This Day Forward
Kairos


5.0
classic

Review

by Josh Fountain CONTRIBUTOR (64 Reviews)
June 21st, 2011 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An EP from a band that deserved so much more than they got.

This Day Forward was a band that got lost in the turn of the century metalcore/post-hardcore scene. Despite being unique and having an amazing songwriting ability, they never caught on the way that bands like Poison the Well did around the same time. This Day Forward cannot be left out as a large influence on the current metalcore scene (think more Misery Signals, less Miss May I) as the groundwork they laid is still around in modern bands. When This Day Forward started they were a straightforward metalcore band but as they progressed as a band they pushed more and more towards post-hardcore, and Kairos sees them in the middle of that transition, and it also shows them at their absolute best.

This EP is five tracks that all touch at brilliance. From the opening seconds of “Kairos” that wouldn’t be out of place on a modern hardcore album to the quiet opening to Isomorphism, this album dips its toes in many different pools, yet never once feels disjointed. Each track is full of abrasive thick guitars and pained screams, but there are also points where the occasional singing or clean guitars poke through, creating a welcome change of pace. This EP is so much more than the sum of its parts however. They way that everything comes together sets it on the same level as Poison The Well’s classic Opposite Of December if not higher. They way that it comes together exudes a certain beauty from a band that was ahead of their time. “Sunfalls and Watershine,” for example, has a middle section that is pure serenity (it helps that Geoff Rickley sings on the track) before the ending adds thick guitars on top of it at the end, creating a wonderful crescendo.

This Day Forward will never get the credit they deserve for what they created in their short time, and they won’t be coming back together anytime soon. One of their guitarists and their drummer went on to form Circa Survive with Anthony Green, where they both still reside. As great as it would be to see the band come back together someday, I highly doubt they will ever reach the level of quality contained Kairos again. Most bands never reach this level, so that is okay.



Recent reviews by this author
Beach Slang Cheap Thrills On A Dead End StreetLinkin Park The Hunting Party
Powerman 5000 Builders of the FutureLord Mantis Death Mask
Chuck Ragan Till MidnightPerfect Pussy Say Yes to Love
user ratings (16)
Chart.
4.3
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2011


8010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If by any chance you find this album, give it a listen.

Digging: Beach Slang - Cheap Thrills On A Dead End Street

fromtheinside
June 21st 2011


18717 Comments


is that your play count in the track listing?

Digging: Devin Townsend Project - Z2

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2011


8010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I didn't make the track listing but I will fix that

accompliceofmydeath
June 21st 2011


4255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album is sooo good. Probably need to bump this to a 4.5. That last track is pure fucking gold!

Digging: New Found Glory - Resurrection

fromtheinside
June 21st 2011


18717 Comments


just got really confused at first and then realized you must really really love this. anyway, sound informal review, if I had any way of acquiring this I would. might youtube a track or two however.

accompliceofmydeath
June 21st 2011


4255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You definitely need to get this. It's one of the best and most overlooked albums of the era/genre.

DinoX
June 21st 2011


3582 Comments


This is my number 1 suggested to me album from rate your music perhaps I should listen to it.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2011


8010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If you can find it

accompliceofmydeath
June 21st 2011


4255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I see it all the time at the record stores near me. Apparently Minneapolis/St Paul was a popular area for these guys.

iFghtffyrdmns
June 21st 2011


7047 Comments


did anyone else have to go on a Kairos retreat? boy that fucking sucked...

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2011


8010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I loved my Kairos retreat

iFghtffyrdmns
June 21st 2011


7047 Comments


literally every person I've ever known that went on one loved it.
maybe it's just me, but forced 4 a.m. prayer sessions and a bunch of high school dudes sitting in a tree house together smoking cigars didn't exactly float my boat...

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2011


8010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

we didnt have that crap

accompliceofmydeath
June 22nd 2011


4255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've never heard of it. I assume it's something religion related?

Hopelust
June 22nd 2011


1082 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's interesting to see a review pop up for this EP almost 10 years after its release. I haven't listened to this in forever, but it seems I'm luckier than most on here as I own the EP.... anyone want it? haha

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
June 22nd 2011


8010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah accomplice, it is a four day retreat to "find yourself in God" but even though I didn't (and don't) believe in God it was still a great experience

accompliceofmydeath
June 22nd 2011


4255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Huh, where do you live?

iFghtffyrdmns
June 22nd 2011


7047 Comments


well I went on one too and I'm from Buffalo...

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
June 22nd 2011


8010 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I am from Maine

accompliceofmydeath
June 22nd 2011


4255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Perhaps it's an East Coast thing. I live in Wisconsin, grew up in Illinois. What religion does it cater to?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy