one.

Good review.

Sevhead
February 15th 2012



569 Comments


same album art as wolfmother



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy