SORNE
House of Stone


5.0
classic

Review

by Ty USER (11 Reviews)
June 19th, 2011 | 314 replies | 25,487 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Nonconformist in nature. Brilliant in execution.

14 of 14 thought this review was well written

Imagine a band without the single use of a piano, bass, or traditional drums. Imagine if a band used only home made instruments yet conveyed a full and almost overwhelming rush of sound. This band is SORNE.

SORNE comes straight out of Austin Texas and is fronted by a young man known as Morgan Sorne. This man is a visual artist, a musician, and a poet. Combine all of these and you get an entirely unorthodox approach to music that sounds nothing like anything else in existence. The only conventional instrument used on this release is an old guitar. According to the artist, an old hollowed out log is used at one point, among other handcrafted percussion instruments. It may be modern in date, but it sounds so ancient. Picture a tribe with some drums archaically chanting in the night. Then, put Sorne's haunting, sometimes Glassjaw-esque, vocals on top of it all. Once this odd Frankenstein of music has been formed, ancient music becomes new again.

Additional to this strange conglomeration of music is an absolutely amazing vocalist. Every word uttered by Morgan Sorne is enough to send shutters up the spine. This adds an incredibly eerie feeling to the entirety of the album. The instrumental sections are already frighteningly beautiful as is, but with Sorne's soaring and wailing voice, each and every track sounds almost choral in nature. Not only is Sorne's voice magnificent, but so is his lyricism. At times ancient topics, such as birth order and death, are sung out by the vocalist. At others, pure anger is all that exudes from his mouth. These lyrics are certainly not sub-par.

Each and every thing about this album is perfect. Not an odd percussion instrument is out of place, nor is a vocal section, a lyric, or a chant. Everything falls into its perfect place. However, what makes this album absolutely incredible is the fact that it is entirely its own. There is not a single way to define this, it consists of an explosion of musicianship that spans genres and millenniums.

Sorne is a musician on top of his game, and his freshman release certainly exhibits his raw talent. This musician is certainly one to keep an eye on in the following years. This is absolutely phenomenal in every sense of the word. Music cannot get more unique and authentic than this.



Recent reviews by this author
Little Kid Logic SongsTen Kens Namesake
johnny_ripper Still Images & Other DreamsBull of Heaven 013
Cliff Dweller Ghosts of the Dust Bowl*shels Plains Of The Purple Buffalo
user ratings (107)
Chart.
4.3
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
North0House2
June 19th 2011



5584 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Why on earth can I not get the album art to show up? It's irritating, ah well.

Seriously, check this out. Don't kill me if this review isn't great, I haven't written for quite awhile, so I'm a little rusty.

Pick it up for free (which it's certainly worth the price of an album.) here:
http://sorne.bandcamp.com/album/house-of-stone

Digging: Horseback - Piedmont Apocrypha

North0House2
June 20th 2011



5584 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

There, album art got fixed.

Essence
June 20th 2011



3558 Comments


that release date can't be right. 5 months from now?

taylormemer
June 20th 2011



4887 Comments


You were probably were attempting to add a png or gif format image.

North0House2
June 20th 2011



5584 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"that release date can't be right. 5 months from now?"

I just noticed that haha, it was 01/01/2011 when I submitted it, I'll fix that up.

"You were probably were attempting to add a png or gif format image."

Nah man, it was definitely a .jpg. I double checked and even downloaded the image from another source and tried it again.

taylormemer
June 20th 2011



4887 Comments


Remember as well, any edits you submit, they must be approved first

North0House2
June 20th 2011



5584 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, I kept that in mind.
What perplexed me most of all was that it didn't detect my jpg image when I put it in first off.

Even though it says I only have 4 reviews, I think this is my 20th since this is my second account and my old one got banned. This is the first time I've had issues with album art, though.

Acanthus
June 20th 2011



9506 Comments


Beautifully written, though I doubt I'll go give the album a listen to be fair.

Digging: Symphony X - Paradise Lost

North0House2
June 20th 2011



5584 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks. I was kind of unsure as to how the review turned out.
Ah no worries, it's a pretty unique listen, so it certainly won't appeal to everyone, that's for sure. I think I just like it because it's sort of a unique mix between indie and just about every other genre I like.

Fluorine
June 20th 2011



104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for being so enthusiastic about this. Now, the fever has spread to me.

North0House2
June 20th 2011



5584 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Sure thing. Well hey, at least it's a good fever as far as I can tell at the moment.

gosk8n
July 10th 2011



980 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

After reading this review i looked him up on youtube and i was amazed! just downloaded the album gonna give it a thorough listen

North0House2
July 12th 2011



5584 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Awesome dude. This guy's pretty innovative, this is certainly one of my favorite releases of 2011. It's just so fresh.

SowerKraut
July 14th 2011



236 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

So where is the link to download it for free?

North0House2
July 19th 2011



5584 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Lol, it's in my first comment...

But, here you go anyway:

http://sorne.bandcamp.com/album/house-of-stone

JoinSputnik
July 29th 2011



28 Comments


most under-appreciated release of 2011.

North0House2
July 30th 2011



5584 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I agree, it's one of my favorites of the year, by far.

Beecher
September 4th 2011



27 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

without a doubt the best album of the year.

North0House2
September 5th 2011



5584 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Totally man.

BroodjeWorst
September 25th 2011



15 Comments


Woah, this is amazing. Have it at a 4.5 after the first listen, but I'm quite sure I will crank it up to a 5 soon.

Oh, and I like the review. Have a pos.

"Every word uttered by Morgan Sorne is enough to send shutters up the spine."
Same here.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy