Gary Moore
Wild Frontier


4.0
excellent

Review

by AleksiS USER (16 Reviews)
June 13th, 2011 | 21 replies | 5,616 views


Release Date: 1987 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Gary Moore helped make 1987 another great year for rock!

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

After the unfortunate and unexpected death of Gary Moore, many (including myself) started rediscovering his music. Whether it's his blues albums or his hard rock albums, Gary Moore had released many great albums during his near 40-year solo career. But by far "Wild Frontier" was the highlight of his hard rock -career.

Released in 1987, "Wild Frontier" was another great addition to all the great albums released that year. With Guns N' Roses' "Appetite for Destruction", Whitesnake's "1987" and Def Leppard's "Hysteria", "Wild Frontier" was in good company.

The albums sound was different than most rock albums at the time, but still had a typical 80's rock-style to it. The album adopted Celtic elements from Gary Moore's homeland of Northern Ireland, and was dedicated to Moore's childhood friend, Thin Lizzy frontman Phil Lynott, who passed away the earlier year.

The album opens up with the epic "Over the Hills and Far Away", which right away shows the Celtic influences of the album. The song also includes some of Moore's most memorable lyrics.

"They came for him one winter's night.
Arrested, he was bound.
They said there'd been a robbery,
his pistol had been found."

The lyrics tell a story of a man who is wrongly accused of robbery. He won't reveal that he spent the night of the robbery with his best friends wife, so he is sentenced to ten years in prison. A true classic.

The album continues with the title track (which Lynott was originally supposed to sing) and "Take a Little Time", both of which are great rockers, with catchy choruses and magnificent hooks. But the next real showstopper comes with the following track. "The Loner" is a moody and emotional instrumental, which just might be one of the greatest instrumentals of all time. The song is dripping with emotion and feels like somewhat of a precursor to Gary Moore's later blues material.

Following "The Loner", we get the albums only real misstep; a cover of the 1967-hit "Friday on my Mind" by the Australian band The Easybeats. The song is by no means bad, but it feels very unneccesary being on an album where the original material is so strong. I'm pretty sure that recording a cover for the album was more the record company's idea than Gary Moore's.

After "Friday on My Mind", we get "Strangers in the Darkness" and "Thunder Rising", both of which are very catchy. "Strangers" slows things down a bit, before the album kicks into "Thunder Rising", which is probably the heaviest track on the album.

The original album ends with the emotional ballad "Johnny Boy", which once again shows the Celtic influences of the album with soothing keyboards and bagpipes.

The CD-version also included the alternate versions of "Over the Hills and Far Away" and "Wild Frontier", as well as an extra track, titled "Crying in the Shadows", which fits quite well into the albums overall sound, and could have easily taken the place of "Friday on My Mind".

Overall the album is catchy, emotional and extremely good. While it may not be the greatest album from an artistic point of a view, it's an album that Moore could have easily been proud of. R.I.P. Gary Moore.

Recommended tracks:

*"Over the Hills and Far Away"

*"Wild Frontier"

*"The Loner"

*"Johnny Boy"



Recent reviews by this author
HIM Tears On TapeHIM Screamworks: Love In Theory And Practice
HIM Venus DoomHIM Dark Light
HIM Love MetalHIM Deep Shadows and Brilliant Highlights
user ratings (23)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2011



19908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I disagree about this album being the highlight of his hard rock career (We Want Moore! is probably my favourite of his 80's albums) but it's still a great album. Props for reviewing this, Moore needs more love on this site.

Jethro42
June 13th 2011



12351 Comments


Still got the Blues rules faces, thanks again for that one, JT.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2011



19908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're welcome Jethro, glad you liked it so much.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 13th 2011



5899 Comments


i have Sticky Fingers on my mp3 these days.

Gotta check this too sometime.

Digging: The Golden Grass - The Golden Grass

rockandmetaljunkie
June 14th 2011



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Finally someone reviewed this.
GR needs more attention.

TheNotrap
August 9th 2011



7963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Victims of the Future and Wild Frontier are my favourite records of Gary Moore's hard rock era. The celtic elements vs Moore's unique old school rock style are among the coolest things He's ever made. My favourite songs here are Wild Frontier, The Loner and specially the memorable Over the Hills and Far Away.

RIP Mr. Gary Moore


Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

TheNotrap
December 1st 2011



7963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

They came for him one winter's night
Arrested, he was bound
They said there'd been a robbery,
his pistol had been found


*Amazing folk oriented lead begins*

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2011



19908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awesome song.

TheNotrap
December 1st 2011



7963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

First time I've heard it was in a metal hammer compilation vinyl I bought around 88/89 I guess.

Amazing song indeed.
Probably my fav Gary Moore track (emotional value)

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2011



19908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I honestly don't think I could choose a favourite Gary More song, there's so many amazing songs in his huge discography. Over the Hills is certainly up there with his best though.

METALFACE666
May 5th 2012



172 Comments


respect

DoctorMike
March 30th 2013



51 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

OVER THE HILLLLSS AND FAAARR AWAAAYYYY

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
March 30th 2013



19908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great album.

rockandmetaljunkie
September 20th 2013



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Probably Moore's weakest album from his Hard Rock era. "Over The Hills", the T/T, "Strangers In The
Darkness" and "Johnny Boy", are all great tracks but the rest of the material is very mediocre. I also
loved the instrumental at first listens, but that interest quickly faded away.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2013



19908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Loner is one of his best songs from this era dude. So much emotion in that one.

rockandmetaljunkie
September 20th 2013



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It is ok

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2013



19908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That song grows on me with each listen.

Used to have this at a 3.5, not sure why I bumped it, it's definitely weaker than his other albums released around this time.

rockandmetaljunkie
September 20th 2013



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Which album from his 80's collection, you think rocks harder ? My vote would go for "Dirty fingers". "Victims Of The Future" is a close second. Talking about studio albums right ? I know your favorite is "We Want Moore" but that's a live album.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2013



19908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

For studio albums I'd have to go for Corridors of Power. Victims of The Future is awesome too but it has some filler. I'm not that keen on Dirty Fingers, It's good but I find it a bit cheesy and the song writing isn't that great. I'd actually take this over that one any day.

And yeah We Want Moore! is easily my favourite album of his hard rock era.

rockandmetaljunkie
September 21st 2013



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well, to be honest with you, I haven't check "Corridors of Power". I might like it even more than "Dirty Fingers". The funny thing with "Dirty" is that it doesn't seem cheesy to me, although the average listener would find it as such.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy