The Air I Breathe
Great Faith In Fools


3.5
great

Review

by I Am The Sputnikker USER (12 Reviews)
June 7th, 2011 | 148 replies | 18,625 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Uncle Rise makes metalcore Cioppino.

9 of 16 thought this review was well written

Oh, Uncle Rise. He sure loves Italian cooking; the problem is everything turns out tasting eerily similar. This time he went balls out and tried his hand at Cioppino, an Italian stew composed of many types of seafood in a tomato and wine broth. Of course, as is the first thing with every dish made by Uncle Rise, the hardest thing to get past is the overwhelming essence of garlic. The first sniff is very deceiving, a bright herbaceous note followed by a punch to the face of garlic. Maybe he misunderstands the recipes and adds whole heads instead of cloves.

But if you can get past the repeated punches to the face of garlic in his Cioppino you’ll find that it is very respectably composed. The tomato and wine in the delicately perfumed broth are wonderful backdrops for the meat in the stew, and the meat really takes center stage. Dungeness crab, squid, clams, shrimp, various whitefish, mussels, octopus, and some bits of coral. Coral surely seemed odd given this dish would never call for such a thing, but I suppose it made the dish easy to digest, even if it threw off the rhythm from the rest of the seafood. Uncle Rise even put some bass he caught in this one, cooked to perfection and enjoyable when you found a piece.

Cynics might say that Uncle Rise was trying to cover up flaws in his dish with a wankish variety of seafood that served no rhyme or reason. While some of it is surprising and seems hard to come by, it is without a doubt that every piece serves its purpose. The variety of flavors and textures made every bite a genuine surprise. As soon as I had been contented, there was some new critter swept into my spoon and tapped from the depths of the ocean. But once the tastes and textures of variety of seafood could be sampled on my palette, I’d bite into a chunk of garlic. It really disrupted the flow of my dinner and made me wish it was a little more cooked down and refined.

Thankfully, the last bite was definitely the best. Unlike the previous morsels, this last bite seemed to have everything together, a myriad of seafood flavor ending with a splendid aftertaste that left me satiated. If I could save that bite, I would base the entire second batch off of that sample alone.

Maybe Uncle Rise can figure out that with a decrease in garlic, this dish could have been perfect. The bright notes of oregano, thyme, parsley, and the earthy seafood made this a delight to eat most of the time, but the garlic and coral seemed forced by Uncle Rise. Even with those missteps, a hearty stew always warms the soul and leaves you pleased, but sometimes, you have to let the backbone of the Cioppino speak for itself instead of trying to force it to be something it shouldn’t be.



Recent reviews by this author
Narrows PaintedI, the Breather Truth and Purpose
Legend The Pale HorseStructures Divided By
Stray From the Path Rising SunCentury Red Giant
user ratings (130)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
xandermander
June 7th 2011



626 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is either going to come across as funny and intelligent or like I'm a half-wit. I haven't decided yet.

dixoncocks
June 7th 2011



2371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is terribly uninformative.

Digging: Manchester Orchestra - Cope

dixoncocks
June 7th 2011



2371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

CD is excellent minus a few cheesy choruses/ post production bells and whistles.

xandermander
June 7th 2011



626 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I could have written a review describing the general formats that all rise bands follow, but I figured an extended metaphor would be better than a review identical to every other: the vocals are, the guitars are, too many breakdowns, etc.

xandermander
June 7th 2011



626 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And Dixon, you have to admit the breakdowns are incredibly repetitive. I'd much rather listen to the guitars do pretty much anything else than play open notes. These guys are too good to resort to it as often as they do.

sspedding
June 7th 2011



4715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

funny review. These guys are wasting their talent. pos

dixoncocks
June 7th 2011



2371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They do abuse the triplet style breakdown but its always placed well. Plus there is so much lead wankery in this album, any more and it would have been another within the ruins release. I like the balance.

xandermander
June 7th 2011



626 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Someone already uploaded a video to youtube with 7 minutes of breakdown from this album alone.

Devastator
June 7th 2011



2276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Really creative review. POS, really enjoying this. Sucks though that half the album is just songs rerecorded of their EP

Digging: Animals As Leaders - The Joy of Motion

xandermander
June 7th 2011



626 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Devastator, it just so happens that those are probably my 4 favorite songs. Ending the album with "The Awakening" was brilliant though.

applejack
June 7th 2011



76 Comments


Agreed with Devastator, this is really creative, pos. Never heard the album, but I'm assuming it sounds similar to what I'd expect from this kind of band.

bloc
June 7th 2011



34491 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Last four songs kick ass

Digging: He Is Legend - I Am Hollywood

IAmKickass
June 7th 2011



840 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

'Here's to Letting Go' is my favorite track off here, undeniably.

IAmKickass
June 7th 2011



840 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

'Here's to Letting Go' is my favorite track off here, undeniably.

dixoncocks
June 7th 2011



2371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The awakening is fucking awesome

applejack
June 7th 2011



76 Comments


Just listened to "Here's to Letting Go", I might look in to this that was a solid song.

xandermander
June 7th 2011



626 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Every single song stands out to me for some reason, but I just can't get that same breakdown out of my head. It just seems repeated to a suffocating extent.

applejack
June 7th 2011



76 Comments


I think they'd be really good if they tried to expand their sound a little more.

xandermander
June 7th 2011



626 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Exactly. I get a lot of a young Human Abstract with the guitar work, and they have obvious talent on all fronts, which is why I am a touch frustrated that they focus so much energy on bass-heavy breakdowns.

ThyCrossAwaits
June 7th 2011



3007 Comments


oh look new Zao album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy