Polkadot Cadaver
Sex Offender


4.3
superb

Review

by Greg Fisher STAFF
June 19th, 2011 | 46 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An unabashedly eclectic, yet totally seductive electro-metal freak-out of an album. There's no need to remain seated.

Formed from the ashes of Baltimore-based Dog Fashion Disco, Polkadot Cadaver quite significantly broke away from the prior act's eclectic blend of experimental metal on their first disc, “Purgatory Dance Party," which was released nearly four years ago. While sharing the same stylistic sensibilities which involve pitch-black humor and open black mass references, the band's core sound revolved around rather ingenious, yet spastic electronica. With their new album, ”Sex Offender,“ Polkadot Cadaver return to the less cryptic metallic style of Dog Fashion Disco, crafting an album that's very much in line with that band's second major release, “Committed To A Bright Future,” being equally straightforward, psychotic and seductive.

Once again though, the influences are all over the place, with the act overtly venturing into a plethora of music styles that are theoretically inadvisable to combine. This eclecticism, which is supported by efficient songwriting as well as top-notch musicianship, is the selling point of the entire album. The frenetic technical metal passages are coupled with twisted melodies. Heavily distorted, funk-induced bass lines, devilish polka piano stabs and abrasive new-wave synths are also in abundance. The crazed electro-metal approach superbly blends with routinely diverse, powerful vocals courtesy of Todd Smith. He shines with his infectiously soothing choruses, hunting whispers, demonic growls and more.

Despite numerous stylistic twists and turns, the album happens to be more cohesive than the previous one due to the band capturing their sound in a more organic manner. Whereas “Purgatory Dance Party” felt like a collection of various songs which were often not connected with one another, “Sex Offender” contains compositions that share the same musical aura. This makes the new album easier to digest and thus way more accessible, especially given the non-linear progressions and addictive choruses occurring in almost every song.

Polkadot Cadaver show they are capable of blending various genres seamlessly in the record's standout tracks. “Bloodsucker” interweaves funk-metal with atmospheric verses and an excellent sing-along chorus. In “Starlight Requiem” an abrasive metal attack coexists with dreamy, fairy tale-like passages. “Slaughterhouse Striptease” effectively showcases the dissonant theatricality of the act, whereas “Cake And Eat It Too” is the album's definite genre shifter that features a spastic piano solo recalling The Paper Chase. The disc ends with a tender soul-induced ballad, “Forever And A Day,” which wouldn't feel out-of-place on Faith No More's classic “Angel Dust.”

Due to its subversive lyrical content, “Sex Offender” could make for an excellent soundtrack to a demented horror movie. Similarly to this type of cinema, it comes as an acquired taste. The fans of avant garde metal music shouldn't be discouraged though as the album is sufficiently unique and genre-bending. It certainly requires much more attention than it's ever going to get.



Recent reviews by this author
Kimbra The Golden EchoDog Fashion Disco Sweet Nothings
So Slow DharaviMastodon Once More 'Round the Sun
Fire! Orchestra Enter!Ought More Than Any Other Day
user ratings (59)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Benjamino Jackanory (4.5)
Hit me baby, one more time....

PsychicChris (4.5)
Polkadot Cadaver's second full-length album is a fun slice of avant-garde creepiness....


Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

This needed to be reviewed really badly.

Cake And Eat It Too:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bOl7Dv7r0YU

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

DoubtGin
June 19th 2011


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Unfortunately, I didn't like it as much as the previous one. Gonna relisten soon again, though.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I for one think it's much better than their previous one. It resembles Dog Fashion Disco music more than Purgatory, and I'm absolutely high on this act. There is not a single track on this one I wouldn't like.

ButcheredChildren
June 19th 2011


5591 Comments


No way this is a 4.5 I think you are exaggerating a little man.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I'm quite sure I'm not exaggerating. This really seems like a 4.5 to me. It's not as good as Dog Fashion Disco's Adultery. This one's a classic in my opinion.

ButcheredChildren
June 19th 2011


5591 Comments


I wasn't a fan of their last album but I will give this a shot because they manage to keep me curious.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Their first record got a 3.5 from me. So I see what you mean.

combustion07
June 19th 2011


5355 Comments


Previous album was awesome, need to give this a listen.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2011


8357 Comments


Album sounds interesting, will get. Review is okay but you've done better, Greg. There are quite a few commas missing throughout the review and some sentences read a bit awkwardly.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I've made some changes. Now I guess it reads better. And there are no commas missing mate.

Jethro42
June 19th 2011


12438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

''It certainly requires much more attention than it's ever going to get.''

Good music is too often overlooked here on sputnik, as we know it. Good review, man. A 4.5/5 coming from Greg is worth a serious listen. Added in my priority list.



greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I'm hopelessly addicted to this. You've heard Adultery so you know pretty much what to expect. Still, this is way more electro-oriented than that album. I warned you.

Jethro42
June 19th 2011


12438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No warning required dude, your rating amply convinced me.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Ok. We'll see if electro-metal is your thing. Peeps here seem to enjoy it. I didn't mention in the review that Neil Fallon of Clutch fame appeared on the title track.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2011


8357 Comments


And there are no commas missing mate.
You corrected quite a few of them but there are still some missing ;). If you want I can point them out to you.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Go on. I'm really obsessed with commas myself. We may argue.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2011


8357 Comments


Formed from the ashes of Baltimore-based Dog Fashion Disco, Polkadot Cadaver quite significantly broke away from the prior act's eclectic blend of experimental metal on their first, released nearly four years ago disc “Purgatory Dance Party."
Ok this here is just awkward. I think you wanted to say something along the lines of Formed form the ashes of Baltimore-based Dog Fashion Disco, Polkadot Cadaver quite significantly broke away from the prior act's eclectic blend of experimental metal on their first disc, "Purgatory Dance Party", which was released nearly four years ago.
With their new album ”Sex Offender“ Polkadot Cadaver return to the less cryptic metallic approach of Dog Fashion Disco crafting an album that's very much in line with this band's second major release “Committed To A Bright Future” being equally straightforward, psychotic and seductive.
1. The album titles should be in between commas. 2. A comma needs to be after Dog Fashion Disco. 3. Replace "this band's" with "that band's". Otherwise, the reader might be confused about what band are you talking about there, Dog Fashion Disco or Polkadot Cadaver.
Once again though, the influences are all over the place with the act overtly venturing into a plethora of music styles that are theoretically inadvisable to combine.
A comma should be in front of "with".
This eclecticism supported by efficient songwriting as well as top-notch musicianship is the selling point of the entire album.
I would reword this a bit to This eclecticism, which is supported by efficient songwriting and top-notch musicianship, is the selling point of the album.
Heavily distorted, funk-induced bass lines; devilish polka piano stabs and abrasive new-wave synths are also in abundance.
That semicolon should just be a regular comma, because semicolons are meant to divide sentences along the lines of full stops, but you wouldn't put a period there now would you.
The disc ends with a tender soul-induced ballad “Forever And A Day” which wouldn't feel out-of-place on Faith No More's classic “Angel Dust.”
Needs a comma before "which", because what follows is a non-defining clause.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Fixed. A lot of good points up there. Thanks a bunch dude.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2011


8357 Comments


No problem man, I'm glad I was of assistance. As for the album, I'll get it either today or tomorrow and will let you know what I thought of it during this or next week after I've given it a few spins.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

My new review is up right now. Feel free to check it out and comment.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy