Neurosis
Pain of Mind


4.0
excellent

Review

by Karl V.H. USER (85 Reviews)
June 22nd, 2011 | 60 replies


Release Date: 1987 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Old school Neurosis crushes the hardcore/ thrash crossover genre.

If only I had a picture of all the faces reacting to Neurosis’s debut Pain of Mind, it would be a complete blur of “what the f#&@?” crinkled, brow expressions. For those who discovered Neurosis during their career defining moments such as Through Silver in Blood all the way to Given to the Rising, Pain of Mind will make you wonder how a band as grandiose as Neurosis were so primitive in their speedy conception. Truthfully told, listening to post-metal Neurosis will reveal an extremely raw sense of instrumentation that can certainly be traced back to this and The Word is Law. To be quite frank, Pain of Mind is a jaw-dropping display of crusty hardcore punk/ thrash crossover that should be standing up on the podium with Suicidal Tendencies’ How Will I Laugh Tomorrow If I Can't Even Smile Today? and Discharge’s Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing.

With Neurosis writing as a three piece formed only by two original members (Scott Kelly and Dave Edwardson) and Jason Roeder, Pain of Mind was constructed from a scene that prided itself on short blasts of hardcore and a more progressive thrash style (remember, Neurosis originated just around the corner from such notable bands such as Metallica and Exodus). The comparisons really stop there as Neurosis clearly had their own blend of the styles at the time, gelling their furious favourite genres into something raw and passionate. Tracks such as “Pain of Mind”, “Training”, and “Dominoes Fall” reveal a love of crusty – almost a Sabbathy, doomy feel in some areas- hardcore punk that is as urgent and political as anything being released at the time. “Self Taught Infection”, “Geneticide” really mix things up with a Voivod-ian type of progressive-thrash that doesn’t feel out of place next to the faster, straight ahead numbers. What really makes these tracks sing are Edwardson’s lead bass lines that add some bounce to the harsher licks and vocals being dished out by Kelly.

It’s obvious in saying that many fans of Neurosis will pass this off, simply for its lack of broad creativity and dynamics. This would be an unfair assessment given that post-metal Neurosis is still using these raw recording techniques and simplistic chord changes to make their point on newer releases (even though they’ve slowed it down a few hundred BPMs), making this album a must-hear for any fan. If you’re a fanboy of any of the given genres listed above, this album should already be rocking in your collection.



Recent reviews by this author
The Austerity Program Beyond CalculationGodflesh Pure
Sun Worship Elder GiantsLord Mantis Death Mask
Horseback Piedmont ApocryphaCarcass Surgical Steel
user ratings (165)
Chart.
2.9
good
other reviews of this album
Brendan M. (3.5)
Neurosis start their career with a promising debut rooted in hardcore punk....

Jamie Coughlan (2.5)
Surprisingly varied crossover thrash debut....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Wizard
June 22nd 2011


19641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Short and sweet like this album. Hopefully one of the Mod's puts this as the default review seeing as the other one for this album starts off with:

Let me begin by saying I am not a fan of hardcore punk.

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

BloodSweatandBeers
June 22nd 2011


1014 Comments


review is good
this album is so different but still a worthy listen

Wizard
June 22nd 2011


19641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Worthy of owning ; ).

Dreamflight
June 22nd 2011


1760 Comments


Dear lord, how I hate this band, maybe I should give this album a try since it's so different from the usual.

Nice review.

Wizard
June 22nd 2011


19641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Do I want to know reasons as to why you hate one of the greatest bands on this planet? hahahaha

G3N3R1C
June 22nd 2011


1945 Comments


Never heard any of their earlier stuff. Maybe i'll get around to it someday.

pos'd.

Dreamflight
June 22nd 2011


1760 Comments


Probably not. :P

Thanks to Neurosis now we have Cult of Luna, Isis, Pelican, and so many other bands that hurt my ears, and tbh I really value my ears.

Isn't that reason enough to hate?

BloodSweatandBeers
June 22nd 2011


1014 Comments


"Worthy of owning ; )."

of course

DominionMM1
June 22nd 2011


10299 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review. A 4 is being a little too generous, though.

Digging: Dr. John - Gris-Gris

Wizard
June 22nd 2011


19641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably not. :P

Thanks to Neurosis now we have Cult of Luna, Isis, Pelican, and so many other bands that hurt my ears, and tbh I really value my ears.

Isn't that reason enough to hate?


At least you have a decent taste in metal so that justifies your hate too.

Good review. A 4 is being a little too generous, though.

No, this is probably going to get pushed up to 4.5 for me in time. This is amazing for the genre(s) it falls under.

Dreamflight
June 22nd 2011


1760 Comments


But really dude, just exaggerating back then, just don't like them at all. ;)

opblaaskonijn
June 22nd 2011


324 Comments


First person I've ever heard in my life that doesn't like Neurosis.

Good review, don't dig this album. Too HxC for me.

xenocide.
June 22nd 2011


1207 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Every Neurosis fan should own this, just like me. Definitely surprised me at first listen ten years ago or so.

Pos'd.

DominionMM1
June 22nd 2011


10299 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

No, this is probably going to get pushed up to 4.5 for me in time. This is amazing for the genre(s) it falls under.


4.5? I fail to see how you could rate this higher than 'Enemy Of The Sun'.

DoubtGin
June 22nd 2011


6752 Comments


older neurosis is awful

Wizard
June 22nd 2011


19641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

4.5? I fail to see how you could rate this higher than 'Enemy Of The Sun'.

Because I recognize how well executed this is for the thrash/ hardcore genre and I happen to really love all the albums listed above that this falls into. Wow, really surprised with the hate towards this.

DominionMM1
June 22nd 2011


10299 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Because I recognize how well executed this is for the thrash/ hardcore genre and I happen to really love all the albums listed above that this falls into. Wow, really surprised with the hate towards this.


So you rate albums based on how they stack up within a specific genre?

Ire
June 22nd 2011


41829 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0


review is awesome and you got the rating correct!

woops i don't know how to read

RagingStorm
June 22nd 2011


509 Comments


fantastic review for an underrated album

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2011


16478 Comments


haven't heard this yet



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy