Sacred Reich
Ignorance


3.5
great

Review

by MC Catalyst (Gregg) USER (8 Reviews)
June 25th, 2011 | 66 replies


Release Date: 1987 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Even after the Big 4, Thrash still continues on.

Phil Rind – vocals, bass
Wiley Arnett – guitar
Jason Rainey – guitar
Greg Hall – drums

Recorded and released in 1987
Metal Blade Records

---

It was clear that, in the 90's and beyond, Sacred Reich weren't exactly on the top of the world. But things were running smoothly for Reich in their first five years. An up and coming thrash group from the heart of Phoenix, Arizona (Hey, I live there), was formed by vocalist / bassist Phil Rind and drummer Greg Hall in 1985. They later contacted guitarist Wiley Arnett (ex-Gravity) and their secondary guitarist Jason Rainey. Their style of metal was generally thrash metal, but the lyrical topic would be political. So, in a matter of a few short months, Reich's debut thrash classsic, Ignorance, was then released, in a style referred to as Political Metal.

When comparing it to the other big thrash albums, such as Among the Living and Peace Sells... Who's Buying?, Sacred Reich's debut was the biggest show of that thrash certainly left an influence. It has all the elements that made thrash into what it is: differing song lengths, blazing fast, rough solos, and some really raw vocals. And this accomplishes that. Rind's vocals are very deep and lightning-quick. The guitar riffs are majorly aggressive, but not all the time original. And the crushing drum beats are set at a fast pace. Out of most thrash metal albums released later on (excluding the Big 4), Sacred Reich comes closer to the true roots of thrash that most others.

Considering how quickly the album was made at Track Record (which, ironically, Gravity was recording there at the same time), you'd think the production would be really overdated. In some ways, it is. You can hear every mess-up in the album, and the bass is virtually nonexistent. Drums overpower the guitar, and sometimes vice versa. It clearly demonstrates a band still up and coming, and the need for an album to be released. However, the need for a quick recording (unlike Metallica's Kill 'Em All, which could really use an entire remastering) is not what this thrash album needs: it needs some serious editing.

That being said, it all depends on how much you like thrash. Ignorance is a very moving title: it's one of the most political albums I've ever heard, but there's always negative and positive aspects to each song. Their later albums, The American Way and Surf Nicaragua, are probably better introductions, from the viewpoint of a more experienced band, but Ignorance is far better than any work after those two. I would definitely consider this a real buy: it's heavy, fast, and ironic (the title alone is pure irony). At least give it a digital download: it could really surprise you.

Recommended Tracks:

Though each track has positive and negative aspects to them, I'd say either Death Squad or the title track come closest.



Recent reviews by this author
Radiohead OK ComputerPink Floyd Pulse
Iron Maiden The Number of the BeastIron Maiden Killers
Pink Floyd The Dark Side of the MoonIron Maiden Iron Maiden
user ratings (79)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Drew Tyler (4)
An extremely heavy debut, from a relatively unknown band....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Psychopathologist
June 25th 2011


1922 Comments


you gave it a 3.5 lmao

why do people review bands in genres they know dog shit about

Psychopathologist
June 25th 2011


1922 Comments


this is one of my fav thrash albums and its easily one of the best thrash albums ever

giving it a 3.5 is lolworthy

rapsucks
June 25th 2011


32 Comments


the last good thrash album

Psychopathologist
June 25th 2011


1922 Comments


"However, the need for a quick recording (unlike Metallica's Kill 'Em All, which could really use an entire remastering) is not what this thrash album needs: it needs some serious editing."

this doesnt need editing at all. it has a crossover vibe to it, its supposed to sound a bit messy

"Their later albums, The American Way and Surf Nicaragua, are probably better introductions, from the viewpoint of a more experienced band, but Ignorance is far better than any work after those two."

idk what youre trying to say here. so is it better, worse or what

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2011


6339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Someone has finally sat down to write a review for this underrated band.

Major kudos man.


However, the review could be a lot more

1. better in structure,

2. informative with respect to the citation of genre semiologies, and

3. cohesive, with respect to its distinct meanings.


For 2. for example, not one time in the review is it mentioned that the sound of Sacred Reich here (and much more in The American Way) is the epitome of crossover thrash.



Edit: Also the deviation of the review rating from your personal one does not look well, unfortunately.

Digging: Madred - Supersonic Brainfuck Overdrive

Psychopathologist
June 25th 2011


1922 Comments


"Rind's vocals are very deep and lightning-quick"

lightning-quick vocals? the fuck?

"Sacred Reich's debut was the biggest show of that thrash certainly left an influence"

this reads weird

"Sacred Reich comes closer to the true roots of thrash that most others"

than*

and this is easily their best album, surf and american way are okay but they toned it down too much so they arent as engaging as this one

overall, this review is really sloppy and doesnt do the album justice




Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2011


6339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Do you mean by its lyrical topics or overall feel?



overall feel. Make the text look mean and lean, like six pack abdominals.

To give you an idea of what i mean, see one of my reviews:


http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/43356/Voivod-Dimension-Hatross/


Please do (about The American Way review)

I have everything from Sacred Reich, i will review their whole discog in due time.



Edit: pos, btw.

ButcheredChildren
June 25th 2011


5590 Comments


Sweet album, this was a great reminder for me to download it.

BallsToTheWall
June 25th 2011


44805 Comments


Encino Man

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2011


6339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

spinning this right now, forgotten how good it was.

Parallels
June 25th 2011


6643 Comments


man im on the same line as voivod, this a band i had forgotten to listen to

Ovrot
June 25th 2011


10554 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hey hey hey
Nice review Sacred Reich rules.

And who are you war?
You too are in arizona and when i change my avatar from rainbow dash, you change yyour avatar to rainbow dash..
whats going on here?...

Psychopathologist
June 25th 2011


1922 Comments


apparently a no lifer

Psychopathologist
June 25th 2011


1922 Comments


i see that youve changed the rating. good

now change the review






by deleting it

Ovrot
June 26th 2011


10554 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I prefer The American Way and Surf Nicaragua to this.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2011


6339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I prefer The American Way and Surf Nicaragua to this.






I can see where you are coming from with this. The album is indeed a 3.5 (only two standout tracks exist here, "Death Squad" and "Violent Solutions". Those songs were being played live thoroughly when the band was active), but the high energy trapped in it as well as the general lack of any noticeable flaw gives it an extra 0.5, imo.

Psychopathologist
June 26th 2011


1922 Comments


too bad theres no way in hell that those two are better than this album. thats not an opinion, its a fact

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2011


6339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I disagree, but to each his own I guess.

KILL
July 5th 2011


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

where'd all the comments go

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

Psychopathologist
July 5th 2011


1922 Comments


i reported them


im such a meanie



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy