Upon a Burning Body
The World Is Ours


4.0
excellent

Review

by Devin Earl USER (10 Reviews)
June 19th, 2011 | 47 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A Deathcore album that has the ability to be enjoyable for those who dislike most of what the genre has to offer.

San Antonio, Texas is the home of one of deathcore’s newest bands, Upon A Burning Body. The band was formed in 2005 and soon after released their first EP titled Genocide. Then in 2009 the signed with Sumerian Records and released their first full length album The World Is Ours in April of 2010.

If you read this and think that this band is another garbage deathcore band, you’re mistaken. This album is nothing but full of energy and intensity with non-boring breakdowns. The Sticker on the album claims “For Fans of Lamb of God, Whitechapel, and Pantera." There are a few elements of each of the bands listed, but you definitely won’t mistake this band for any of those.

The Majority of the lyrics are based off of popular Mafia movies. But overall the Lyrics are generic and uninteresting. The Vocals on the other hand are a different story. There is a great range of high and low vocals, with everything from yelling to growling to gang vocals. How unique are the vocals? Sumerian Records founder Ash Avildsen stated that “Danny Leal has one of the most distinguishable and decipherable voices I have heard in years.”

The Drumming is excellent from start to finish. The Drummer (best known as “Lord Cocos”) is always hitting something new and keeps the listener attracted. Unlike the drumming there isn’t anything special about the guitar work featured on The World Is Ours. Many of the riffs might remind you a lot of Whitechapel a times. There are a few solos here and there but there isn’t much here that will impress you.

The Breakdowns are one of the reasons why the CD is so good. They are not overused and don’t go on and on forever like most deathcore bands. The majority of breakdowns are sweet, short, and fast.

Upon A Burning Body’s debut release The World Is Ours is definitely worth a quick look if you’re looking for a deathcore album that’s not boring and won’t disappoint.



Recent reviews by this author
Unearth The MarchUnearth Darkness in the Light
Decrepit Birth PolarityI, the Breather These Are My Sins
Sevendust Cold Day MemoryEmmure Speaker of the Dead
user ratings (242)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Dakotah182prada (5)
What people wanted to hear, whether you like it or not...

promiseswept (3.5)
Extremely fast, non-repetitive deathcore that shines from the start but lacks replay value after rep...


Comments:Add a Comment 
AfterTheBreakdown
June 19th 2011


7172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I tried something a little different this time. I wanted to review the album as a whole and not mention any song names. Tell me what you think.

RosaParks
June 19th 2011


15047 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Not sure what is so special about this band

AfterTheBreakdown
June 19th 2011


7172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Im excited to hear some New songs soon. I'm curious to see how they approached it after this.

bloc
June 19th 2011


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

WE'LL SHAKE THE FUCKING GROUND

MalleusMaleficarum
June 19th 2011


14393 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"If you read this and think that this band is another garbage deathcore band, you’re mistaking."

Mistaken*



"The Sticker on the album claims “For Fans of Lamb of God, Whitechapel, and Pantera. "

^ You didn't close the quotation.



"The Breakdowns are on of the reasons why the CD is so good."

one*


"there isn’t much here that will impress you."

you shouldn't say this if you're trying to convince us this album is excellent.

MalleusMaleficarum
June 19th 2011


14393 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

and you captialized a bunch of words that don't need capitalizing, such as "lyrics" and "majority".

AfterTheBreakdown
June 19th 2011


7172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks malleus. I will fix Those. And i was just Trying to say that the guitar work isn't Whats going to impress you.

ZombicidalMan
June 19th 2011


1997 Comments


^ What Malleus said.

Sounds interesting though, I'll give it a listen

bloc
June 19th 2011


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Carlito's Way kicks ass

AfterTheBreakdown
June 19th 2011


7172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Carlito's Way is my favorite track

AfterTheBreakdown
June 19th 2011


7172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I also like Heat, Intermission, Any Given Sunday, and Devil's Advocate a lot too.

MalleusMaleficarum
June 19th 2011


14393 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

just listened through the album

gotta wash this taste out of my ears

AfterTheBreakdown
June 19th 2011


7172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lol. At least you tried.

YetAnotherBrick
June 19th 2011


4518 Comments


Review seems a tad short, but I guess you said everything that needed saying in a satisfactory review. Probably not gonna listen to this, though. I've heard "Carlito's Way" and it made me yaaaaaaaaaawn.

Digging: Soul Coughing - Ruby Vroom

AfterTheBreakdown
June 20th 2011


7172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Intermission is hilarious.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2011


7127 Comments


Better AfterBreak, just watch those points that Malleus picked out (that's a proof-reading thing there). Not to mention those kind of errors indicate that you really didn't go over your work (or if you did, you did it sparcely).

Again a bit more detail wouldn't kill you, for example:

There is a great range of high and low vocals, with everything from yelling to growling to gang vocals. How unique are the vocals? Sumerian Records founder Ash Avildsen stated that “Danny Leal has one of the most distinguishable and decipherable voices I have heard in years.”

While adding a positive light to your review and highlighting the positive score you have given this particular album. The quote you have used doesn't really tell the reader too much about the vocal lines. Maybe some comparisons to other vocalists might help with this. As for the question: "How unique are the vocals?". What you have described can be reminiscent of many other metal vocalists across the industry.

And you will find that single sentences are generally are a 'no-no'. Or at least i have been told many times. Lol.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2011


7127 Comments


Regardless mate, this is one of your better reviews, and i think this 'new writing style' of yours could be explored a bit more. Will POS. Maybe it's just me who likes the 500 word reviews and that little extra detail but there are some ideas you could expand here and on your other reviews. Good one champ.

AfterTheBreakdown
June 20th 2011


7172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the tips bro.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2011


7127 Comments


Tis no problem, i'm just wondering why i can do that and have my reviews still suck dry concrete. Maybe cause it's my own personal work or something like that. Anyway keep at it man and let me know when the next one is up.

AfterTheBreakdown
June 20th 2011


7172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well just keep working on it. And yeah Tuesday look for another review from me. I was going to do the New August Burns Red but Im sure there is going to be so many of those already. I got a few in mind I could do anyways.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy