Lo-Ruhamah
The Glory of God


4.0
excellent

Review

by Hawks USER (71 Reviews)
June 23rd, 2011 | 51 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Lo-Ruhamah release their extremely solid, yet a little bit flawed, debut album.

Lo-Ruhamah aren't just another one of your average black metal bands. In fact, some people might be hesitant to call them black metal at all. Yes they have the traits of the genre and it is obviously their main style, but there are two reasons why fans wouldn't accept them into the black metal community. The first reason is because, like fellow American band Agalloch, they mix together plenty of post-rock, folk, and progressive elements into their underlying black metal style as well as some death metal influences. Second is because they're Christians. Well just throw all of that nonsense out the window because, like it or not, Lo-Ruhamah are probably going to be a force to reckoned with in the black metal scene in the coming years and their first full-length album, The Glory of God is quite an impressive start to that.

As I mentioned earlier, there are a lot of styles that are mixed into Lo-Ruhamah's music. On this album you'll always get a more brutal and intense sound matched with a more mellow and chill sound right next to it. One second you could have blistering black metal and death metal riffs that sound like they could come straight from an Akercocke record and then you're hit with some beautiful acoustics and you're wondering where the hell that came from. It's the same way with the drumming and vocals. You could have blast beats blaring through your headphones at one point and then all of a sudden it just stops for a folk-like break. Vocally you'll get black metal shrieking, death metal growling, and some operatic clean singing. You just never know what's coming your way on this album and the band always has you on your toes wondering what's going to happen next.

That's not to say that this album comes without faults. Sometimes the band just makes things drag on a whole lot longer than it has to. With the album clocking in at just over an hour, there were bound to be some parts that are a little bit over done. This mainly happens with the whole post-rock element of their sound. Now obviously, metal is the band's strong point. With that being said, they sometimes drag out the atmospheric post-rock parts a little bit too long so when they intend to put you in a trance and build an atmosphere, they sometimes faulter and make you just wish that they would get on with the album. Not saying that they're terrible or anything, just that they could've cut it down just a tad.

This album could gain fans from a wide range of genres. Black metal fans, death metal fans, progressive metal fans, folk, and post-rock fans would all find something to enjoy in this album. With such a wide spectrum of genres covered in one album, you're bound to find something you like. If Lo-Ruhamah cuts down some of the cons that are found here, they'll definitely be a band to watch out for in the future.



Recent reviews by this author
Incantation The Infernal StormXanthochroid Blessed He With Boils
Cradle of Filth Midnight in the LabyrinthIstapp Blekinge
Antediluvian Through the Cervix of HawaahMarduk Dark Endless
user ratings (18)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
June 23rd 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Been in a writing mood the past few days. Only one more until 100!

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 23rd 2011


7098 Comments


"You just never know what's coming your way on this album and the band always has you on your toes wondering what's going to happen next. "

I have been looking for something like this, this just made the top of my 'listen' list.

#99. What's #100? Quite a milestone.



Hawks
June 23rd 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I have no idea what I'm gonna do for 100 actually. Gotta think about that.

foreverendeared
June 23rd 2011


14678 Comments


99 reviews!

Hawks
June 23rd 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hell yeah! Getting up there.

foreverendeared
June 23rd 2011


14678 Comments


Well, this was a good one. Gotta make 100 epic.

Hawks
June 23rd 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks buddy. And yeah I still gotta figure out what I wanna do for 100 haha.

MO
June 23rd 2011


18865 Comments


Not a bad review. Watch out for things like "as well as some death metal influences as well"... it sounds aloof.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 23rd 2011


7098 Comments


Gotta make 100 epic.
[2]

Hawks
June 23rd 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks for pointing that out Metallic.

MO
June 23rd 2011


18865 Comments


Yea make your 100th something sick, like gaga.

Hawks
June 23rd 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm probably gonna do Watching from a Distance, one of my favorite albums. Gotta do something that I love.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2011


31373 Comments


While the main style is obviously black metal, that isn't the only thing this band is about.


You just spent the entire first paragraph mentioning this, you don't need to repeat it

Digging: Objekt - Flatland

someguest
June 23rd 2011


20906 Comments


is this the first muslim black metal band

Digging: Dexter Gordon - Our Man in Paris

Hawks
June 23rd 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

You're right. I'll take that part out.

BallsToTheWall
June 23rd 2011


44644 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Meh

Digging: Mare Cognitum - Phobos Monolith

Hawks
June 23rd 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Oh man, Balls with the low blow.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2011


31373 Comments


One second you could have blistering black metal and death metal riffs that sound like they could come straight from an Akercocke record and then you're hit with some beautiful acoustics and you're wondering where the hell that came from. It's the same way with the drumming and vocals. You could have blast beats blaring through your headphones at one point and then all of a sudden it just stops for a folk-like break. Vocally you'll get black metal shrieking, death metal growling, and some operatic clean singing.


And to be honest this could just as easily have been combined with the points made in the first paragraph. You're just repeating yourself, but you just go into more detail that isn't really necessary when you could easily deduce what this would sound like based on what you've already said

Hawks
June 23rd 2011


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah true, but I felt like I needed to expand on the sound so people will know more about what it sounds like and not just that it's black metal, if that makes sense.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2011


31373 Comments


I think you wrote a really great sound-off then stretched out more than you should've and posted it as a review

Yeah true, but I felt like I needed to expand on the sound so people will know more about what it sounds like and not just that it's black metal, if that makes sense.


Yes, but we already got that



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy