Bad Meets Evil
Hell: The Sequel


4.0
excellent

Review

by mynameisSlimShady USER (1 Reviews)
June 18th, 2011 | 64 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A Sequel worth waiting a decade for.

Guess who’s back, back again?
No, it’s not Shady but Bad meets Evil. Taking a trip down memory lane, back in 1998/99, on The Slim Shady LP, fellow Detroit rappers Eminem and Royce Da 5’9 did an underrated track for the future classic. Over a decade ago, the two made a statement. “See you in hell for the sequel”. So, after years and years of waiting, after beefs, deaths and drug addiction problems, comes an EP by the name of, you guessed it, Hell the sequel.

As a whole, this is one enjoyable EP, almost making you wish it was an LP. Songs such as A kiss, Take from me, Welcome 2 hell, The reunion, Living Proof (bonus), Echo (bonus) and Fast lane make this an excellent little collection of songs, although the ladder does begin to get a bit boring with consecutive listens.Sure, it’s not the same Eminem we know from The Slim Shady LP, The Marshall Mathers LP or even The Eminem Show; however, he does quite a good job of being funny and good lyrically.. Royce, however, seems to be the same old rapper we heard on the original song Bad meets Evil, and it’s a good thing. The songs on which they are able to stay focused on a subject or be funny will have you nodding your head back and forth. The duo even have some classic line that will have you laughing and repeating them over and over again, such as “Let me tell you what this pretty little dame's name is, 'cause she's kinda famous And I hope that I don't sound too heinous when I say this Nicki Minaj, but I wanna stick (My penis in your anus!).

But that’s about it. There are songs that will have you shaking your head. Lighters, featuring everyones lazy d’bag Bruno Mars, seems so out if place it’s as if it was put in just to be a single so little 14 year old girls would buy the EP. The lyrics aren’t bad, but the song just doesn’t flow with the rest of the album. The rest of the songs are caught somewhere in between. You will listen to them, enjoy them for a bit, then skip over them.

Its definitely different from recovery, which, based on who you are and what your opinion of Em’s last LP is, is a good thing. It’s worth checking out if not buying all together.

Recommended tracks:
-Fast Lane, A kiss, Take from me, The reuinion, Welcome 2 hell and Echo.


user ratings (296)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Guzzo CONTRIBUTOR (4.5)
If this is what happens when Bad Meets Evil, then it could be the cure for the post-2002 Eminem canc...

Narshh (3)
"Cause this is what happens when Bad meets Evil/And we hit the trees til we look like Vietnamese peo...


Comments:Add a Comment 
mynameisSlimShady
June 18th 2011


114 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My first review, I know how people here don't like long reviews and track by tracks so i kept it short. Please give me some constructive criticism so my future reviews can be better.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 18th 2011


50355 Comments


Capitalize names, songs and albums.

Digging: The Brave Little Abacus - Masked Dancers

mynameisSlimShady
June 18th 2011


114 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok, thanx, when i wrote it i didnt think it would be a problem if i left them like that.

ihopeuchoke
June 18th 2011


668 Comments


Sure, it’s not the same Eminem from The Slim Shady LP, The Marshall Mathers LP or even The Eminem Show, he does quite a good job of being funny and good lyrically.


This sentence is written very poorly. It should read more like:

Sure, it’s not the same Eminem we know from The Slim Shady LP, The Marshall Mathers LP or even The Eminem Show; however, he does quite a good job of being funny and good lyrically.


Blindsided
June 19th 2011


1871 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^You added one word and a semicolon, you english teacher, you.

ihopeuchoke
June 19th 2011


668 Comments


You're right. I did. Isn't it amazing how one word and a semicolon can dramatically change how much sense a sentence makes? I also could have chosen a period right there. Either way, the correction needed to be made.

Counterfeit
June 19th 2011


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

first song rules

Counterfeit
June 19th 2011


17819 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"7. Lighters (Featuring Bruno Mars)"

goddammit eminem you so fucking would

TheMushuPork
June 19th 2011


462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not a bad review, nice and short. However, it read pretty much like my A Thousand Suns review. You might wanna fix that.

mynameisSlimShady
June 19th 2011


114 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@ TheMushuPork, can you tell me the parts where it sounds like your review? i havent read it yet and im too lazy to search it up.

mynameisSlimShady
June 20th 2011


114 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank god. lol. I was wondering why some people, like you, war, don't think its a good album? like above average.

TheMushuPork
June 20th 2011


462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nevermind, I had no idea what i was talking about lol.

Toadstool
June 26th 2011


136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Who's doing the chorus in Fastlane? It's almost Nate Dogg status.

mynameisSlimShady
June 26th 2011


114 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's not nate dogg. It's someone by the name of sly or something like that. Never heard of him before.
Or we could have a tupac thing where nate comes back from the dead or comes out of hiding to release a new song/album. /s

qwe3
June 27th 2011


21362 Comments


bet this sucks

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
June 29th 2011


15737 Comments


http://www.tinymixtapes.com/music-review/bad-meets-evil-eminem-and-royce-da-59-hell-sequel

fuckin hell

Digging: Ricky Eat Acid - Three Love Songs

BallsToTheWall
June 29th 2011


44323 Comments


I hate what Eminem has become yet cant stop pelvic thrusting to Lighters.

Digging: Tiamat - Clouds

Haggardsteve
July 1st 2011


29 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Em still rules.

808muzik
July 2nd 2011


941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If I didn't dig Fast Lane, will I like this?

Digging: Mr Twin Sister - Mr Twin Sister

crowing51
July 2nd 2011


3453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album was awesome glad they finally got there shit squashed. Totally makes up for the shit that was Lasers.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy